Logo White
Watch Demo

Midway Moving & Storage

Own this business?
4.4
483 reviews
|Transportation Services|Chicago, IL 60624

4100 W Ferdinand St, Chicago, IL 60624

(773) 588-7000

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits

Top Transportation Services in your area

La Grou Motor Service
5.0
(2) · Transportation Services

3514 S Kostner Ave

(773) 890-3401
Freight-Base Services Inc
5.0
(1) · Movers

605 Country Club Dr # M

(630) 766-7000

2 people are looking at this business

Miken Cartage
5.0
(7) · Movers

9600 47th St

(708) 387-0070
Skipworth Moving Systems
5.0
(2) · Transportation Services

600 Kingsland Dr

(630) 761-0408
U S Freightways Inc
5.0
(1) · Movers

3951 Rutgers Ln

(847) 239-5820
Pathway Logistics Group
5.0
(2) · Transportation Services

3424 Mound Rd

(815) 725-5151

1 person is looking at this business

About

Midway Moving & Storage is a Chicago, IL, relocation and storage company that serves commercial and residential clients. Our dedicated professionals have provided thousands of satisfied customers with superior service, accurate planning and cost-effective moving and storage services. In addition to our highly rated moving services, we offer mobile and warehouse storage. We have all you need to smooth the process - Local, long distance and international moves Packing and unpacking Expert crating Short-term and long-term storage 24-hour/365-days-a-year service No matter your requirements, Midway is ready to share our expertise to ensure everything goes efficiently. Midway is committed to our c

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.4
483 reviews
5392
  
48
  
33
  
29
  
165
  
6 reviews have no rating
  • 460 Reviews4.5Google
  • 15 Reviews2.3BBB
  • 3 Reviews1.0Facebook
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Andre B on BBB

8 days ago

02/09/2020, 20:57 PM
One of the worst moving experiences ever! First one if the movers showed up to my apartment under the influence of alcohol (I could smell it on his breath). It took over three hours to load a one bedroom apartment that had been completely packed, sitting at the back door. Ready to move out the apartment, in the truck and to the new location. Get to the new location, left pieces if my furniture in the lobby if the building after being asked to move the out of the way by both me and management. This caused issues with other tenants ability to use certain areas of the lobby. To this day I don't understand how it took three movers more than three hours to move an already packed and ready to go one bedroom apartment. I would never reccomend Miday Movers to anyone. EVER!! They also overcharge you. Rip offs!! Consumers beware.
Business Response:

Mr. Brown, I'm sorry you had a bad experience with Midway, This the first I have heard that there were issues during your relocation. Have you previously spoke to anyone here at our office? I will speak to the crew about the incident. I appreciate your feedback as we strive for great customer service.

Respond to negative reviews
Sue H on BBB

5 months ago

09/24/2019, 09:52 AM
Fraudulent quote. Sloppy packing. Misleading information about insurance coverage. Stung badly!
Business Response:

Ms Hepker, I have reviewed your file. Based on the information provided, It appears that you did not purchase the additional valuation. Therefore based on the information signed paperwork at the time services were provided .60 cents per Lb per Article was the valuation option chosen. All paperwork was signed acknowledging that Artwork is not covered. Midway did not Deny your claim however, we did make a good faith offer.

Respond to negative reviews
Sandy B on BBB

7 months ago

07/12/2019, 16:11 PM
We were quoted for a two person originally and the amount we were quoted was reasonable. Since we are on a budget the amount we were quoted was very important. We trusted this company to be professional. On the day of the move we got multiple phone calls stating that a three person move was needed. We were told the move would go quickly with the three person move. When the movers arrived they were (intentionally) slow and got lost arriving to the new house. When they were unloading a mover fell on and broke our bookcase. The mover told us that it wouldn't be covered and was unapologetic. When they were leaving the movers got upset with our poor tip and confronted my husband on the low amount we were tipping. Afterwards the same day we contacted customer service and were given the run around for three weeks. After speaking with Stephens Wayne the Director of Operations I was promised to have a reply in 2 days. To this date NO REPLY has been received. No phone calls. No e-mail. I am SO disappointed in the lack of care this company has. They get the money and don't care about anything afterwards.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails

