Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Calico Jack's Cantina

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.5
615 reviews
|Mexican|New York, NY 10017 United States

800 2nd Ave, New York, NY 10017 United States

(212) 557-4300

http://www.calicojacksnyc.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(7) · Mexican

108 Smith St

(732) 324-8488
5.0
(9) · Restaurants

954 2nd Ave

(212) 750-2020
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

308 State St

(732) 376-0300
5.0
(1) · Mexican

768 Amsterdam Ave

(212) 749-2929
4.8
(204) · Mexican

63 E 4th St

(212) 253-0277
4.7
(3) · Mexican

111 Deer Park Ave

(631) 422-7955
About

Calico Jack's Cantina is a restaurant that specializes in Mexican cuisine. It offers a range of lunch and dinner selections. Calico Jack's Cantina s menu includes rice, black beans, warm tortillas, sour cream, saut ed garlic spinach, chips and salsa, guacamole and Cajun fries. It also serves jalapeno poppers, nachos suprema, spicy chicken wings, popcorn shrimp, ensalada de casa, taco salad, quesadillas and burritos. Calico Jack's Cantina maintains a private party space for birthdays, reunions, anniversary bashes and business meetings. The restaurant s bar features more than five flat-screen televisions for guests to view various sports events. Calico Jack's Cantina offers catering services a

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.5
615 reviews
5170
  
4155
  
3134
  
262
  
166
  
28 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Eric R review for Calico Jack's Cantina
Eric R on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

03/13/2018, 02:52 AM
Good Margaritas and Good Food! I was walking by and found this place. I went in because they had a sign out with "$5 Margaritas" written on it. The Margaritas were pre-made but still very tasty. I ordered the Cajun Popcorn Shrimp and was surprised at not on!y how big the Trump were, but also how many were in the bowl...for $11. I couldn't even eat them all and I love shrimp!! I recommend this place!
JMINYC review for Calico Jack's Cantina
JMINYC on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

01/12/2018, 00:33 AM
The worst Mexican food I have every had! I went to lunch with two friends. I ordered enchiladas. I got this flat (not like any enchilada I've ever seen) slop with melted cheese. I imagine they were reheated enchiladas. I was extremely surprised that the dish did NOT include rice and beans. I had to order it on the side for $6.00. I have never, ever been served a plate of enchiladas (that do not even look like restaurant made enchiladas) without any side dish. I didn't want to make a fuss since I was seeing friends after a long time. But, gosh! the food was terrible - watery beans, tasteless rice and SALTY!!!!! I told the waitress that I was really shocked and she told me that people have complained. Why is this restaurant even open???? Frozen supermarket enchiladas are better.
Respond to negative reviews
Photomadman review for Calico Jack's Cantina
Photomadman on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

07/27/2017, 02:25 AM
Quaint place Was staying close by and walked by this place and went inside on a Tuesday night. The bar is really big and sat down. They had trivia night going and nice background music. Drinks were $5 and tacos were $2. Tried to talk with bartender but he was not interested and not to friendly. The bar wasn't very busy only about 8 people, but the food section was busy. Ordered 3 soft beef tacos, not much flavor so needed to add some hot sauce. Drink was ok but seemed a little watered down. Ok if you are on a budget but probably would not tell people to visit.
Featured content
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices
hotsally review for Calico Jack's Cantina
hotsally on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

03/21/2017, 04:22 AM
Best Mexican food ever Not sure what is going on with the reviews here, but my experience was positive. We had the most authentic Mexican food ever. We had buffet as we were with a group so there was about 20 choices. Everything was fresh, home made, and authentic. I would go back in a heartbeat.
bklynguy review for Calico Jack's Cantina
bklynguy on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

03/02/2017, 02:07 AM
Save your money Big disappointment. Chicken burritos had more gristle than chicken, sangria was a joke - no booze, no fruit. Coffee came out luke warm and only 2 desserts. Server was pleasant and attentive.
Respond to negative reviews
AngiefromtheUSA review for Calico Jack's Cantina
AngiefromtheUSA on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

02/13/2017, 02:07 AM
Atmospheric, affordable and family friendly Though we walked in at 9pm on weeknight, they happily served us along with our 4 year old. They made her feel very welcome, which went a long way with her parents. The food was good, the prices were reasonable and they had a few drinks that were unique. We liked the food so much that we got takeout the following evening. If you like Mexican food, you won't be disappointed here.
Bernard M review for Calico Jack's Cantina
Bernard M on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

11/28/2016, 04:37 AM
Calico Jack’s Cantina… le Mexique à New-York City ! Déjeuner de travail avec mon collègue… nous rôdons aux alentours de la United Nations Plazza à la recherche d’un endroit pour nous détendre et casser la graine… les établissements ne manquent pas vraiment sur la 3ème Avenue… lequel choisir ? Le Mexique nous tend les bras, on se laisse tenter. L’endroit est simple mais super sympa, les prix sont tout à fait corrects, rien d’excessif comme trop d’établissements. Nachos pour grignoter, mais pas des Nachos comme chez nous, des Nachos faits maison avec des fèves, du jalapeños, des olives noires, du fromage fondant, de la viande hachée avec poivrons, piments, guacamole, fromage blanc, servis chauds… Aaaah ! Je craque ! Pour le plat, je me laisse guider par mon collègue qui a vécu au Mexique… nous prenons des « Mole Chicken Enchiladas », en fait ce sont des tortillas farcies au poulet, avec des oignons, du fromage chihuahua, une sauce maison « mole » au chocolat (oui, je confirme) et recouvertes de fromage « Pepper Jack »… Wow ! Une belle découverte, ça swingue un peu sous la langue comme dans toute cuisine mexicaine qui se respecte. Vin italien au verre et bière mexicaine pour mon collègue… Le personnel est super sympa ! Le bar en soirée doit être une tuerie, surtout si vous voulez goûter l’impressionnante collection de Tequilas. Une cuisine simple comme on la mange au Mexique, ne vous attendez pas à de la gastronomie… mais bon, un endroit à ne pas rater si vous êtes à la recherche d’exotisme.
ObservantGuest review for Calico Jack's Cantina
ObservantGuest on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

10/23/2016, 02:10 AM
Good place to meet people Mexican food was fresh and prepared well. The bar area filled up with 20-something professionals around 6:00 pm. If you're in that group, this would be a good place to meet people. Drink prices are standard for the City, which means high. A bit understaffed for the size of the crowd, so wait service in the dining area was not very attentive.
Toya W review for Calico Jack's Cantina
Toya W on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

09/16/2016, 03:32 AM
Happy Hour Nice pit stop for drinks/food with friends.Overall great vibe friendly people.You could watch the games while enjoying a cocktail and wings
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.