Logo White
Watch Demo

James P. Leone, PhD

Own this business?
3.7
69 reviews
|Psychologists|Cambridge, MA 02139

875 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02139

(617) 547-8135

Not Specified

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(3) · Surgeons

158 Mount Auburn St

(617) 547-6200
5.0
(7) · Healthcare

59 Coddington St

(857) 301-9845

9 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Counseling & Mental Health

267 Gano St

(401) 331-7387
5.0
(10) · Psychologists

11 Whiting St

(401) 421-3426

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Psychologists

24 Otis St

(617) 924-6957
5.0
(1) · Counseling & Mental Health

150 Market St

(781) 592-6100

6 people are looking at this business

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
3.7
69 reviews
533
  
413
  
35
  
29
  
19
  
  • 62 Reviews3.8RateMDs
  • 4 Reviews1.8Google
  • 2 Reviews3.0Healthgrades
  • 1 Review1.0BirdEye
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
A student on Healthgrades

2 months ago

06/20/2020, 12:03 PM
His groups are nothing like what he claims during the free consultation. They're a free-for-all. He encourages patients to articulate their negative feelings about other group members. That's ok if done carefully. But he encourages - instructs is a better word for it - group members to communicate their projections and transference issues onto other, vulnerable, members recklessly and with no regard for the feelings of the other person. Many a time I saw someone cry in his group after being attacked. It happened about twice per group, on average. His words and tone are often abusive. Not subtly abusive, but very obviously abusive. It's nothing I've seen in a therapist. Dr. Leone told me "I will be sadistic if you let me." That was disturbing. As a general practice, he reads aloud to the group the private emails of those who fall behind in their payments as a way of controlling them. I knew him well, and he struck me as bigoted and chauvinistic. There were a whole lot of problems.
Respond to negative reviews
J. S. on BirdEye

2 months ago

06/20/2020, 08:15 AM
His groups are nothing like what he claims during the free consultation. They're a free-for-all. He encourages patients to articulate their negative feelings about other group members. That's ok if done carefully. But he encourages - instructs is a better word for it - group members to communicate their projections and transference issues onto other, vulnerable, members recklessly and with no regard for the feelings of the other person. Many a time I saw someone cry in his group after being attacked. It happened about twice per group, on average. Sometimes Dr. Leone attacks group members, under the guise of therapy. His words and tone are often abusive. Not subtly abusive, but very obviously abusive. It's nothing I've seen in a therapist. Dr. Leone told me "I will be sadistic if you let me." That was extremely disturbing. His insights were hit and miss, and mostly based on his own, possibly warped, life experiences. He stereotyped people pretty badly. When he misunderstood someone, he would usually persist arrogantly, and insist his insight was right, which would leave them feeling more misunderstood, confused, and angry. He encouraged patients to fight with their friends and relatives as a way to resolve interpersonal issues. He acted like an autocrat. As a general practice, he reads aloud to the group the private emails of those who fall behind in their payments as a way of controlling them. I knew him well, and he struck me as bigoted and chauvinistic. There were a whole lot of problems. He did more damage than good.
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous on RateMDs

a year ago

06/07/2019, 01:13 AM
Dr Leone is worth he wait. A straight shooter. Always the truth. So sweet to the elderly patients. His office staff is stellar. Always an answer in a timely manor. Will stick with dr L for any orthopaedic issues
Featured content
Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
Anonymous on RateMDs

a year ago

05/19/2019, 07:45 AM
avoid this doctor as much as you can idoit.doesn't know what he is doing.
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous on RateMDs

a year ago

04/12/2019, 13:45 PM
Wow what an amazing doctor. Very good bedside manners. He explained everything so I would understand it. Great doctor.
Anonymous on RateMDs

2 years ago

10/11/2018, 19:30 PM
Always caring, helpful and cheerful in spite of being over worked. Had a knee replacement and he did a great job. Judy, his receptionist/secretary is super accommodating.
Anonymous on RateMDs

2 years ago

06/30/2018, 15:25 PM
He saved and fixed my knee. Thank you Doctor. Now to the hard work of physio and rehab and exercise.
Anonymous on RateMDs

2 years ago

03/27/2018, 07:37 AM
Very professional and was able to correct my knee problems. Thank you Dr James for the great service
Anonymous on RateMDs

3 years ago

11/27/2017, 15:29 PM
Dr. Leone was a truly great surgeon. Well worth the wait. He makes complex revision surgery look easy. We are very lucky to have a Mayo Clinic trainer surgeon in our community. Thank you for everything!!!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.