Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Ryoko Restaurant & Bar

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
1651 reviews
|Japanese|San Francisco, CA 94102 United States

619 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102 United States

(415) 775-1028

https://m.facebook.com/login.php?next=https%3A%2F%2Fm.facebook.com%2Fryoko-restaurant-bar-116216851727062%2F%3Fref%3Dpage_internal&refsrc=deprecated&ref=page_internal&_rdr

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

2026 San Pablo Ave

(510) 981-8225
5.0
(13) · Sushi Bars

1918 Oak Park Blvd

(925) 705-7065
4.8
(804) · Japanese

584 Washington St

(415) 757-0155
4.8
(11) · Restaurants

1690 Locust St

(925) 378-7924
4.7
(411) · Japanese

1747 Buchanan St

(415) 922-1244
4.7
(60) · Japanese

115 De Anza Blvd

(650) 286-0410
About

Take a walk around the heart of downtown San Francisco and you’ll come across Ryoko’s Japanese Restaurant and Bar -- a neighborhood staple that’s been around for 30 years. Walk down the stairs, and you’ve entered our high energy, underground restaurant. You’ll immediately be greeted by our team as we transport you to Tokyo in a restaurant steeped in Japanese decor and culture. Our food is authentic as can be, with things like our own distinctive style of miso soup and rice that's cooked with vinegar we make in-house. Our seafood is delivered fresh every single day for a distinctive, delectable flavor that’ll keep you returning time and time again.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
1,651 reviews
51,051
  
4343
  
3132
  
254
  
148
  
23 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
kristylsummers review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
kristylsummers on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/12/2007, 01:40 AM
The best sushi in the city, Serves VERY late, Knowledgable service – Fresh sushi, made by the best sushi chefs in the bay. This is where the other sushi chefs in the city come to eat after they close. Fun, loud, dark, crowd of all ages. If you don't like loud, funky music, you can pass. The fish is very fresh, and the amount of rice used in their nigiri and rolls is perfect . Many of the other bay area sushi restaurants overpack the pieces with too much rice and not enough fish. No complaints - simply delicious fish.
jimmy2 review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
jimmy2 on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/16/2007, 01:56 AM
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT! – This is a great undiscovered restaurant. It's a little eclectic in it's decor and atmosphere, but the staff are great and very friendly and the food is consistently great. There is a lot of pretense associated with many of the sushi restaurants in SF. This place probably wont cut it with the Marina crowd, but most of the rest of the population will love it!
hone9859 review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
hone9859 on Citysearch

15 years ago

01/13/2007, 06:55 AM
One of the best in the city! – Incredible food, friendly staff, and hip atmosphere make this a must visit sushi bar in the city. Parking is a bit of a hassle and there's no real waiting area (the steps are sometimes full), but the food is worth the wait (they accept reservations too). Very very fresh sushi and free edimame while you relax at your table. Service is excellent and the wide selection of rolls will keep you coming back for more!
Featured content
Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
blink888 review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
blink888 on Citysearch

15 years ago

01/02/2007, 00:53 AM
Great sushi and atmosphere - and at the right price. – This is a great affordable sushi place and so much more. Great for dinner before going out on the town. Loved the fried tuna rolls, caterpiller, albacore sushi. Everything's fresh. Full bar including sake. The waiters are very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great for hanging out with friends before heading to a bar. It's underground and has dark lighting. I will be back.
sarcastic_cougar review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
sarcastic_cougar on Citysearch

16 years ago

12/19/2006, 06:20 AM
A scene right out of Tokyo! – Lots of great things to say about Ryoko's so I'll start with my favorite thing about them which is eating at the sushi bar! Sitting at the bar is part of the whole "Ryoko's experience" besides the fact that it's underground. Eating at the bar is where you will get the best sushi and you will be able to see what's on their "Specials" menu. Ordering items from the "Specials" is highly recommended. You will have a chance to have a really unique sushi tasting experience. Each item is seasonal which is reflective of genuine Japanese cuisine. Of course they serve the year round available tuna and salmon sushi, but the real treat is that every fish and special item on that menu is fresh! And because it's fresh equates too being very flavorful. They don't serve you that "flash frozen" and icy cold - flavorless maguro (tuna). So when the fatty tuna is in season, that means you can expect an incredibly rich, dynamic and unique flavor from that piece of sushi. A delight for the taste buds! This is what great sushi should be. Also the menu has Japanese menu items that you don't usually find at most local japanese restaurants. Items like the "fried cheese", Agedashi Tofu and Nato. The sushi bar chefs are great guys, the food's great, the service is good. Yeah, it can get a little crowded and littly noisy sometimes... yet that hasn't persuaded me from not eating there since I discovered this little spot over 3 years ago.
msjackson22 review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
msjackson22 on Citysearch

16 years ago

09/07/2006, 07:12 AM
fab-u-lous – super fun atmosphere. incredible staff. amazing fish. great chefs. no pretentious attitudes. my favorite sushi place by far.
heistboy review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
heistboy on Citysearch

16 years ago

08/04/2006, 08:36 AM
Great Sushi – The woman who wrote that scathing review is on something. She honestly is on some form of drugas. I have eaten at Ryoko at like 5 times and every time has been fantastic. It doesn't smell like vinegar and the staff and chef are totally nice. The fish is fresh and the sushi is excellent. And I don't think you have to be Japanese to enjoy good fish.
gjagiello review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
gjagiello on Citysearch

16 years ago

06/26/2006, 06:23 AM
Fun spot for late-night sushi roll cravings – This place is pretty interesting. You walk downstairs into a basement, and the space was obviously a standard bar previously -- very long bar counter top, shelves behind, etc. But now it's a very fun sushi joint. The minute the staff see your shoes coming down the stairs, they greet you in Japanese. No windows, quite dark, subdued lighting, and always great chillout/downtempo/electronica music playing...it gets very packed on weekend nights. Their rolls are wacky -- one has peanut butter and jalepenos, for example -- and everything tastes good. There are many sushi joints in the city with better food, without question, but this place is much more fun and entertaining, especially if you are in a festive mood. Opens at 6pm, and stays open till *3am*?? Now that rocks. Service is friendly, and generally fast. I've been several times and have always had a great time!
seanocinneide review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
seanocinneide on Citysearch

16 years ago

06/22/2006, 06:21 AM
You Don't Know Sushi If You Don't Know Ryoko – This place is fantastic! I have yet to meet anyone in the city that knows about it, but it is incredible food, in an unassuming unpretentious environment. The staff are great and friendly for the most part, provided you don't get the chatty skateboarder!! Fast service, great prices and always satisfies. Discover it for yourself!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.