Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Calico Jack's Cantina

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.5
615 reviews
|Mexican|New York, NY 10017 United States

800 2nd Ave, New York, NY 10017 United States

(212) 557-4300

http://www.calicojacksnyc.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(7) · Mexican

108 Smith St

(732) 324-8488
5.0
(9) · Restaurants

954 2nd Ave

(212) 750-2020
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

308 State St

(732) 376-0300
5.0
(1) · Mexican

768 Amsterdam Ave

(212) 749-2929
4.8
(204) · Mexican

63 E 4th St

(212) 253-0277
4.7
(3) · Mexican

111 Deer Park Ave

(631) 422-7955
About

Calico Jack's Cantina is a restaurant that specializes in Mexican cuisine. It offers a range of lunch and dinner selections. Calico Jack's Cantina s menu includes rice, black beans, warm tortillas, sour cream, saut ed garlic spinach, chips and salsa, guacamole and Cajun fries. It also serves jalapeno poppers, nachos suprema, spicy chicken wings, popcorn shrimp, ensalada de casa, taco salad, quesadillas and burritos. Calico Jack's Cantina maintains a private party space for birthdays, reunions, anniversary bashes and business meetings. The restaurant s bar features more than five flat-screen televisions for guests to view various sports events. Calico Jack's Cantina offers catering services a

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.5
615 reviews
5170
  
4155
  
3134
  
262
  
166
  
28 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
rbsurfguy review for Calico Jack's Cantina
rbsurfguy on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

08/12/2014, 01:21 AM
Good drink specials and food I think we went on Wednesday for happy hour after just arriving to town. They had 1/2 price margaritas, small size, but well made. We ordered food off the happy hour menu and it was really good, very authentic tasting mexican food, simply prepared and seasoned, just like I grew up eating. Bar staff were attentive and friendly even when it was crowded. Good atmosphere.
LauraTravels12 review for Calico Jack's Cantina
LauraTravels12 on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

07/30/2014, 04:00 AM
Fun atmosphere not great seafood. My bad. I walked in and saw calamari on the menu. Should have opted for guacamole. It was like chewing a rubber band. Couldn't even eat it. I recommend sticking with the basics. The bartender was great and the atmosphere is fun and casual.
Theengelbert review for Calico Jack's Cantina
Theengelbert on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

05/21/2014, 01:04 AM
Great value! Loved it! Great mexican food and margaritas. Amazingly (looking at some of the reviews) we had really good service. Loud music playing, its more of a bar with a restaurant joined to it.
Featured content
How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?

How do I keep track of my reviews On Google?
How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google
SandraEmilia review for Calico Jack's Cantina
SandraEmilia on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

05/20/2014, 05:18 AM
Otimo O hamburguer é otimo, e o frozen marguerita de manga é maravilhoso. A faixa etaria é entre 20/30 anos e no fim de semana, apos o jantar eles fazem uma danceteria....
meli428 review for Calico Jack's Cantina
meli428 on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

04/26/2014, 01:04 AM
Excellent help Fatou the service lady for the women's room was an exceptional help. She went above and beyond to help me out and I never had service like that before. She is great help and a kind warm person.
PatchMeister review for Calico Jack's Cantina
PatchMeister on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

