Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Flamingo Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
118 reviews
|Restaurants|Saint Paul, MN 55104 United States

490 Syndicate St N, Saint Paul, MN 55104 United States

(651) 917-9332

https://www.grubhub.com/restaurant/flamingo-restaurant-490-n-syndicate-st-saint-paul/322580

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(3) · Coffee & Tea

7015 Amundson Ave

(952) 217-4591
5.0
(21) · Restaurants

1318 Sibley Memorial Hwy

(651) 686-4840
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

37 W 1st St

(952) 442-3949
5.0
(7) · Restaurants

526 Selby Ave

(651) 340-4617
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

315 Lake St E

(952) 473-6330
5.0
(26) · Restaurants

2309 Snelling Ave

(612) 729-9310
About

Specialties Eritrean, Ethiopian, and Somalian cuisine! History Established in 2010. It was always Flamingo, but after January of 2010 it went under new management. Meet the Business Owner Shegitu K. Business Owner Caring and loving nature!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
118 reviews
582
  
422
  
35
  
23
  
15
  
1 review has no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Jen Pfister-LaPin review for Flamingo Restaurant
Jen Pfister-LaPin on Facebook

7 years ago

07/05/2015, 09:05 AM
Excellent service and yummy food. Will definitely be back!
Jason Ostrander review for Flamingo Restaurant
Jason Ostrander on Facebook

7 years ago

04/07/2015, 05:59 AM
matthewedward review for Flamingo Restaurant
matthewedward on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

04/07/2015, 01:29 AM
What a great restaurant!!! Ok not sure what the fair reviews are about but oh my god is this place awesome. Vegetarian combo is unbelievable. Service was great, nice and helpful. If you want to try a great Ethiopian restaurant this has to be the place.
Featured content
How to respond to a bad review - 5 tips to turn them around

How to respond to a bad review - 5 tips to turn them around

How to respond to a bad review - 5 tips to turn them around
Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?
JellyBean2464 review for Flamingo Restaurant
JellyBean2464 on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

04/01/2015, 08:07 AM
Flamingo is Fabulous!! First time there. Beautiful little place, very unassuming. The food was incredible and freshly prepared, so if you are in a hurry, you will be disapppointed. Only 35 minutes from ordering to table, but well worth it. The injera was soft and tender, the spices were fresh tasting , not stale.
Wes S review for Flamingo Restaurant
Wes S on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

02/01/2015, 14:21 PM
Disappointing Ethiopian food My family has eaten a lot of Ethiopian food- so we think we know good Ethiopian food. Normally, we go to Fasika's restaurant on Snelling but thought we would give another restaurant a try. The parking at Flamingo's is good and ample. We parked right in front of the door! When we walked inside the inside is decorated nicely and is very comfortable. We were a little surprised to be greeted by a white male who came out if the kitchen to greet us. When we asked this same white male about where the Key Wot (a traditional ethnic Ethiopian food) was on the menu and he was not sure what we were talking about- I knew we were in trouble. The table had no silverware- had to ask for them after the food was brought out. We also asked for drinks and had to ask again after the food was brought out. When the food arrived- the first thing you notice is the portions are stingy. The food was below average and tasted almost sweet- and sugary- unlike traditional Ethiopian food. For me- it almost tasted like the cook was trying to Americanize the Ethiopian cuisine. Very disappointing. While I feel bad for posting such a negative review, we will not go to the Flamingo again. If you like good Ethiopian food, you can not beat Fasika's and it is so close to Flamingo, I would crawl on my hands and knees to eat much better Ethiopian food.
dmbia review for Flamingo Restaurant
dmbia on Trip Advisor

