Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Smith & Wollensky

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.9
235 reviews
|Steakhouses|Washington, DC 20036

1112 19th St NW, Washington, DC 20036

(202) 466-1100

https://www.smithandwollensky.com/our-restaurants/washington-d-c/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.8
(96) · Steakhouses

8450 Tyco Rd

(877) 497-0007

4 people are looking at this business

4.8
(1094) · Steakhouses

401 Fourth St

(410) 263-1617

6 people are looking at this business

4.7
(121) · Restaurants

107 D St NE

(202) 546-4488

5 people are looking at this business

4.7
(254) · Restaurants

11099 Resort Rd

(410) 203-0620

6 people are looking at this business

4.7
(48) · Restaurants

130 Purcellville Gateway Dr

(540) 751-9919
4.5
(1717) · Steakhouses

6930 Old Dominion Dr

(703) 893-1034

4 people are looking at this business

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.9
235 reviews
593
  
476
  
328
  
221
  
116
  
1 review has no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Andrew101462 review for Smith & Wollensky
Andrew101462 on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

03/18/2016, 04:51 AM
Good steak, but WAY over priced I had heard about Smith & Wollensky on the Travel channel and being a steak LOVER I felt I had to go. We went as a date night on a Friday night. The service was impeccable, the food was good but not GREAT. I thought for a $300 meal ( For me and my wife ) it should have been GREAT. The ' Aged ' Steaks didn't taste much better then Lonhorne . I would not go again .
Larry C review for Smith & Wollensky
Larry C on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

03/17/2016, 10:35 AM
Best steak in DC I had dinner with two colleagues. We all ordered steaks,my colleagues had the house salad and I had the steak chili. My fillet oscar was delicious, tender and juicy. The wait staff was exceptionally helpful and courteous. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a good steak and willing to pay a little more for it.
Paula E review for Smith & Wollensky
Paula E on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

03/05/2016, 10:29 AM
We have been poorly served The man who served in our table did not understand or he did not want to understand what we have decided to order. He did not understand that we were going to share and he asked contemptuously if one of us needed a plate! Then he left the bill in the table and did not say anything and when we asked for the bill, with bad face he told that it was there!!!!! After all, he demanded us the 15 percent of tip!!! He came to us demanding it. Terrible experience. I do not recommend it to anybody.
Business Response:

I am so sorry about your experience. This is not what my establishment promotes. I will most definitely investigate this matter. Thank yo for your feedback and by all means we hope to see you back, absolutely on better terms. Respectfully, Ned Mirkovic. General Manager Smith & Wollensy, Washington, DC

Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices
Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management

Why a Digital Marketing Agency Should Offer Online Reputation Management
Ralf T review for Smith & Wollensky
Ralf T on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

03/02/2016, 10:40 AM
Das war es Wert Hatten ein ruhiges Abendessen mit Freunden dort. Service war gut. Steaks und Salad die besten seit laengerer Zeit, wirklich empfehlenswert
Neil S review for Smith & Wollensky
Neil S on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

02/28/2016, 16:27 PM
Perfect We had dinner for 4 there as a preview to a wedding rehearsal dinner later this year. Every bite of everything we ate was absolutely delicious, including the soup, salad, steaks, potatoes, and out-of-this-world chocolate cake.The service was equally outstanding. If you are looking for a top of the line experience, this is it, but ready to pay the premium prices.
Mark S review for Smith & Wollensky
Mark S on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

02/06/2016, 00:45 AM
Perfect every time! I have eaten here multiple times. Food is perfectly prepared every time. Service is very attentive but three people checking in on us is a little much. It is a business dinner so please limit the interruptions.
cffescu review for Smith & Wollensky
cffescu on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

01/03/2016, 01:54 AM
Pricey and snobby The owners of this place should teach their waiters to never ask the customers their "whereabouts" and more specifically their nationality. It's none of their business. Ordinary food at an extravagant price. Not worth it. At all. Ah, a glass of wine could be as high as 30 dollars. C'on!!!! Seriously?
Business Response:

We truly apologize for any inconvenience. Asking Guests about personal things, such as nationality, is by all means unacceptable in my business. If you would please give me a call at 240-423-0874, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks Ned Mirkovic General Manager Smith & Wollensky, Washington, DC

Respond to negative reviews
MDHotelier2 review for Smith & Wollensky
MDHotelier2 on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

12/30/2015, 03:27 AM
Average Steakhouse Although popular in the 90's this venue has shown signs of aging. It used to be "the" steakhouse for expense accounts and power lunches but competition has moved this out of the top 10 in DC. There are plenty of newer and better places to get a delicious steak in town. Although the nostalgia is there and the wait staff has been there forever, it's not enough to keep clients coming back. I would come back for their split pea soup!
Business Response:

Thank you for your feedback and Happy New Year. TRENDY vs TRADITIONAL...we are a Traditional, Premiere, American Steakhouse, specializing in highest quality food (USDA Prime, in hose dry aged beef as our staple), and we pair our food with experienced staff, some of whom have been here for many years. We take pride in both!

maxkol review for Smith & Wollensky
maxkol on Trip Advisor

6 years ago

12/03/2015, 10:06 AM
A steak-lover's dream During annual visits back to our old stomping ground (ah the memories of actually being able to drive down Pennsylvania Av), Smith and Wollensky is a Saturday night tradition. The steaks are aged, seasoned and prepared to perfection. We had cocktails -- they don't scrimp on the alcohold like some upsacle establishments (you could torture me and I wouldn't mention any names!). Then we shared fried calamari, shrimp and veggies and a shrimp cocktail. Then we ordered the small filets with no frills on the top -- medium please. And medium we got. Our side: the mushrooms. Well, to make a long story short, we were filled to the brim and had to walk it off back to the hotel. But we were confirmed in this: we will ALWAYS return, every Saturday after Thanksgiving, for S&W steaks. Oh, and by the way, our waiter was personable and humorous. The genial manager visited the table -- a nice way to welcome out-of-town folks who still remember DC with nostalgia.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.