Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Severn

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
24 reviews
|Apartments|Baltimore, MD 21201

701 Cathedral St, Baltimore, MD 21201

(410) 752-1488

https://www.thesevern.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Real Estate in your area
5.0
(2) · Apartments

1800 Ritchie Hwy

(443) 994-7701

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(15) · Apartments

401 S Glebe Rd

(703) 979-2830

7 people are looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Apartments

1440 Chapin St NW

(202) 636-4108
5.0
(1) · Apartments

3221 Connecticut Ave NW

(202) 363-9025

4 people are looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Apartments

2502 51st Ave

(301) 773-1788
5.0
(1) · Real Estate Agents

3700 Jefferson Davis Hwy

(866) 915-3836
About

The Severn, a historic high-rise apartment building that offers spacious apartment homes, is located just minutes away from everything. Dating back to 1894, The Severn is first high-rise apartment building in Baltimore and is still the tallest building overlooking Mt. Vernon Square. The Severn offers spacious 1, 2, 3 and 4 bedroom apartments with hardwood floors, large windows and tile baths. During the season you can unwind and relax at the rooftop pool above The Severn's sister community, 611 Park Avenue, merely two blocks away. The Severn has all you could ever want and more!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
24 reviews
517
  
41
  
31
  
21
  
11
  
3 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Rebekah D. on Apartments

2 months ago

06/02/2021, 01:47 AM
Overall, 10/10! Lovely community and amazing location! You cannot beat the views and access to the neighborhood with this location. I can see the monument, the Belvedere, and a beautiful view towards the north side of town. I appreciate the quickness and kindness of the maintenance staff, I am lucky enough to even have one on my floor! The property is always clean inside and out. Neighbors are friendly and understanding, even when it comes to my rambunctious young puppy greeting them in the elevator! I would definitely recommend this mid-rise location to any local looking in the area.
Business Response:

Thank you for the wonderful review of The Severn! We are so glad to know how much you're enjoying your experience here and that you've been so happy with the service you receive from our team. If there is anything more we can do for you, please let us know!

Rodney T. on Apartments

6 months ago

01/26/2021, 13:50 PM
I love my new home!!!!! I love my new home!!! The office staff made the move in process so easy for me. They were so professional and responsive throughout. The Severn apartment is located in a great area for public transportation and amazing restaurants. I feel so at home and couldn't have found anywhere else better than this.
Business Response:

Thank you for the great review of our community and for your kind words for our team. We're glad to know how much you are loving your new home at The Severn and look forward to your continued residency!

Jordan K. on Apartments

9 months ago

10/30/2020, 19:01 PM
Management issues Right off the bat, we had a lot of issues with the apartment. The doors to the bedrooms did not close all the way and several of our heaters didn't work (we moved in in January 2019 so it was cold). One of those heaters was never fixed even after having maintenance come to look at it more than once. We also noticed that whenever we used the oven that there was a strong smell of gas. We submitted a maintenance request and the person who looked at it told us "it's supposed to smell" and then left. After about a year of not using our oven, we had someone return to look at it again and they confirmed that we had a gas leak the entire time. The oven was also connected to the wall with an extension cord that was too short and was an electrical fire hazard. Mice were also an issue in the apartment regardless of how clean we were. Overall maintenance was super fast to respond and efficient (besides the gas leak). Mail delivery often is difficultbecause delivery services have a hard time getting into the building and I often had packages with important items arrive days to weeks late because of this. Additionally, I had packages stolen and ripped open and when I reached out to management for assistance and to check the security cameras they basically said there was nothing they could do.There were exposed pipes all over the apartment that got really hot and I burned myself a couple of times accidentally brushing against them. I found communication with the staff to be really difficult. When we had questions about our lease termination I was initially told by someone that we were good to go and had paid all of what we owed then the month after moving out we received an angry email from the regional manager stating that we still owed money. They were very accusatory and seemed to think that we were trying to get out of our agreement with the company but I had indeed been checking and double-checking to make sure that we had given them everything that we needed (and even had it in writing). In the end, it was an OK apartment for the price and the time being. The area is nice and close to lots of cute coffee shops and parks. But I would not live there again and do not recommend it.
Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to rate our community. We are sorry your experience did not meet your expectations and welcome the opportunity to discuss any concerns you have. Please contact our office at severnoffice@wpmllc.com or (443) 470-8560.

Featured content
Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea
Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips
Jamy M. on Apartments

9 months ago

10/22/2020, 13:37 PM
The best home ever I'm very happy with the community! I love the layout of my apartment, it's nice and bright! The Property Manager Sattie is awesome, she is attentive and polite. Brittany is also very professional and always willing to help. I am overall very happy with the management staff! The Severn is a great community!!
Business Response:

Thank you for taking the time to rate our community and for your kind words for our team. We are glad to know how much you love living at The Severn and look forward to your continued residency!

