Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Smart Coat Painting Company

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.0
11 reviews
|Painters|Indianapolis, IN 46227

418 E Venoy Dr, Indianapolis, IN 46227

(317) 418-6937

http://www.smartcoatpainting.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Contractors in your area
5.0
(1) · Painters

4704 N St James Dr

(765) 289-2761
5.0
(3) · Contractors

1007 W 72nd St

(317) 253-6999

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(6) · Contractors

4217 State Road 135 S

(812) 447-2440

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Painters

5267 W Airport Rd # D

(812) 825-3099
5.0
(1) · Painters

1379 Fall Ridge Dr

(317) 698-2641
5.0
(5) · Painters

4150 W Washington St

(317) 247-0430
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.0
11 reviews
58
  
40
  
30
  
21
  
12
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
William L review for Smart Coat Painting Company
William L on BBB

2 months ago

08/16/2021, 06:20 AM
The team finished in two days.! We approved everything. Our neighbors couldn't help but stop and praise them for their work. We are the most "seen" house in our housing area. I am giving interested neighbors Smart Coat Painting Company, LLCs contact info.We love the way they took care of our landscaping, kept everything clean and neat, and detailed all of the trim. They went the extra mile.
Matthew B. review for Smart Coat Painting Company
Matthew B. on BBB

4 months ago

06/23/2021, 07:15 AM
From the initial meeting through the job being completed we were impressed with Smart Coat. Everyone was easy to deal with and communicated with us well through the entire project. Our job was completed in just a few days with little complication and the completed paint job looks amazing! They left us with touch up paint to use in the future and we've already taken advantage of it to so some additional painting in areas we didn't think about at first. The painting team checked with us before wrapping up to ensure that everything was done to our satisfaction. They even helped us open a few stuck windows on the 2nd floor after the painting was done. We did have some bad/older wood at the roofline that we were aware of and they did the best they could to paint over it and fill any gaps after scraping (we were told up-front that some of the surfaces was be a bit rough). The wood replacement would have increased the job cost exponentially and we wouldn't have been able to budget that anyway. The paint is very thick and adhesive and does a great job of filling gaps and sealing the older porous wood. We would call these guys again down the road if/when we need additional painting done!"
Anonymous review for Smart Coat Painting Company
Anonymous on BBB

4 months ago

06/23/2021, 02:04 AM
From the initial meeting through the job being completed we were impressed with Smart Coat. Everyone was easy to deal with and communicated with us well through the entire project. Our job was completed in just a few days with little complication and the completed paint job looks amazing! They left us with touch up paint to use in the future and we've already taken advantage of it to so some additional painting in areas we didn't think about at first. The painting team checked with us before wrapping up to ensure that everything was done to our satisfaction. They even helped us open a few stuck windows on the 2nd floor after the painting was done. We did have some bad/older wood at the roofline that we were aware of and they did the best they could to paint over it and fill any gaps after scraping (we were told up-front that some of the surfaces was be a bit rough). The wood replacement would have increased the job cost exponentially and we wouldn't have been able to budget that anyway. The paint is very thick and adhesive and does a great job of filling gaps and sealing the older porous wood. We would call these guys again down the road if/when we need additional painting done!"
Business Response:

Thanks you so much. it was a pleasure working with you as well. We appreciate your review.

Featured content
How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps
Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating
Linda F review for Smart Coat Painting Company
Linda F on BBB

5 months ago

05/10/2021, 09:04 AM
We went with ********* after meeting the salesman at the ************************** home show. He came to our house, seemed very thorough and according to BBB the company had an A+ rating. We were told the house would be thoroughly washed down, then a crew would come to repair any wood damage and remove and replace all the old caulk. Then the paint crew would come. He said they are all different people. Not. The wash down is just a hose off. If any bugs, dirt, cobwebs,...remain they just paint over them. They do not have anyone to repair bad wood. They just paint over it. Caulk is hard to come by now, so they would not be able to do caulking. Crew speaks Spanish. We speak English. When we realized they were not understanding our questions, we had to call the owner 90 miles from us, he in turn called the crew boss some place else then he called the crew at our house. We went with this high estimate because we are retiring this month and want our house to be in good shape and as maintenance free as possible. Having the wood and caulk done was very important to us. Wanted to talk to the salesman who made the promises, but he was out of town for a funeral. ***** was not feeling well. Salesman uses a different contract than the company and it is very vague. We thought caulk meant "new" caulk and prepare surface meant sand down and replace. It does not. This was a very, very disappointing experience. We would give the company a C minus rating. We do not recommend them at all.
David P review for Smart Coat Painting Company
David P on BBB

