Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Ryoko Restaurant & Bar

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
1628 reviews
|Japanese|San Francisco, CA 94102

619 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102

(415) 775-1028

https://m.facebook.com/login.php?next=https%3A%2F%2Fm.facebook.com%2Fryoko-restaurant-bar-116216851727062%2F%3Fref%3Dpage_internal&refsrc=deprecated&ref=page_internal&_rdr

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

2026 San Pablo Ave

(510) 981-8225
5.0
(13) · Sushi Bars

1918 Oak Park Blvd

(925) 705-7065
4.8
(797) · Japanese

584 Washington St

(415) 757-0155
4.8
(11) · Restaurants

1690 Locust St

(925) 378-7924
4.7
(409) · Japanese

1747 Buchanan St

(415) 922-1244
4.7
(60) · Japanese

115 De Anza Blvd

(650) 286-0410
About

Take a walk around the heart of downtown San Francisco and you’ll come across Ryoko’s Japanese Restaurant and Bar -- a neighborhood staple that’s been around for 30 years. Walk down the stairs, and you’ve entered our high energy, underground restaurant. You’ll immediately be greeted by our team as we transport you to Tokyo in a restaurant steeped in Japanese decor and culture. Our food is authentic as can be, with things like our own distinctive style of miso soup and rice that's cooked with vinegar we make in-house. Our seafood is delivered fresh every single day for a distinctive, delectable flavor that’ll keep you returning time and time again.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
1,628 reviews
51,033
  
4339
  
3132
  
254
  
147
  
23 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Lauren Hannah review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
Lauren Hannah on Citysearch

12 years ago

09/20/2010, 06:15 AM
Peanut butter sushi? – First of all, THERE'S PEANUT BUTTER IN THE VOLCANO ROLL. And I, of course, had to try it. And, of course, it was delicious. Mainly, because anything with peanut butter in it is delicious. But in all seriousness, this roll was awesome. Their Jumping Tuna roll (and I presume the other "Jumping" rolls) are alright.. they are apparently the most popular rolls ordered, but I thought they were pretty heavy and tasted like they were over-battered and fried. Very...doughy. All in all, the sushi was ok, but I didn't really see what all the craze was about. I still maintain that Akiko's on Mason is the best sushi in San Francisco.
dklondon review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
dklondon on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/07/2009, 01:32 AM
The food was great, but the waitress was amazing! We ordered an Omakase set meal, and were not disappointed. Soft shell crab tempura was excellent, and sushi was very good.
McKJob review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
McKJob on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/23/2008, 05:39 AM
Badass – This place is simply badass. It is a hole in the wall that serves the greatest sushi. The staff is friendly. With an eclectic interior it seems as if you are the only one who knows this hidden jewel. And they are also on the NWA dine and fly list. So you get FF miles to boot!
Featured content
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy
Ben review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
Ben on YellowBot

14 years ago

10/24/2008, 06:09 AM
awesome sushi a bit of a walk to get there from market st, but worth the effort. nice atmosphere, really fresh sushi, and open late!
Ben Y. review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
Ben Y. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

10/24/2008, 05:57 AM
Decent sushi and open late Prices were a bit on the high end. A caterpillar roll was $20 bucks! We had some of their specials which were extremely fresh. Make sure you don't get the 2 person table next to the piano since that's the only path to the restrooms and the tables in the back of the place, way too much foot traffic. The atmosphere is pretty cool and the late hours are great. It's a bit of a trek up the hill if you're heading there from Market St on foot.
Lorraine Sanders review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
Lorraine Sanders on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/14/2008, 05:54 AM
Hole-in-the-wall sushi joint pleases an eclectic crowd with its funky decor, decent prices and subterranean location. – In Short This late-night dining destination has achieved hidden-gem status with many a local sushi supplicant thanks to its low-key vibe and fresh fish. Patrons duck past a bamboo awning and descend stairs into the main dining room, where dark tables are livened by blue walls and a grand piano. Starters such as gyoza and fried cheese in wonton skin are welcome discoveries for those who trickle in from nearby Tender Nob bars. Regulars often head straight for nigiri, sashimi and the popular deep-fried rolls.
adamgott review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
adamgott on Citysearch

15 years ago

10/28/2007, 07:51 AM
Rockin' good sushi... – Where to start? My mother who has been to Japan numerous times discovered this place. I think she was initially attracted by the Noren hanging outside the door. We decended the stairs on Taylor street and proceeded to have all previous sushi experiences eclipsed. Ryoko's is the new gold standard...or should I say "toro" standard? As you begin to show up more than once, they remember your name, your favorite forms of sushi and as I just read in another review, a willingness to create food artistry if you let them. Reiko suggested that I try the clam miso soup after I simply ordered the miso soup. I'll never go back to regular miso soup there again. You get what you pay for. Fresh fish, healthy food, excellent service and attitude. I'm torn between trying to keep it a secret and telling the world. Do yourself a favor...
whydoyoucaresomuch review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
whydoyoucaresomuch on Citysearch

15 years ago

09/17/2007, 09:34 AM
Great everything – Good food, service and the atmosphere is great. The waitresses are attentive and food is fresh. Have fun.
fizzlesnit review for Ryoko Restaurant & Bar
fizzlesnit on Citysearch

15 years ago

05/04/2007, 07:04 AM
Good Sushi, Interesting Neighborhood – My fiance and I met his coworker at Ryoko last week. It was a cute little hole-in-the-wall place with good sushi. I enjoyed dinner and the staff was very nice. The only con is that it's in a basement between Union Square and a not-so-nice area, so bring a friend, as you might have to park far away (BART is nearby, as well).
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.