03/18/2014, 03:42 AM
Ugh, My Stomach ... Americans traveling to Third World Countries encounter parasites, dysentery, hostile foreigners, and unpalatable cuisine. Calico Jack's saves its customers thousands on their next vacations by bringing all that great Third World action right here to New York. This was by far the WORST so-called "Mexican" meal I have ever had, ANYWHERE -- which is surprising, since Calico Jack's is largely staffed by nasty Central American individuals of questionable immigration status and probable cartel affiliation. The nachos appeared to have been remnants scraped from the dirty plates of customers who had dined before us (and who had declined to finish their similarly poor meals), and tasted as if they had been fished from the trash. There was barely a whole "chip" on the plate, as most seemed to be leftover crumbs and pieces. The chicken was cubed, flavorless and rubbery -- one could almost believe that a near sighted cook may have cut up a rubber chicken that a mischievous staff member purchased from Spencer Gifts as a practical joke. The tacos were abysmal. The "ground beef" was closer to "ground dirt" than any other recognizable substance, and tasted somewhat akin to the black mold now infesting New Orleans-area buildings in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. Within an hour of leaving this incredibly bad excuse for a restaurant, my stomach was doing the somersaults that usually follow a fresh plateful of Cholera ingested in any one of a number of Third World cesspools. The management and bar staff were obnoxious, as was the hostess who seated us. Our waitress was the one saving grace to this horrid experience, as she was obviously much too pleasant and well trained for this festering boil on the backside of Turtle Bay. Save your money (as it is also overpriced) and try somewhere else. As bad as any other Mexican restaurant might be, it won't be as bad as Calico Jack's.
Respond to negative reviews
PatchMeister review for Calico Jack's Cantina
PatchMeister on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

03/18/2014, 02:33 AM
Be Forewarned Americans traveling to Third World Countries encounter parasites, dysentery, hostile foreigners, and unpalatable cuisine. Calico Jack's saves its customers thousands on their next vacations by bringing all that great Third World action right here to New York. This was by far the WORST so-called "Mexican" meal I have ever had, ANYWHERE -- which is surprising, since Calico Jack's is largely staffed by nasty Central American individuals of questionable immigration status and probable cartel affiliation. The nachos appeared to have been remnants scraped from the dirty plates of customers who had dined before us (and who had declined to finish their similarly poor meals), and tasted as if they had been fished from the trash. There was barely a whole "chip" on the plate, as most seemed to be leftover crumbs and pieces. The chicken was cubed, flavorless and rubbery -- one could almost believe that a near sighted cook may have cut up a rubber chicken that a mischievous staff member purchased from Spencer Gifts as a practical joke. The tacos were abysmal. The "ground beef" was closer to "ground dirt" than any other recognizable substance, and tasted somewhat akin to the black mold now infesting New Orleans-area buildings in the wake of Hurricane Katrina. Within an hour of leaving this incredibly bad excuse for a restaurant, my stomach was doing the somersaults that usually follow a fresh plateful of Cholera ingested in any one of a number of Third World cesspools. The management and bar staff were obnoxious, as was the hostess who seated us. Our waitress was the one saving grace to this horrid experience, as she was obviously much too pleasant and well trained for this festering boil on the backside of Turtle Bay. Save your money (as it is also overpriced) and try somewhere else. As bad as any other Mexican restaurant might be, it won't be as bad as Calico Jack's.
Respond to negative reviews
Higman8 review for Calico Jack's Cantina
Higman8 on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

03/15/2014, 04:22 AM
Reliable Amer-Mex I've eaten a few meals at Calico Jack's and am bound to eat there again as a frequent visitor to the area whose colleague is a regular there. I've never been let down, even if I haven't been wowed. I will say that the staff are always great about accommodating my requests for extra jalapenos. :) I called it Amer-Mex in my title even though that's not an actual food category as far as I know. It just doesn't feel like even Tex-Mex. That may be a good thing since it helps them cater to simpler tastes while at the same time offering a hint of Mexican flair. The quality is consistently good and the portions are ample. You are definitely safe eating here, but just don't venture in looking for adventure.
150nightsperyr review for Calico Jack's Cantina
150nightsperyr on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

02/14/2014, 01:52 AM
Good Value Mexican Food We stopped in for a quick bite and a beer - the bar had 1/2 price appetizers and discount beers - three Coronas and a small plate of nachos later, the bill came to something like $14. In Manhattan. The nachos were a little "wet" - definitely better to eat with a fork than picking them up - but they were great - seemed like there were a couple kinds of beans, a few veggies, and cheese - really great tasting. Will definitely be back to try the entrees.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.