a year ago

11/13/2020, 00:24 AM
We were looking at alternatives to stain or paint of our cedar siding on the front of our house, as we have had peeling issues for the past 20 years. We looked at replacement with Hardie plank and painting, but found Smart Coat to offer a lower costs alternative. This is our 4 time we've redone our house. Surface prep work was much more extensive than the previous painters, with the cedar almost stripped back to bare wood completely ( I'd estimate 80% ). Paint is much thicker and more durable as well. Communication with the crew was a little difficult, as only one of them spoke English,( we made it work ) but I was able to make sure minor repairs were completed with some of the cedar starting to soften. 4 of the workers completed the job in 2 days and cleaned up after themselves . I tried to download a couple of pictures of the house but was unsuccessful. I like the look and have now put spotlights on my house the show it off at night. After 1 month, it looks great. I will send annual updates on this site( Halloween was just occurring ), I will be very happy if it makes it to 10 years BUT want 25 for sure
Business Response:

Thank you so much for your business David. It was a pleasure working with you. The house looks great! We appreciate your review as well. God bless!

Mike J review for Smart Coat Painting Company
Mike J on BBB

a year ago

06/08/2020, 05:17 AM
The crews that came out to the house were very nice and very respectful of our property. As was promised at the time we signed paperwork, pieces of siding that needed to be replaced were, though I feel there were probably two or three other pieces that should have been replaced, but were instead sealed up with caulk. No big deal though, as it really looks just fine as is. One thing I was disappointed by is that carpenter bees will still get through the coating. I was told that since this is a ceramic coating, it should prevent carpenter bees from chewing into the wood trim and siding. Unfortunately, that is not the case. They got right through it nonetheless. However, again, the crews were very very nice, even put a little thicker coat in a few places as I requested them to before they left. House looks AMAZING. With a 25 year warranty, I will be interested to see how long it holds up (granted, this was only done 3 months ago). The owner is a VERY nice guy and our experience up to this point has been very good. I am hopeful that the coating holds up to the elements and looks this nice for many many years.
Bill O review for Smart Coat Painting Company
Bill O on BBB

2 years ago

02/22/2020, 06:06 AM
We had our house painted by Smart Coat about 3 years ago and had a wonderful experience! The team showed up on time and were professional, hard working people. They were very pleasant and completed the job in good time. We have had many compliments on our house from our neighbors and friends. When selecting our paint color for our home they helped us tremendously in their suggestions. They also left us the extra paint in case we needed it for whatever reason. We highly recommend this company. We have had some people call and stop by to see their workmanship. We just love it!
Business Response:

We are so happy to have you all as customers! Thanks so much for the good review. We really appreciate you and your wife and love to see you all at the home shows! Thanks so much.

Andy W review for Smart Coat Painting Company
Andy W on BBB

2 years ago

07/26/2019, 11:32 AM
Th is company doesn't stand up behind their word and will leave you high and dry. When we first were sold the services, we were told everything they would do to protect our house and make sure that it was painted properly. I had to complain that our air vents that allow the house to breathe were completely covered in paint, paint was sloshed all throughout the yard and on the sides of the vinyl, wood trim was missing paint and the craftmanship was really poor. We need to have some wood trim replaced, which they did, however they just pieced together odd and end boards to get it done instead of one piece of wood like it should have been. After I complained, I had to coerce them to finally show up just to show him the issues. He took note of it and they fixed the trim, but couldn't have cared less about the paint on the vinyl, which I took care of myself after they were gone. 5 years later, I'm washing the outside of my home and noticed dry rotting occurring on some of the boards. Their website specifically says that their product prevents dry rot, is a moisture barrier and will not allow the wood to crack. All of the above has happened. When I contacted them, at first I am told that they are out of town and won't be able to see my home for a month and to please send pictures. I sent pictures and was immediately brushed off saying that it wasn't their issue. They didn't even come see the property and made the decision without a first hand look. I gave them examples of places all around my home, not just one spot. I even showed them a picture where they didn't move a small 2' x 4' storage shed and just left that part of the trim unpainted. I was then told that I should just use the extra paint they gave me and I could paint it myself. First, they didn't leave me any extra paint. Second, It is a twenty-five year guarantee and now I have to paint the same home myself that I was told I will never have to paint. I have inquired about when I will receive the paint for me to paint my house myself and they have never responded. One of their selling points is that they use a special forced spray nozzle because it is so thick, yet I am supposed to brush it on now? The customer service is promised, but not delivered. This is by far the worst customer experience demonstrated in my life. It is one thing to make a mistake, but a complete different story to just brush it off and ignore it. To date, they have still never stepped foot on my property to take a look at the condition of the home. I have reached out multiple times with delayed responses and a "not our fault" attitude. I am shocked that they attempted to come up with no resolution. I started the conversation with them in Mid June and as of the end of July, it isn't resolved.
Respond to negative reviews
Larry Mancini review for Smart Coat Painting Company
Larry Mancini on Facebook

3 years ago

06/23/2018, 02:00 AM
everything I here is GREAT WORK
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.