Logo White
Watch Demo

Memphis Taproom

Own this business?
4.6
790 reviews
|Restaurants|Philadelphia, PA 19125

2331 E Cumberland St, Philadelphia, PA 19125

(215) 425-4460

https://memphistaproom.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(17) · Restaurants

3522 Cottman Ave

(215) 338-4027
4.8
(251) · Bars

1336 Old Lancaster Pike

(302) 234-2255
4.8
(5) · Bars

432 E 5th St

(610) 868-6822
4.7
(391) · Restaurants

1601 S 10th St

(267) 324-3910
4.7
(718) · Bars

4421 Main St

(215) 509-6005
4.7
(116) · Bars

253 S 20th St

(215) 735-2665
About

Located in a residential area in Kensington, this friendly neighborhood craft beer taproom and kitchen offers Southern style comfort food. Frequently appearing on Draft Magazine's Top 100 list of best beer bars in America, the rotating draft lineup offered here range from local brews to imported beers from Belgium and Germany. With its friendly staff dishing out drinks and delicious food till midnight, ample vegan and vegetarian options, convenient food trucks, and a full wine bar (glass and bottle service), Memphis Taproom is the ideal spot if you're planning a fun brunch or a night out with friends, where you'll be able to watch the game on their outdoor projection TV and enjoy your brew i

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.6
790 reviews
5557
  
4163
  
342
  
29
  
115
  
4 reviews have no rating
  • 782 Reviews4.6Google
  • 4 Reviews4.3Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
PadmaSundara on Citysearch

10 years ago

06/12/2010, 08:00 AM
Why can't we have more places like this? – So many bars don't offer the wide variety that Memphis Taproom does when it comes to food (other ones in Philly that I know of that do include Standard Tap and Royal Tavern). Their veggie burger is fantastic (made using quinoa), and the ranchos bruncheros (for brunch) is great (includes plenty of red pepper sauce and guacamole). My husband likes the meat entrees and has never been disappointed. Today (for brunch) he had "pigs in a blanket" (actually three sausages wrapped in phyllo with a maple mustard), and he raved about it. We drive 40+ minutes to get there, and it's worth it.
Siobhan H. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

11/28/2008, 02:51 AM
Big fan I really like the atmosphere of Memphis. The staff is pretty great and the beer list is good (for those who can partake). They get huge points from me for having a gluten free alternate menu and carrying Sprecher Shak paro gluten free beer.
Andrea G. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

11/20/2008, 05:35 AM
fabulous beers! mediocre food. I've been here a few times. They have a few vegetarian/vegan options for food. The food was amazing the first time, but it's been mediocre ever since then. Served cold on my last visit, which made me not want to eat there again. A friend found a bread twist tie underneath her veggie burger. The atmosphere is nice and they have a cool floor. A great selection of beers. I'd just love to see them increase their food quality.
Featured content
Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating
Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO
brandi f. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

11/19/2008, 01:10 AM
Fresh Ingredients, Yummy Whether it's a rare beer you're in need (rotating list of American craft beers in addition to Belgian, German and English ones) or a late night snack of wings with homemade blue cheese, or indefinitely the best veggie burger that I've ever tasted..this is the place to be. Kitchen is open til midnight all days of the week, and they also have brunch. A fantastic addition to the neighborhood of Port Fishington
Matthew T. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

11/19/2008, 00:01 AM
the ultimate I love this place. It's quiet, it has tiled floors. It has a picture of Tilly on the wall. They play good music, but most importantly the staff is nice, and the beer is amazing. loads of good stuff to be found here. It's so far off the beaten trail. and so cozy. Definitely check it out.
Beerweenie1 on Citysearch

12 years ago

11/17/2008, 04:03 AM
A Beer institution in the making – Finally got myself to the Memphis after hearing about for the past six months. I have had a few run ins with the owner when he worked at other beer bars in Philly ( the khyber and nodding head) and have always had a splendid time and was really pleased to see him at the Memphis when me and some buds went there over the weekend for some grub and suds. The decor sets you right at ease and the draft list is very well selected, it seems they try to represent as many styles without repeating any. I started with the Bear Republic Racer 5 and had a hard time having anything else. Both my friends and I were pleased to see both Yards and PBC. I am glad to see they didn't get involved in all the drama surrounding the split up of these breweries. Our bartender Jessica was as good as they come, attentive, friendly and knew her beer. While we were there Brendan was bussing tables and his wife Leah was planting trees outside. This guy hustled back in the day and shows no sign of slowing down. Our food was very good, I got the hamburger and the rest of our group feasted on the pork sandwich and fried pickles. I was not bold enough to try the pickles but everyone else enjoyed them. My only complaint was my bun which was of the backyard bbq variety. I voiced my complaint to Brendan and he told me that he "didn't want to tart up the burger with a fancy roll, he just wanted a meat delivery system" I guess we will agree to disagree. All in all a great time was had and we will definitely be heading back. I just hope that everyone else doesn't find out about this place and ruin my chances of getting a seat which seems to happen to every philly beer bar.
Tara Nurin on Citysearch

12 years ago

10/22/2008, 05:02 AM
Neighborhood pub with pizzazz serves some of the most eclectic craft beers in the city. – In Short In early 2008, a couple of beer geeks with storied local brewing careers got together and opened Memphis Taproom, a contemporary beer bar with an old-school feel in a corner of the city they've named "Port Fishington." A superb list of draughts and bottles from all over the country draw laid-back suds lovers from all over the city to this intimate and accessibly friendly corner bar that makes its sense of humor clear by writing wittier-than-thou notes to its customers all over its menu and website. Wedged between Fishtown, Port Richmond and Kensington, the taproom makes efforts not to alienate long-time neighborhood residents by including traditional Polish items on the menu. Veggie entrees round out a selection of updated bar food and inspired salads.
Contributor on Citysearch

12 years ago

07/14/2008, 01:43 AM
An notable international beer selection and Eastern European cuisine at its best is served to foodies and regulars. – Review Fishtown/Richmond gets a new high-quality beer bar serving stepped-up bar food until midnight daily and foodies and neighborhood regulars say cheers. Most brews here hail form the best of America, Britain, Germany and Belgium. Hefeweizen Hummus, Tofu Tzatziki and Pilsner-Brined Hot Wings share space with classic Fish 'n' Chips, burgers, and Steak Frites. Kielbasy Hoagies and a Port Richmond Platter of grilled kielbasy, pierogies, potato pancakes and kraut give a hefty nod this nabe's Eastern European roots.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.