Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Mandarette

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
208 reviews
|Chinese|Los Angeles, CA 90048

8386 Beverly Blvd, Los Angeles, CA 90048

(323) 655-6115

http://idealbrandmarketing.com/cgi-sys/movingpage.cgi

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(6) · Restaurants

7170 Beverly Blvd

(323) 934-2999
5.0
(1) · Chinese

800 W 7th St

(626) 578-1818
4.7
(79) · Restaurants

23741 La Palma Ave

(714) 692-0796
4.7
(27) · Chinese

133 E Lomita Blvd

(310) 513-1418

2 people are looking at this business

4.7
(32) · Restaurants

50 N. La Cienega Blvd.

(310) 855-0088

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(10) · Restaurants

9184 W Pico Blvd

(310) 274-4007

7 people are looking at this business

About

Traditional Chinese with a modern edge, Mandarette is home to authentic Chinese chefs and faithful neighborhood patrons. Celebrity customers and recurring restaurant clientele dine beneath the enormously high, gold-plated ceilings, experiencing simultaneous elegance and comfortable intimacy. With a constantly updated menu, make sure to try the chef's specials. The ideas are derived from Shanghai's top chefs and taste-tested by their most familiar patrons. There are many classic favorites like strawberry shrimp, pan fried string beans, or ginger brown rice. Once you enter, there's no doubt you will become part of Manarette's family. Everyone just keeps coming back for more!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
208 reviews
5101
  
470
  
38
  
26
  
17
  
16 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Bob W. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

08/20/2009, 02:09 AM
Mandarette is still pretty good. A long time ago, Mandarette had very good Chinese food. As time went on, the quality dropped little by little, but coming from so high a quality, the food went down to a good instead of great level. If you are nearby and hungry for Chinese food, go ahead and try them.
Nani3 on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/08/2008, 04:04 AM
Super YUMMY! Never tasted anything like it! – This place is located in a great spot, and has a nice relaxing comfortable environment. I usually do not like chineese food, but this place is GREAT. I love all the new items and different variations on our old favorites. The Crab Rangoons were great!
sansna on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/06/2008, 03:48 AM
Good food with real, authentic (not mystery meat) ingredients – Wow - just read some brutal reviews on this place. Wonder how much influence the person you are with,& your mood at the time, distorts your review. I'll try to be diplomatic. Went there on Sat 6/28 at 1:30pm. Nice decor - tasteful wall hangings, wooden tables (mine had a metal top with Chinese-influenced etchings, comfy chairs, and small bar if you had to wait to be seated. Tables not right on top of each other. Server prompt & pleasant when she asked for drink order My friend is a wimp so we avoided items with the chili symbol - much to my dismay. Ordered Pork Dumplings, Crisp Sesame Shrimp, Sauteed Chicken with Asparagus & Bean Sauce, steamed white rice. Our food was delivered promptly. Dumplings & rice were very good. I knew there was pork in them (questionable in other restaurants) because I could taste it and it was moist. Dipping sauce okay. Good sticky rice. Chicken arrived.. Again, I have in the past wondered what mystery meat others claim as chicken (or what horrible, inedible part of the chicken they are using). Chicken excellent - moist & w/o gristle or fat. The asparagus was perfectly al dente. The bean sauce complimented the dish. The medium-sized shrimp had a crispy, non-oily tempura coating - not so thick as to disguise the size of the shrimp. Again, accompanying sauce was well-balanced - not too sweet or salty. And, although I ordered a second glass of wine from the server, it was the PLEASANT owner (who some claim to be a wicked witch) brought it to me. Yes, the portions are probably way too small for someone who considers a double cheeseburger, fries & shake a snack, but my friend & I were pleased. Prices do seem a bit hi, but the place does have overhead. If you want quantity over quality (which seems to be the case in the US, this place is NOT for you. (Hey, if you want cheap, heat-lamp food, go to Panda Express.) Haven't tried take-out/delivery so can't comment. Parking can be challenging. Oh, dear, one might have to walk 2 blocks!
Featured content
Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions

Introducing Birdeye Interactions
HIPAA Guidelines To Remember While Responding To Patient Reviews

