Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

SchagrinGas

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
2.8
53 reviews
|Propane|Middletown, DE 19709

1000 N Broad St, Middletown, DE 19709

(302) 658-2000

https://schagringas.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Home Services in your area
4.9
(78) · Home Services

850 Gap Newport Pike

(610) 593-5063

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(108) · Propane

1751 Pulaski Hwy

(410) 939-3300
4.5
(57) · Home Services

57 Lancaster Ave

(610) 251-2203

3 people are looking at this business

4.2
(60) · Home Services

607 Old Philadelphia Rd

(410) 272-4650
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

2.8
53 reviews
522
  
41
  
30
  
22
  
128
  
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Ken J. on BirdEye

6 months ago

02/03/2021, 15:01 PM
Heard from multiple neighbors that Schagrin was the worst. They could not offer competitive prices, and would charge me over $1000 to remove their tank (That was already 24 years old). So that I could install another one. Decided not to go with them when we bought the house, previous owners had to pay over $1000 to have tank removed. Took Schagrin three weeks to get around to it, luckily another provider was kind enough to offer temporary tanks at no charge.
G L. on BirdEye

8 months ago

11/29/2020, 18:19 PM
Sold my home in Sunset Harbour Delaware, new owner had no option but to contract with our propane provider, SchagrinGas of Georgetown Delaware due to SchagrinGas being the only propane provider for this community. My $350 deposit was not returned until I chased after it, then SchagrinGas had the audacity to charge a $25 termination fee when there was no termination, just a transfer from one owner to another, i.e. creation of a new account for the new owner.
Respond to negative reviews
Jim N. on BirdEye

2 years ago

01/20/2020, 09:54 AM
My first experience with Schagrin Gas was when I was teenager - it was a great experience. Because of my experience with them, for the last 40 years plus, I have always sought them out for any HVAC issues. Their technicians and local support team are great. Unfortunately, since they have come under new 'non-local' management, things have changed quite a bit. Our my most recent experience with them was annoying at best. All we want to do now is cancel their service and never use them again. My wife and I are life long loyal customers and recently spent thousands of dollars on a new system. We had a substantial issue with the system within the first 9 months that terrified my wife and I. The system shut our power down and began making a violent screeching sound. Though we had paid for a warranty, 'new management' at Schagrin said that because they could not identify the cause, they would have to charge us an $89.00 service fee. When we questioned the invoice, they refused to make an adjustment and threatened to not deliver our gas if we didn't pay. Their storage tank is buried in our yard and, because it belongs to them, we have to continue to use them. The cost to dig up the tank and install a new company's tank would be cost prohibitive, so we have decided to sell this home and buy a new one that doesn't have a contract with a company that holds its customers hostage.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
How to respond to negative reviews - business owners guide

How to respond to negative reviews - business owners guide

How to respond to negative reviews - business owners guide
Jill on BirdEye

4 years ago

11/20/2017, 08:32 AM
The Worst Company Ever, They treat there Customers like prisoners.They also treat there employees horrible.Steer Clear
Respond to negative reviews
Michael F. on BirdEye

4 years ago

09/05/2017, 15:31 PM
Similar to others ... so I will quote and paraphrase ... but basically stay clear of this company... Schagrin is billing me for the removal of gas tank on a property that I have no longer own. Likewise, I did not request the removal of said tank. It was removed at the request of the new owners. The position of Schargin (on a contract signed 27 years ago!) is that they have a contract that states if the contract was terminated by us or the company then we would be responsible for the removed/return of the equipment owned by Schagrin and located on said property. My position, other than it is ridiculous to think that a prior owner is responsible for the actions of of the new owner, is that we were loyal customers for 27 years but they just do not care at all!!! Desired Settlement: that this review keeps a few customers away so that the net result of their greedy attitude is that they lose business.
Respond to negative reviews
Justin D. on BirdEye

