Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Hotel Vitale

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
947 reviews
|Hotels|San Francisco, CA 94105 United States

8 Mission St, San Francisco, CA 94105 United States

(415) 278-3700

https://www.jdvhotels.com/hotels

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(1) · Hotels

20 12th St

(415) 861-2373
5.0
(5) · Hospitality

1135 4th St

(415) 459-9557
5.0
(3) · Hotels

345 California Street

(415) 276-9602
4.9
(11) · Hotels

609 Old County Rd

(650) 288-7707
4.8
(495) · Hospitality

30 El Portal

(415) 332-9535
4.8
(126) · Hospitality

25 Main St

(415) 789-5999
About

Hotel Vitale does everything it can to make your stay more relaxing and carefree here in San Francisco. Consult our boutique hotel concierge for dining and entertainment recommendations, stay centered with complimentary daily yoga and enjoy lounging in your room with 24-hour room service and complimentary Wi-Fi. And for the savvy business traveler, we offer daily shoe shines and morning town car service to the Financial District.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.4
947 reviews
5540
  
4277
  
375
  
225
  
117
  
13 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Jgouldgoodman review for Hotel Vitale
Jgouldgoodman on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/24/2011, 02:49 AM
One thing after another.... – What a horrible experience. Stayed at the Vitale Hotel last weekend for a good friend’s wedding. With the group discount, the basic room was $219/night (not including taxes, etc.). The valet parking was $48/night. I don’t mind paying for a hotel room in an expensive city, but this hotel is managed as a cheap motel. Upon arrival, after leaving the car with the valet, there was no bellhop to assist with the luggage so we carried it ourselves. I can handle that. However, a few hours later we called the concierge for a large taxi as the majority of taxis can only carry four people. The front desk agreed to call our taxi for the rehearsal dinner, but upon arriving downstairs, learned that a taxi had never been called and no one really cared that we had been misled. We ended up being late to our event and had to take 2 taxi's.... The ceremony was held off site, but the reception was on site. It was in an outdoor patio that had been closed in for the winter and only provided minimal heaters. It was freezing and the majority of women kept their winter jackets on all night. Later the wait staff, while bringing out the hors d’oeuvres, managed to spill an entire tray of soup (held in tall shot glasses), with the majority spilling on my fiancé’s dress. No apologies. The next day upon check out, again there was no service to assist with the luggage. Then the valet did not pull the car into the hotel driveway/entrance, although there was plenty of room. The valet parked it on the street, and we carried our luggage to the car, only to find the valet using super glue on the car key. They did not come up and apologize for breaking the key, instead they were trying to repair it and not tell us. It seemed to be a freak accident, but the valet managed to break a key (one with the electronic system). Not sure how it happened, but super glue does not seem to be the best fix. In the end, we finally told a manager, who apologized but did not seem to be overly concerned.
Burns1969 review for Hotel Vitale
Burns1969 on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/19/2008, 10:57 AM
wonderful – Great service, Comfortable Beds, Great Location and Love the Little details. Hotel is well thought out, service is great and you can not beat the location.
mark review for Hotel Vitale
mark on Citysearch

15 years ago

11/26/2007, 11:57 AM
Beautiful Hotel and Location – My wife came into the City over the Thanksgiving weeked for a "date night." We chose Hotel Vitale after reading about it on Citysearch and were not disappointed. The service was great and we were upgraded to a room with 180 degree views of the Bay! What a surprise. The room was spacious, spotless and of couse the view from the Ferry Building to the Bay Bridge. Check out the roof while you are staying there as well. We'd be back for sure.
Featured content
Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website

Why You Should Display Reviews on Your Website
Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.
donnyraymond2 review for Hotel Vitale
donnyraymond2 on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/12/2007, 06:52 AM
Enjoyed my stay – Hotel Vitale is a great place to say. Maybe they have one employee who is rude? Which hotel doesn't? I read what the author said, "emotional violence", what a ninny, grow up, and have a whiskey. As for the hotel: the beds are nice and clean, and the staff is a bit distant, but this is on Mission so they have lots of nutjobs out and about so take the time to get to know them, like you should do at any hotel, or any new environment; the more intrest you take in other, the more they will in you. Simple, really.
tntcon review for Hotel Vitale
tntcon on Citysearch

16 years ago

07/31/2007, 03:57 AM
Don't support this prejudiced hotel – I am so glad I found out about the incident whereupon the prejudiced Hotel Manager ignorantly demanded that N'gugi wa Thiong'o leave the premises of this Hotel. This blatant display of racism is despicable and I'm so grateful didn't book my vacation at this hotel! It's very sad that websites continue to recommend it thusly despite this appalling information.
jonelvisburrows review for Hotel Vitale
jonelvisburrows on Citysearch

16 years ago

05/07/2007, 07:07 AM
Quality of Service Varies – Just so you know, on Nov. 10 2006 NYU literature professor and author N'gugi wa Thiong'o was staying at this hotel while on tour promoting his new Random House novel when a hotel staffer ordered him to leave the premises, even after he protested that he was a registered guest (and a rather esteemed one at that). There are several news articles about the incident, which are easy to find.
jblack415 review for Hotel Vitale
jblack415 on Citysearch

16 years ago

12/07/2006, 12:13 PM
Hotel Vitale is a classic. – I will start off by telling you that I stayed in one of their suites. I found that the room was beautifully lit and decorated with simple furniture yet it was very stylish. The room had a spacious bathroom, a dining table that could fit five, a couch that could fold out into a bed, wireless internet, a desk with drawers, a chair to sit comfortably at the desk, a flat screen televsion, a nice bedside Clock CD/Radio that played "White noise" if you need to relax, and a KING bed. The room was very well kept. The hotel offers beautiful views of the Port of San Francisco and the Bay Bridge. It is right along the Embarcadero so entertainment and Fisherman's Warf are very close. You can even venture onto the roof top where there is grass and chairs to admire the scenes of San Francicso. I do admit that the room service menu is limited, but I order the freshly made chocolate chip cookie and milk and I was very satified. In all I had a good experience at this hotel and would definitely go back.
thebam review for Hotel Vitale
thebam on Citysearch

16 years ago

08/09/2006, 13:21 PM
Ruined Vacation – The hotel is noisy, because it is next to the Embarcadero (a six lane highway). After requesting a quiet room, I was put next to the elevator and the electrical equipment. Every ten minutes there was a grinding sound and the room vibrated. The staff knew about this because there was a "white noise" machine by the bed. After 2 sleepless nights, they said I could move but that "check in is at 3pm." I had booked an 11 night stay, and their bad attitude and service was sort of shocking. After all this, they put a bogus charge on my bill. Room service is extremely expensive and limited. The rooms are quite small with almost no storage space. The neighborhood is really boring, and dead on the weekends. I love SF, and you can do so much better. I thought I'd try a new place out--but never again with Hotel Vitale.
rtomb review for Hotel Vitale
rtomb on Citysearch

17 years ago

06/13/2006, 11:29 AM
Wonderful Experience! – Hotel Vitale is superb! I visited from Chicago and never have I had better service, or met a more welcoming staff. The hotel iteself is modern, chic, and in great taste. However, the service just simply cannot be beat. When I come back to town, I will check-in again to Hotel Vitale!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.