Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Great Outdoors

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
899 reviews
|Nurseries & Gardening|Austin, TX 78704

2730 S Congress Ave, across from St. Edward's University. Just look for Spinning Water Wheel, (South of Oltorf, North of Ben White)), Austin, TX 78704

(512) 448-2992

Closed now



Suggest edits
Top Home Services in your area
(26) · Tree Services

PO Box 340193

(512) 484-0252

2 people are looking at this business

(106) · Home Services

4201 S Congress Ave #310

(512) 444-2100

2 people are looking at this business

(75) · Nurseries & Gardening

240 Earhardt Rd

(512) 627-2201

3 people are looking at this business

(9) · Home Services

440 Old State Highway 29 E

(512) 930-0923
(84) · Nurseries & Gardening

6405 Manchaca Rd

(512) 762-5228
(16) · Nurseries & Gardening

801 Tillery St

(210) 716-0702

2 people are looking at this business


The greenest little spot in Austin, the Great Outdoors Garden Center is a favorite destination for all plant lovers. Tucked under one of the largest live oaks in Central Texas, the nursery is home to an eclectic collection of colorful plants and people, pottery and garden art, tools, seeds, books, and gifts. The cast of characters includes plant-passionate experts on hardy perennials, succulents, trees, tropicals, annuals, veggies, soils, and supplements for the Austin garden. Our goal is to provide the right plants and knowledge for your unique garden environment, and to take the time to make sure your visit is fruitful, educational, and fun. Grab a drink upstairs at the coffee shop, visit

Suggest edits
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

899 reviews
41 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Barbara Walters on Facebook

8 months ago

01/19/2021, 06:59 AM
If you’re poor and ride the bus you’re not welcome at “The great Outdoors “ . Per COVID rules . You are required a car for ENTRY. Just thought everyone should know 🤷🏻‍♀️
Business Response:

Barbara, we're doing our best to keep our grounds safe, and our regulations reflect those efforts. Thank you for understanding. -The Great Outdoors Team

Victoria Faith on Facebook

10 months ago

11/15/2020, 00:19 AM
I feel like I just bought my first car lol no more miracle gro. #whenyouknowbetteryoudobetter
Business Response:

Victoria, we're always here to help you earn that green thumb! Thanks so much for your support. -The Great Outdoors Team

Andrea Raimondo Warren on Facebook

10 months ago

11/14/2020, 02:43 AM
Beautiful plants and fabulous staff!
Featured content
Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update

Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update

Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update
Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It
Tawny Moreland on Facebook

a year ago

09/05/2020, 04:30 AM
I LOVE this place for gardening, but it’s hard to get out here. Today I drove all the way out and was told to get out because I didn’t drive in. I parked down the street and walked in the mugginess to go spend my money there, and was kicked out before I even got through the gate. They want you to sit in the turn lane until they let you in. I’m sorry, I’m not sitting and running my car to wait on them. Ridiculous, I’ll take my business elsewhere from now on.
Frank Eskew on Facebook

a year ago

08/17/2020, 13:00 PM
the best place ever! I would love to work there.
Business Response:

Frank, we're glad you could join us! It is guests like you who make our store special. We look forward to helpin' ya out for years to come. You can always find an employment application on our website if you would like to check it out. However, I am unsure if we are currently hiring. It wouldn't hurt to have an application on file though! Hoping you're able to come back and shop with us soon. -The Great Outdoors team

Jessica Priddy on Facebook

a year ago

08/14/2020, 01:17 AM
Me and my friend had been looking forward to checking out the Great Outdoors for quite a while, and while we were very impressed with the selection of plants and the layout, we were both a little bit disappointed to find a pretty severe spider mite infestation on several plants. I informed one of the workers, expecting her to immediately take the plants and quarantine / treat them but she shrugged it off and made an excuse about it just being the season for them and walked away. Leaving them on the shelf for somebody else to pick up and take home and possibly infest their entire collection unknowingly. There are other big nurseries in the area that sometimes have pest issues, but to their credit when you inform them about any visible pest issue they will always immediately remove those plants from the store until they have been treated. For The Great Outdoors to just leave the plants out to be sold while suffering from a severe pest infestation is negligent. To be shrugged off and dismissed by a nursery worker when I raised my concern is also very unprofessional. Just be aware. I did end up purchasing a plant from them (and included a photo of it to prove I did indeed shop here) but it is in quarantine and will be for a good long while until I am satisfied that it is safe, but I do not know that I will ever feel comfortable going back in the future after knowing they will knowingly leave infested plants to be purchased.
Bruce S on BBB

a year ago

08/07/2020, 04:19 AM
We summited a claim with the bbb and the great outdoors responds was we tried to scam them lol. What a joke . I only went their because my brother just got a camper a few days before that and he recommended so why would we try and scam. No the problem was they messed up and told us 1 price and tried to get more . But I would never go back or recommend them to anyone
Respond to negative reviews
Ryanne Vaughan on Facebook

a year ago

07/30/2020, 01:38 AM
I was in the area so I stopped in to look for pollinator friendly plants. I was shocked that none of the staff had any idea what was used on the plants or if they were treated. When looking at host plants for is important to know if they are treated...the staff here lacks this knowledge. They also lack knowledge on native versus invasive. I will continue shopping at nurseries with a conscience...natural gardener and Barton springs.
Michele Blackledge on Facebook

a year ago

07/20/2020, 01:25 AM
So many beautiful plants. Amazing place. Be prepared to spend hours there because it is that awesome. Due to Covid-19, make sure you have credit/debit but you should definitely check this place out. The staff was all super friendly as well.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.