4 years ago

04/17/2017, 16:40 PM
I moved into a home and schagrin was the provider and tank owner. I was essentially harassed to sign their contract or yank went the tanks. This will all while i'm in the middle of moving. Due to thinking they weren't too bad I signed and moved on to moving in. I had read the contract and it didn't say cancelling would cost me anything so I didn't care. After about 2 weeks I was checking the tank and found it was over 20 years old and had no meter gauge to see how much was left. I inquired that to my rep and what my price per gallon was for Propane. I was shocked to hear it was going to be $3.98 per gallon. As soon as I heard that I shopped around. Within a week I had a provider for a cost of $2.09 per gallon. I tried to stick with schagrin and have them lower my price but there was "nothing they could do". I find that to be a laugh. If a new company can setup a new tank for free and sell it at almost half the price how could schagrin do nothing. Just greed. Look everyone this company probably use to be great. But they are money hungry and work to trick people into locking down with them for 5 years. They are trying to charge me a 140 tank pickup fee . Which by the way is never stated or mentioned in the contract. To add to this the tank is ancient and rusting out. The new company said they don't even make or use the style tank I had anymore. I only had them for three weeks while the house has been mine and they just didn't try to keep me. How they think they entitled to charge me to get the tanks they were going to take for free is a laugh.
Respond to negative reviews
Roger M. on BirdEye

4 years ago

03/15/2017, 12:42 PM
MONEY GRUBBERS This is a family owned company which means it's not PUC regulated. They have complete attitudes when you call and couldn't care less about your situation. I had never been late on a bill and recently became unemployed. They called me on a Friday to tell me that unless I payed $241 they were shutting me off on Monday. I heat with their service and have MS. I explained this to the collections manager and she said that isn't her problem. I now have $11 to last me 2 weeks. If you're building a house or need propane service there are other choices. Stay away from these people. They're all about the almighty buck. Updating this review after their comment. I did call and ask for a payment plan. I was told that the payment plan was to "pay the past due amount." I told them that I was recently diagnosed with a disability and was unemployed until I could get medicated, and that this was temporary and I was told that this wasn't their problem - so please don't respond that there is a payment plan available. These people have been sued, complained about, and built a fly-by-night mom and pop business on treating their customers like crap. Update #2 - Jillian, who has been listed as the owner of this company, has now been harassing me on Yelp with private messages all afternoon. So...not only do they rip people off, if you complain they harass and become threatening. I suppose they think that because they've been cheating people for 85 years, they think they can intimidate a customer. Steer clear folks, steer very clear. This company is a HUGE headache. Could it be more obvious? They think they have a right to do what they want and they treat their customers like they don't matter. Update #4 -- Just had Jillian, the "owner" offer once again to let me talk to a manager - which as you can see is public in the comments. How unprofessional does a company have to be to publicly argue with a customer over a review? Also - why would I want to speak with a manager if the owner is simply defending the actions of this poor excuse for a company and acting as though they were justified in acting the way they did. Also - their notice of termination said that my service would be shut off "sometime next week." That's a great way to mess with people. The least they could do is put a deadline on the notice. Update #5 -- Jillian has now had the disrespect to misspell my name twice, and in fact two different misspellings. Her continued comments show her level of professionalism, as well as the way this company runs. Also, although I have shared vague details of my account, what Jillian doesn't understand is that by sharing ANY details of my account - dates, etc. publicly, she has now violated the Federal Privacy Act and Fair Credit Reporting Act. I have the right to share - the creditor does not. Bottom line is they treated a handicapped individual, going through the physical and emotional hell of being newly diagnosed with a debilitating disease, like his problems didn't matter. They in fact told him (me) that my issues were not their problem. They risked me living in my home during this trying time with no heat, and refused to even DISCUSS some sort of extension, which had they discussed it, would have been about 4 days. I hope this organization treats veterans and the elderly better than they treat the handicapped Note : Yelp removed this review because it contained reviews from other sites. I have deleted the information they said violated their terms. The other reviews on Yelp alone speak for themselves, and I'd encourage potential customer to research CAREFULLY before entering into any kind of arrangement with them.
Respond to negative reviews
Carol d. on BirdEye

5 years ago

01/05/2017, 08:02 AM
Never use this company they are not worth the money they also charge 254.00 just to come out and look at your grill. Also. check your bills closely. When you prepare a bill I it should be correct if I send out an incorrect bill guess what I have to abide by what I sent that is your responsibility to make sure it is correct when you send it out not give excuses when you find a 600 mistake.
Respond to negative reviews
Ron on BirdEye

5 years ago

10/04/2016, 13:24 PM
Notice that SchagrinGas gets either 1 or 5 star ratings. Why is that? It's because they log in and pad their numbers with 5's. The truth is, they don't even deserve ONE star!
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.