Hemenway's's cover image
Claim this profile

This profile has not been claimed by the business owner or representative.

Claim this business to update business information, get appointment requests, engage visitors with web chat, and more!

Hemenway's

4.6

About this business

Hemenway's, an icon in the Rhode Island food scene and the go-to destination for fresh, top-of-catch seafood has been serving both locals and visitors to the capital city for decades. Constantly innovating, Chef Max Peterson delights in creating dishes that utilize the freshest selections from New England's fishmongers and purveyors. At the heart of the restaurant is our heralded Raw Bar, where guests indulge in our signature Shellfish Platter while enjoying views of the Providence skyline. Centrally located, the proximity o... read more

Location details

121 S Main St, Providence, RI, 02903, United States

Get directions
WeekdayScheduleStatus
Mon9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Tue9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Wed9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Thu9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
Fri9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m.
SatClosed
SunClosed
4.62,778 reviews
Select a rating
Christine Domanoski Millerick O'Keefe's profile image
Christine Domanoski Millerick O'Keefe 
7 years ago

Raw bar offerings are unparalleled especially the cherry stone clams. Super fresh with a bright taste. Shrimp are huge U12s. Service is professional but unstuffy. Hemenways is one of my favorite restaurants and is worth the trip. 

Business response:

Thank you! We are glad you enjoyed. 

Barbara Napoli Wallace's profile image
Barbara Napoli Wallace 
7 years ago

The service was slow. I made a special request. It wasn't followed and it was for safety reasons, the service was slow, it was way to cold, my meal was horrible and it was a dish I've had there many times and normally good , so not consistent . Didn't offer any comp and at that point I just didn't care and was ready to leave!! 

Business response:

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy Barbara. We never like to have a guest leave disappointed. Please give our General Manager Tobey Sanborn a call at the restaurant. He would love to hear your feedback and what we could have done better. 401-351-8570. Thank you! 

Sean River's profile image
Sean River 
7 years ago

Impeccable service, lovely food, fantastic atmosphere! 

Donna Henke Wigand's profile image
Donna Henke Wigand 
7 years ago

Fantastic experience from start to finish!!!! Definitely would go back when in the area!!! 

Business response:

Great to hear! We look forward to seeing you again. 

Koren Wain-Payton's profile image
Koren Wain-Payton 
7 years ago

My husband and I sat at the bar and ordered shrimp cocktail and chowder along with drinks. I got my shrimp and there was a hair in my cocktail sauce. I tell the bartender I think his name was Ian (personality plus NOT) no apology just grabs its and then comes back with another. Will I go there again NOPE � I should have received better service for the price I paid and upscale place they portray to be. Not happy 

Saed Dep's profile image
Saed Dep 
7 years ago

It was my first time there for my birthday; our waitress was extra nice and friendly , patiently taking her time until we decided what to pick from the food menu , although the place was full of customers on a Friday night. Food was outstanding . And my birthday cake with candle was on the house ,which it was very nice of them to do. On the was way out , the host wished me a happy birthday in a very classy manner as well. Over all, I'd definitely suggest it for a great dinning experience. 

Business response:

Happy birthday! Thanks for celebrating with us. 

Alexander Romanov's profile image
Alexander Romanov 
7 years ago

High quality, European style and taste restaurant. Expectedly priced: appetizer, soup and main course plus 2 glasses of wine (and desert) was close to 100 USD. Service is right what you need and expect. Worth coming back. 

Business response:

Thank you! We're glad we're worth coming back for. 

Richard Whitehead's profile image
Richard Whitehead 
7 years ago

The sevice as always is top notch but I was a bit disappointed with the seafood casserole, it consisted of a tiny piece of cod, a few scallops and shrimp and canned lobster in a watery bisque-like broth. The raw bar was very good but over priced compared to other local places. 

Business response:

Sorry to hear about your disappointment. We will pass on your feedback to our culinary team. We appreciate the honest comments. 

Holly Barigazzi-Boes's profile image
Holly Barigazzi-Boes 
7 years ago

Wonderful restaurant. Absolutely would go back. Lobster was amazing. Atmosphere very relaxing and trendy. Definitely going back 

Frequently asked questions about Hemenway's

How is Hemenway's rated?

Hemenway's has a 4.6 star rating with 2,778 reviews. 

When is Hemenway's open?

Hemenway's is closed now. It will open tomorrow at 9:00 a.m. 

Need help? Contact us.

Speak with a specialist to learn how you can grow with Birdeye. We are reachable at profiles@birdeye.com