Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Esquire Tavern

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
519 reviews
|Bars|San Antonio, TX 78205 United States

155 E Commerce St, San Antonio, TX 78205 United States

(210) 222-2521

https://www.esquiretavern-sa.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Bars

283 W San Antonio St

(830) 626-9463
4.8
(490) · Bars

219 E Houston St

(210) 472-2202
4.7
(7) · Restaurants

10726 Perrin Beitel Rd

(210) 651-1800
4.6
(1535) · Restaurants

7307 S New Braunsfels

(210) 333-5455
4.6
(15) · Bars

605 San Pedro Ave

(210) 387-8203
4.6
(2403) · Bars

1303 South IH 35

(512) 396-5400
About

For some fun, food, and a relaxed time, Esquire Tavern has got you covered. The ambiance is cool and casual - great for hanging out with friends and loved ones. Some of the items on the menu include the shrimp sandwich, hanger steak salad, bacon cheeseburger, and fried apple pie. Uniquely mixed cocktails, such as the Warpaint andLord Loves a Working Man are sure to impress even the pickiest of cocktail aficionados.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
519 reviews
5306
  
453
  
322
  
214
  
118
  
106 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Jason Christopher Trevino review for Esquire Tavern
Jason Christopher Trevino on Facebook

10 years ago

11/11/2012, 10:04 AM
Melissa Rodriguez review for Esquire Tavern
Melissa Rodriguez on Facebook

10 years ago

11/06/2012, 09:08 AM
Katie Williams review for Esquire Tavern
Katie Williams on Facebook

10 years ago

10/31/2012, 13:59 PM
Featured content
The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
JEFF strong review for Esquire Tavern
JEFF strong on Citysearch

11 years ago

11/20/2011, 07:24 AM
A San Antonio Tradition RUINED – A native San Antonion who has frequented The Esquire and brought guests from around the world to enjoy and embrace this beautiful San Antonio bar was SLAPPED in the face when I went in today with guests!! The new owner had the sence to keep the architectural strength of the Esquire in tact. But the food and the drinks are a disgrace to a San Antonio legend. What happened to an ice cold Lone Star Long neck? Progress? I think not ! Another dime a dozon Stone Oak wannabe LA bar is what they have created!! Top if off with BORING staff that have no clue hpw lucky they are to be working ina San Antonio Legend, and you have the NEW Esquire Tavern. I will bad mouth it every chance i get until they find their heritage. Jeff Strong PS And price is not the issue here!! I'd pay premium prices in a bar such as the Esquire if its heritage was being maintainedand not demolished!
Lemur review for Esquire Tavern
Lemur on Citysearch

11 years ago

09/02/2011, 12:13 PM
Amazing Deviled Eggs! Good food! – My husband and I went two times for lunch. We found it on the River Walk where you have to walk up a tall metal staircase. The atmosphere is really western bar/saloon without being overdone. The drinks are pricey but good and everything is fresh and homemade. My husband loved the homemade ginger beer in his Moscow Mules. We had the deviled eggs both times- the best I have ever had. We also had shrimp sandwich, chicken salad (so good), french fries (homemade), a buffalo burger, and the jalapeno burger. The service left a lot to be desired both times (it was not busy) but I gave it five stars as I think the food, comfortable chairs, and atmosphere are worth the visit.
WhitneyKaye review for Esquire Tavern
WhitneyKaye on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/25/2011, 15:00 PM
LOVE IT! – I love this place! The decor is awesome it is a place you can go to relax and have great food by yourself or with friends! The potato tacos are excellent but are a little spicy so watch out... The Bloody Mary’s are very good also but everything is made from scratch so don’t get discouraged if it takes a little while… it’s worth the wait!! And the mimosas are delicious and refreshing! I'd recommend this place to everyone I meet!
sfearll review for Esquire Tavern
sfearll on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/02/2011, 06:22 AM
handcrafted cocktails – my husband and I discovered a great old bar on the Riverwalk while visiting San Antonio a couple of weeks ago. Come to find out, it has a long rich history. Our first visit, we sat at a table and enjoyed the bar food - deviled eggs, peanuts, and fried dill pickles (they make the pickles themselves)... delicious. Cocktails (Vieux Carre, and Aviation) came out in frosty cold glasses, perfect for a steamy spring afternoon. We went back later that night and stood at the long bar to talk at length with bartender Rob, who crafted some classic cocktails (Manhattan, Fitzgerald) using the all fresh fruit and mint, authentic ingredients, and vintage barware. The cost for two cocktails was only $13, which we thought was an excellent bargain. The next evening we visited for a third time, where Rob prepared more classic hand-shaken cocktails, each unique and delicious. We were surprised to find they had only reopened at the first of April, and doubly pleased to find them conveniently located right across the street from our hotel, the Drury Plaza (also an excellent bargain in a classic old building). This is not the place to find jug wine or long-neck beers... this is a place to end your work day or start your evening with a classic cocktail in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Highly recommend.
grzmnl review for Esquire Tavern
grzmnl on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/18/2011, 14:49 PM
it's ok – Over priced,always will run out of domestic beer,not a place where the little guy can sit with bankers and such.The prices I believe are meant to keep out the little guy and the riff raff besides that It was ok ,great staff nice chicks and an excellent job on the upgrades
OGBrad review for Esquire Tavern
OGBrad on Citysearch

11 years ago

04/06/2011, 12:09 PM
Best Manhattan Ever – I was in San Antonio for a conference the last two days, and got the Esquire as a recommendation from the hotel concierge. The bar had just re-opened the previous Friday, and there weren't any recent-opening snags in service. The staff was very friendly, capable and competent. And knowledgeable. Oh man, every drink was like a history lesson. The barmen(and women) are passionate about their craft. Exceptionally smooth mixes, with some exotic takes on old standbys that are pulled off flawlessly. This isn't a place to sidle up to the bar and ask for a bottle of beer.. This is a place for old school mixed drinks. The kind of place you can ask the bartender "what do you recommend?" and be absolutely blown away by your drink, with some context and education along the way. There's a passion and appreciation of the craft that's alive and well here. I haven't found a place quite like it in my travels. The atmosphere feels like time stopped in 1933. The old bar, the wallpaper, booths, lights, everything. It feels like a legit, old-school speakeasy. Everything about it feels like a throwback to a bygone era. Just cool, and fun, and perfect.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.