7 years ago

01/02/2015, 14:42 PM
Let's Try Ethiopian We came here mostly because we'd seen the place from the light rail. It's right at the Hamline station. There's a wide mix of ethnic restaurants in the area, and we thought it might be fun to try Ethiopian food. The place is located in a simple cement block building that houses such down-market businesses as an auto parts store. However, they've actually decorated it quite nicely. There are baskets, paintings, photographs, and flowers that set the theme and make for a pleasant setting. It was a little odd that we were the only customers there, even though it was right at lunchtime on a weekend. It was also odd that there were no napkins or flatware on any of the tables; the waiter had to bring those. We were disappointed that they were out of two key things we wanted--the sambusa appetizers that seem like little savory empanadas and the specialty juice drinks. The waiter implied that it would be some time before those would be available again. While both my dining companion and I have enjoyed a lot of international cuisines, neither of us had experienced Ethiopian food before. It was unique, and mostly in a good way. Almost all the dishes are various types of stew served atop injera, a spongy flatbread made of a grain native to the horn of Africa. The stews we had (one made of chicken and the other lamb) were outstanding. The menu describes them as "stir fry", but they come across as slow cooked to the point of being thick, hearty, and layered with flavor. The side dishes were also tasty, though it would have been good to choose the vegetables we preferred rather than having pot luck. I'd have really liked the stew if it were served with rice or pasta. What we honestly didn't care for as much was the injera. On its own, it was tasty (if a bit strange in texture). With the stew placed on top of it, though, it became unpleasantly soggy and literally made me gag. Something else odd about the injera was that it was served cold. I don't know if this is typical in East Africa or not, but it appeared to be fresh from the refrigerator. I'd have preferred it if the bread had been heated. It would also be good to have the injera served on the side, rather than with the stew atop it. I understand that in Ethiopia the stew is served family style, and each diner is given a slab of injera. The diners put the filling inside pieces of injera and roll it up, similar to how fajitas are eaten here. If it were served that way, the diners could control how wet or dry the bread was--and they could also eat the stew on its own if they wanted. The restaurant might want to reconsider how they serve things, just to provide more options for their guests. I'd recommend people try this restaurant, though you'll need to keep an open mind if you aren't familiar with the cuisine. The prices are very reasonable, and it's certainly an experience you won't get next door at Subway.
ThatRHguy review for Flamingo Restaurant
ThatRHguy on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

10/06/2014, 15:42 PM
Great Food, Great for Families You know those little hole-in-the-wall restaurants that are hard to find, but are a delight when you do? You just found one. You have to look for the Flamingo: it's just off the main drag hidden behind a Subway in the same building as a NAPA auto parts store. It's worth the effort. The space is comfortable, though not plush, nicely decorated with paintings and traditional baskets. The service was prompt and friendly. The menu features a wide selection of dishes from Ethiopia and Eritrea, including several vegetarian dishes. They also had some slightly more common pita bread sandwiches, such as a gyro and a chicken sandwich. The sambusas (we got both meat and veggie) were really good, right out of the cooker and served with a swirl of spicy sauce and yogurt. Our kids got pita sandwiches, which they raved about. The adults got traditional dishes, which come with the springy, tangy, injera bread (it looks like a giant unflipped pancake). Both the beef and the lentil dishes were nicely spiced, warming but not fiery. I want also to mention the lemonade drinks, which they will mix with other fruit juices, and which are a nice cooling compliment to the spicy dishes. While the service was prompt, you should be aware that, for us anyway, it took a while for the food to arrive after ordering (I'm assuming it was, you know, being prepared to order). Get comfortable and chat with your friends or use the WiFi.
JoeNathan9249 review for Flamingo Restaurant
JoeNathan9249 on Trip Advisor

8 years ago

05/30/2014, 04:29 AM
Strongly recommended, vg food, modest prices, great mission A co-worker suggested that we try this Midway area restaurant. VERY glad we did. It features traditional East AFrican food, along with some unexpected dishes like curry chicken and gyros. Service is very good, food quality is excellent, prices modest. We tried 3 different dishes with chicken and liked each of them. We also had beef sambosas which were excellent. This restaurant is about 10 yards north of University Avenue on Syndicate. Because of light rail, you can only get to Syndicate from University if you are driving west, toward Minneapolis. Otherwise you need to go a block north of Univ Av on Sherburne and then turn south on Syndicate. Many lovely pictures of East African women and examples of crafts they create. Again, strongly recommended.
ChristineLR review for Flamingo Restaurant
ChristineLR on Trip Advisor

9 years ago

12/10/2013, 16:54 PM
Traditional Ethiopian with a heart Besides the food being yummalicios and the services fantastic these two Ethiopian women are using their restaurant to raise funds to expand education in their native countries. They return annually to build schools with some of their profits and bring back lots of great spices and recipes to offer the people of St. Paul. Check it out it will not disappoint, Also try the tea. wow
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.