Elizabeth C. on Apartments

a year ago

08/24/2020, 06:13 AM
Amazing The Severn is AMAZING! As soon as I moved in management was willing to help with whatever I needed. They always responded to my emails quickly and if anything needed fixing it was fixed right away. The apartments are very beautiful. My roommates and I love our place! This is a great place for anyone to live. We love the management and everything The Severn has to offer!
Mariella H. on Apartments

2 years ago

11/16/2019, 10:54 AM
Love this apartment I currently reside in a three bedroom apartment in the Severn and love how spacious the apartment is. There are high ceilings, hardwood flooring, old fireplaces, and huge windows that bring in a ton of light. New management is very accommodating, with maintenance coming in right away when there is an issue. All of the appliances are new. The area is filled with restaurants within walking distance, and is a cute, historical neighborhood.
Amanda D. on Apartments

2 years ago

10/12/2019, 03:01 AM
Quiet building, nice hardwood floors. I have lived in the Severn for two years, and have really enjoyed it. It's an old building, so the walls are thick so I cannot hear my neighbors talking, playing music, or even having a party (Could hear from hallway, but not my apartment!). The floors are beautiful as well, and nice tall ceilings. One downside is there's no AC, but the apartment generally stays pretty cool in the summer.
Riaz Q. on Apartments

2 years ago

02/11/2019, 17:29 PM
Old building, but great location and management. I have lived at The Severn for 18 months and it has been a great experience so far. The building itself is old, which has a both positives and negatives, but the management does an excellent job of answering requests for service and general issues. The Building itself was built in the 1890s, and so with that old-school charm (e.g., high ceilings and hardwood flooring) comes some problems common to all older buildings. As with any building of this age, there is no central air, so cooling in the summer (which is a necessity) must come from window/portable AC units. But, on the other hand, the heating system (individually controlled wall-panel style heaters) does a great job in the winter. Some of the other common issues that arise due to age also allow the strengths of the management company to really shine. There is the occasional pest, but if the apartment is kept clean then they are almost non-existent. I have seen a mouse on occasion and have found three dead roaches over the 18 month period. Those pests are unavoidable in a building of this age, but management responds to any requests quickly and they actively monitor and proactively deal with such issues by periodically sending extermination services throughout the building to set traps etc. so that any pests that might be present are dealt with. The location is excellent (5 minute walk to many restaurants, 20 minute walk to the inner harbour, 5 minute walk to a shuttle stop for Johns Hopkins). The neighbourhood is one of the safest in Baltimore and it is also close to a lot of cultural options (e.g., within 10 minute walk of the Meyerhoff Symphony hall, Peabody library, Enoch-Pratt library, and Walters Art museum). Lastly, the management company is responsive to maintenance requests and has really tried to foster a sense of community. They manage several other buildings in the neighbourhood and have holiday parties and events among all the buildings where they have food, drinks, and games! These are a great way to see other tenants and get to know other folk who are living in the apartments around you. I definitely recommend The Severn, or any other building managed by WPM.
Riaz G. Qureshi on Facebook

2 years ago

02/09/2019, 02:14 AM
I have lived at The Severn for 18 months and it has been a great experience so far. The building itself is old, which has a both positives and negatives, but the management does an excellent job of answering requests for service and general issues. The Building itself was built in the 1890s, and so with that old-school charm (e.g., high ceilings and hardwood flooring) comes some problems common to all older buildings. As with any building of this age, there is no central air, so cooling in the summer (which is a necessity) must come from window/portable AC units. But, on the other hand, the heating system (individually controlled wall-panel style heaters) does a great job in the winter. Some of the other common issues that arise due to age also allow the strengths of the management company to really shine. There is the occasional pest, but if the apartment is kept clean then they are almost non-existent. I have seen a mouse on occasion and have found three dead roaches over the 18 month period. Those pests are unavoidable in a building of this age, but management responds to any requests quickly and they actively monitor and proactively deal with such issues by periodically sending extermination services throughout the building to set traps etc. so that any pests that might be present are dealt with. The location is excellent (5 minute walk to many restaurants, 20 minute walk to the inner harbour, 5 minute walk to a shuttle stop for Johns Hopkins). The neighbourhood is one of the safest in Baltimore and it is also close to a lot of cultural options (e.g., within 10 minute walk of the Meyerhoff Symphony hall, Peabody library, Enoch-Pratt library, and Walters Art museum). Lastly, the management company is responsive to maintenance requests and has really tried to foster a sense of community. They manage several other buildings in the neighbourhood and have holiday parties and events among all the buildings where they have food, drinks, and games! These are a great way to see other tenants and get to know other folk who are living in the apartments around you. I definitely recommend The Severn, or any other building managed by WPM.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.