How to ask for feedback from customers: Three sample emails
5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response
Kate F on BBB

a year ago

11/29/2018, 04:36 AM
I had a horrible experience with Midway over the summer. I would not recommend their services to anyone. They quoted me hundreds of dollars less than what they ended up charging me, worked at an extremely slow pace, got lost on the way to my new building and didn’t take responsibility for any of it. Save yourself the trouble!
Respond to negative reviews
Simone B. on BBB

a year ago

10/25/2018, 19:09 PM
I will NEVER hire Midway Moving & Storage Inc. they have no regard for others property...my neighbor just had a service from them where they came to the back of the house and knocked down my power lines. Accidents happen but they made no effort to inform me or the property manager. Taking matters into my own hands I called my property manager, when he confronted them they said that they'll "fix it" before they left. Unconvinced that they would "fix it" I informed *****of the dangerous situation of loose and hanging wires where there is frequent traffic.In the end their version of fixing it included wrapping packing tape to all the wires and hoisting them upon each other. They then proceeded to litter in my backyard. Throwing coffee cups, plastic wrap and other debris from their truck onto my grass.
Business Response:

I have not received a complaint from a customer in regards to us pulling any wires down. If Midway created the damages please forward a written complaint so that we may address your concerns. Thank you.

Respond to negative reviews
Steven Keitel on Facebook

a year ago

10/20/2018, 14:08 PM
they do not respect your property. all they're worried about is getting the job done. they did a lot of damage and refuse to repair any of it. they offered me $12 towards $400 worth of damage.
Hedy C. on BBB

a year ago

09/19/2018, 13:34 PM
I was moving my 91 year old mom from one place to my moms condo. Before leaving the first place I had to clean. I was moving my mom by myself so we could not leave until it was clean. I was late getting to my moms condo, so I was charged extra which was about $200.00 more. My bank paid the exact amount TO midway charged at 11:58am. I have prove of the payment from the bank. But Ed the driver from midway movers insisted on going to the bank to get a cashiers check on top of the funds my bank already paid. At the bank Ed smiles and puts his hand on my back and shoulder then looks down and laughs while he scratches the amount my bank paid and increases by another $400.00. In the parking lot Ed says "how about a tip?" I told him ther is no money for tip after over charging me. Ed said why dont you tell the men in the truck? I said in Spanish " Ed the driver over charged me so there is no money for tip" **THERE WAS DAMAGE IN BOTH PLACES ON THE WALLS.
Business Response:

I apologize if there were any issues in regards to your mothers move. It appears that the credit card was initially declined (the bank will not let us know the reason, it may have been in incorrect zip code). That was the reason another form of payment was required. All moves are based on time and materials it take to provide services. Midway does not condone asking for tips and I will make sure we speak to the drive and the crew in regards to this. Again on behalf of Midway I do apologize.

Respond to negative reviews
DT on BBB

a year ago

09/04/2018, 07:44 AM
I do not recommend using this moving company. They have some very shady business practices. Immediately after my move, upon unpacking, I could not find some items and told the team leader that oversaw my move. He said that he would investigate it and contact me. The problems started right after that when the team leader never contacted me and never returned phone calls after my Mother and I called and emailed the company repeatedly. In addition, we repeatedly requested a claim form and it took them almost a month to send the claim form. Then they denied the claim stating that it was not submitted within the required 30-day period. I later filed a complaint with the Illinois Commerce Commission who informed me that my claim should not have been denied under a 30-day requirement. The rule is that I actually have 90 days to file the claim. Following this complaint, Midway offered me a small amount to settle my claim on the condition that I sign an agreement that I accept this settlement amount and agree that they did nothing wrong and that I would not talk about my case with anyone. I emailed Midway and stated that I would accept the small amount, but I would not sign such an agreement. I was told that they could not send me a check unless I sign the agreement and to forward a signed agreement. I escalated the issue at their company and was told by a high-level employee that they could not accept that under the terms that I stipulated in my email. So, I still do not have any payment for my claim. All of this has dragged on over the course of approximately seven months. All of this over a small amount of money considering the total amount I paid for my move. It has been very distressing dealing with this company. My family were repeat customers with them who did three moves with them. I individually spent almost $3,500 total on my move, including tips, and the company will not honor a $45 claim unless I sign an agreement saying they did nothing wrong and I will not talk about my case with anyone. Very poor and dishonest business practices. A very poor experience. I would not use them again.
Respond to negative reviews
Shaunda L Dale on Facebook

2 years ago

07/03/2018, 14:26 PM
So disappointed!
Respond to negative reviews
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.