HIPAA Guidelines To Remember While Responding To Patient Reviews

HIPAA Guidelines To Remember While Responding To Patient Reviews
glamgal4 on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/27/2008, 04:15 AM
WORST CHINESE FOOD IN LA!.... ESPECIALLY DELIVERY! – Please save yourself thousands of calories and a waste of a meal. This chinese restaurant is owned by an extremely cheap and money hungry owner. The prices are ridiculous. I would not mind paying good money for GOOD food. But when you fork over insane amounts for tiny portions of tasteless 'food' it will leave you feeling robbed and unsatisfied. The worst thing you could probably do is order for delivery. The food will arrive cold, soggy, microwaved-tasting and if you try and complain, you will get hung up on. I understand delivery is not the same as eating in, but it is pretty simple to tell when food has sitting around for a few centuries. All in all, customer service should be important. Guess what? At Mandarette, it is definitely not a priority. It is not even on their list of things to do. Instead that list consists of being rude to costumers, putting zero effort into creating good food, and then just for kicks, charging you an arm and a leg.. and a head... and a stomach. So don't hold your breath (unless it's to avoid smelling a bunch of tasteless food). But hey, if you feel like ordering from Panda Express, then letting it sit around for a day and then heating it up in your microwave till its luke worm, then Mandarette is the taste you are going for.
jvh020 on Citysearch

13 years ago

04/04/2008, 02:38 AM
Hip and authentic – I've frequented this restaurant for nearly twenty years now and am still a fan. I also frequent Shanghai, Bejing and Hong Kong and have a pretty good idea of what authentic Chinese is like. The food here reminds me very much of several restaurants in Shanghai. The onion pancakes are delicious and the same article as in better eateries in China. Also, though the cold noodles may not resemble the New York variety (as asserted by another reviewer) they are very reminiscent of the the Chinese variety..... Perhaps a bit too authentic for some tastes.
My2cherries on Citysearch

14 years ago

02/29/2008, 01:14 AM
Extra Special Fried Rice – II love Chinese cuisine. So I must say to have me drive during my lunch break from downtown Los Angeles to a place very near to the Beverly Center just to get a combo fried rice, the food must be very very good. And that it is! I thoroughly enjoy Mandarette's fried rice. I have even brought my kids to experience the food in the evenings during the week during rush hour and my 5 year old who is very picky loved it. I would recommend it. It is worth a visit. The staff are always very nice and very accommodating.
sbj73 on Citysearch

14 years ago

11/03/2007, 02:28 AM
The worst Chinese ever! – I have to say, this is the worst Chinese I have ever had. We've tried it twice now because our friends told us it was ?great.? The first time it was sub-par but we gave them the benefit of the doubt and figured maybe it was an off night. The second time it was as bad if not worse. We ordered the chicken with sauteed vegetables - pretty standard....or so we thought. The chicken didn?t even look like chicken - it tasted like rubber - disgusting. We also ordered General Tao?s chicken - doesn?t get any more basic that that, right? Wrong - it was bready and had no kick at all. The icing on the cake was the rice - steamed rice - you can't get that wrong can you???!!! Even the rice was terrible - not sticky at all...tasted like day after rice that's been reheated. Needless to say we will not be giving Mandarette a third try. I'd go looking elsewhere if you want yummy Chinese.
Contributor on Citysearch

15 years ago

12/15/2006, 02:33 AM
Traditional Chinese favorites with a California accent draw sassy locals to this chic cafe. – In Short Stylish folk swarm to this popular Beverly Boulevard Chinese eatery with an imposing cherry-wood and emerald-accented bar and unique artifacts, like an elegantly framed, full-length Chinese ceremonial costume. The menu blends traditional Chinese dishes with a distinctly Californian twist. Small plate dim sum items like pork- or vegetable-filled dumplings, are offered alongside healthy dishes like sea bass steamed inside a banana leaf with the chef's signature garlic sauce.
radiancelee on Citysearch

15 years ago

11/04/2006, 01:35 AM
Feel like Chinese? – Still busy at 10 pm, this place offers good Chinese food with friendly waiters. The Chinese tea is outstanding. The Cold Noodles are my favorite dish. It offers up mostly classic fare (Lemon Chicken, Orange Peel Chicken, Sesame Beef) with some spicy Szechuan dishes put into the mix.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.