Logo White
Watch Demo

Austin Motel

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
17 reviews
|Hotels|Austin, TX 78704

1220 Congress Ave S, Austin, TX 78704

(512) 441-1157

http://austinmotel.com

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(12) · Hotels

1601 N Interstate 35

(512) 396-3700
5.0
(1) · Hospitality

1101 Music Ln Apt 303

(512) 804-2443
5.0
(70) · Hospitality

221 Park Ln

(512) 447-7460
4.8
(3052) · Hotels

501 Hwy 2147 West

(830) 798-2020
4.8
(304) · Hotels

915 E Cameron Ave

(512) 446-2361

6 people are looking at this business

4.6
(2490) · Hospitality

575 Hyatt Lost Pines Rd

(512) 308-1234
About

Built in 1938, this retro motel is a welcome departure from impersonal corporate housing, drawing recommendations from publications such as The New York Times, Spin and Rolling Stone. It is located close to downtown, The Capitol, Congress Avenue Bats and eclectic shopping. Austin's Therapy Clothing is just a short walk, as well as many vintage and resale shops.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
NR
17 reviews
50
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
17 reviews have no rating
    Sort By:
    5 results available.
    Recommended
    YellowJacket on Citysearch

    10 years ago

    09/22/2010, 02:35 AM
    Overhyped dump – Rooms in poor condition, beds uncomfortable, disinterested staff. Decor is junk shop not funky - looks like it was decorated by college students on tight budget. Good location for SoCo access.
    robertnewell on Citysearch

    12 years ago

    12/05/2008, 10:38 AM
    the hotel is ok but over-hyped its really not that funky or unique and the staff is soso great location though but i think they are living off of their prior reputation or something it should either be less expensive or they should take care of it a bit better i.e. paint job inside the rooms, get rid of the cheap mexican tourist blankets, get nicer bedding/sheets, better retro lighting, get internet capabilities, maybe some retro art or something it was just very over-hyped i thouhgt
    ilovechicago on Citysearch

    14 years ago

    01/06/2007, 09:48 AM
    kitschy, retro, cool! – My friend, her sister, and I recently returned to Chicago after a short stay at the Austin Motel. We stayed in the waterfall room, which was comfortable and cozy. The room was clean and had just the bare necessities (which was great because we mainly needed the room for sleeping). The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgable about Austin; they were able to recommend places to see and restaurants at which to eat. We happened to be there for the First Thursday so the area was a bit more happening than usual. It's just too bad we didn't have more time in Austin!
    Featured content
    Tempted to buy Google reviews?

    Tempted to buy Google reviews?

    Tempted to buy Google reviews?
    How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

    How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

    How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website
    Contributor on Citysearch

    14 years ago

    10/18/2006, 03:18 AM
    Rest your head in the hippest, funkiest hotel in downtown's South Congress district. – The Scene This hotel gets a lot of its charm from its location in the heart of South Congress. Celebrities, business travelers and regular Joes call it their Austin home away from home. Folk-art aficionados consider it a museum--where you can stay the night. Built in 1938, this funky motel has been an active participant in the city's history, emerging as an Austin landmark and a hip, affordable place to stay the night. The Details The building houses 41 rooms, each decorated according to a different theme. From French Provincial to Chinese lanterns and bamboo to hot Mexican decor with Saltillo tile, each comfortable room takes you to a surreal new world. The lima bean-shaped pool is a cool '50s throwback. The place is decidedly low-tech though, so items like alarm clocks and Internet access won't be found.
    estherfay1 on Citysearch

    14 years ago

    08/03/2006, 10:34 AM
    Loved It! – Stayed there for the first time on one of my many visits. It was great! Rooms not plush but comfortable. Short walk to what makes Austin...Austin! Great for shopping, eating and just people watching. Had a blast. Don't go there if you expect to be catered too. Go there if you want to have a fun and eclectic stay in Austin.
    josh on Citysearch

    16 years ago

    03/10/2005, 07:42 AM
    Funky and Fun – With a great location close to everything, the Austin Motel is far from a boring Holiday Inn. It's great for first-timers to Austin, because it is infused with lots of local charm. Great bars and live music venues are a short walk away.
    crystalcrys25 on Citysearch

    16 years ago

    08/20/2004, 06:55 AM
    i love this place! but stay home if... – if you dont know enjoy the artisan scene, or purposefully avoid the "hippies" when in austin, stay home or book the super 8, because the Austin motel is not for you. I would live there if i could afford it. The most inexpensive room there is 60 bucks a nite, and since i am a broke college kid just in town for one nite, it worked... but even if i wasnt, i would still come here for the kitchy-ness and atmosphere. you really must appreciate the personality of the city of austin to appreciate the personality of the austin motel.
    juliecaldwell on Citysearch

    17 years ago

    01/04/2004, 06:51 AM
    oh my aching back! – Great location, great pool, easy to find, helpful staff, but the rooms were not comfortable AT ALL. I think the mattresses are original to the buildings and getting a comfortable temperature in the room was almost impossible. If you can sleep on a cardboard box and feel refreshed in the morning, then you won't have any problems. But if you are over 30 and accustomed to decent back support, you may wanna try a chain.
    jennstock on Citysearch

    17 years ago

    05/22/2003, 11:45 AM
    What a Fantastic Pool and surrounding landscape. Hotel is in an easy area to find.
    Footer Banner
    Get more reviews. Get more customers.

    Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.