Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Emilia's Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.2
960 reviews
|Mexican|Brownsville, TX 78520 United States

605 W Elizabeth St, Brownsville, TX 78520 United States

(956) 504-9899

https://www.emiliasrestaurant.com/

Open now:6:00 am - 10:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(3) · Restaurants

16228 S US Highway 281

(956) 440-8167
4.7
(88) · Restaurants

855 W Elizabeth St

(956) 547-7771
4.6
(2450) · Mexican

502 W Pike Blvd

(956) 968-1777
4.4
(479) · Mexican

2207 S Closner Blvd

(956) 316-0844
4.4
(794) · Mexican

1740 Central Blvd

(956) 542-8838
4.4
(1793) · Mexican

502 S 77 Sunshine Strip

(956) 421-2000
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.2
960 reviews
5576
  
4173
  
395
  
231
  
163
  
22 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Yolkaperra review for Emilia's Restaurant
Yolkaperra on Trip Advisor

a year ago

06/07/2021, 07:15 AM
NEVER AGAIN!!! Their fideo is delicious and the food is very good WHEN YOU GET WHAT YOU ORDERED! Every time we order the parillada for 5 there is always a problem. The menu says PAPA HORNEADA(baked potato) , Every time I go they don't want to serve us the baked potatoes. They always want to serve you French fries. There is a big difference between a baked potato and French fries. On the few times we have gone they have tried pulling that on us SEVERAL TIMES. IT IS ON THE MENU! TAKE IT OFF THE MENU and there won't be that misunderstanding! Well this LAST visit, we decided to order the Parillada for 5 thinking this would not be a problem but IT WAS!!!! When we first got there is was obviously full so we chose to sit in the area that was less crowded on the other side of the restaurant where someone was celebrating a birthday because there were around 14 people. Then when we got there it took ME having to go look for the waitress to get some help. As the waitress was taking our order, those people left and another group of around 10 was about to sit there as they cleared out the table. When she gets there as she is handing me the menus she askes what we were planning on ordering. I hadn't even looked at the menu. REALLY?!!! Then she informs me there is a backlog because the place is so full. So we decide to go ahead and stay to have lunch. We were fine with that until we ended up waiting AN HOUR AND A HALF to be served. WE WERE BEING COMPLETELY NEGLECTED BACK THERE! The FULL table of around 10 got there before us and they got their food first. The food was good when we finally got it. However, I had to go find the waitress to find boxes to go. I had to do that TWICE. Then they never brought out the baked potatoes even though they are ON THE MENU. I had also ordered a flour tortilla to go. She informs me as I am paying that they don't have baked potato but they have FRENCH FRIES, rice, extra charro beans or anything else they can replace it with. Then the hostess tells me they stopped serving baked potatoes because of COVID. Oddly enough I went to another Emilia's and I got baked potatoes so THAT WAS BS! LIARS It was just one bad experience after another there. I am letting people know how bad the service is and how they bait and switch! The thing is until I brought it up she wasn't going to give me that with the food we ordered. She was hoping I would forget. Either way, it was an overall bad experience and I would like to warn people when they go there to ASK THE WAITRESS/WAITER IF ITEMS ARE ON THE MENU OR IF THEY HAVE BEEN DELETED. It is clear that the restaurant fails to let you know what has been removed. Make sure to ask because if that is why you are ordering that, it may not be there!
Respond to negative reviews
235kingl review for Emilia's Restaurant
235kingl on Trip Advisor

a year ago

05/03/2021, 09:25 AM
Great Local Mexican. Brisk business Great food Busy for lunch. Great local dive. Attentive staff. Good food. Best I've had in a while. Wonderful Mom and Pop.Just as I went to Two year ago. Covid Protocol.
570Jayvel review for Emilia's Restaurant
570Jayvel on Trip Advisor

a year ago

05/03/2021, 05:02 AM
Worst service ever! My wife and I ate here for lunch and the waitress took a very long time to take our order. They took even longer to bring the order. The worst thing was when they didn't even bring my plate! The waitress tried to say it was our fault that the order was not correct. I ended up sharing my wife's plate. No apology from the waitress. I tried to bring it up to the cashier and she cared even less.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021
Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices

Sending Review Requests: A Guide for Dental Offices
Sharon S review for Emilia's Restaurant
Sharon S on Trip Advisor

a year ago

04/19/2021, 18:44 PM
Food average, service below average My husband and a friend went to this restaurant last year and couldn't say enough good things about it, so we decided to give it a try. It was early afternoon, between lunch and dinner, so hardly anyone was there. The food was just so-so, and the service was bare minimum. We did leave a tip because we realize that servers depend on it as part of their income, but really, tips are supposed to be for good service! The entire time we were there, they never even refilled our water and only came back when we were done with our dinner to see if it was all right. Also, the table cleaning was just a rag that they reused (and the cleaner wiped his hands on that same rag). No santizing of tables or chairs. We will not be back.
porter_osborne review for Emilia's Restaurant
porter_osborne on Trip Advisor

a year ago

01/05/2021, 03:01 AM
Great experience my wife and I chose Emilia's based on reviews and were NOT disappointed. The restaurant is definitely local. The food is excellent and the menu is extensive. The service is friendly and efficient. The staff and clientele are primarily Spanish speaking. That was NO problem for us. My wife explained in her elementary Spanish that we spoke English an the waitress switched seamlessly. We were pleasantly surprised by the large portions of everything, from drinks to entrees. We were treated to a complimentary bowl of noodle soup while we waited for our food. My wife had one of the largest Chili Rellenos that i have seen. I has tacos al Pastor. That was Six tacos loaded with pork, queso fresco, avacado, and perhaps the best sweet onion I have ha outside home cooked Vidalia's, cooked IN south georgia. As if the enormous portions were insufficient to impress. We received complimentary small dessert portions of tres leches and flan. WOW. Now to be clear, this would be considered by most to be a "dive." But is is just the kind of place to visit, often. I recommend highly.
Aerowing review for Emilia's Restaurant
Aerowing on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

04/24/2020, 19:53 PM
Big Portions This is a no-frills Mexican restaurant. The interior is a bit bland but don’t let that fool you. The food is very good. The portions are huge. Service is good, there’s no complaints here. If you’re looking for some authentic Mexican food to try in Brownsville then I recommend coming here.
ID789 review for Emilia's Restaurant
ID789 on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

02/07/2020, 00:13 AM
Good Tex/Mex The food was excellent. The prices are very reasonable. A meal includes a soup, main course and dessert. Menus are in Spanish so bring a translator.
cindy137 review for Emilia's Restaurant
cindy137 on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

01/28/2020, 03:53 AM
Good Food This is not a fancy place, but the food is good, plentiful and reasonably priced. Speaking Spanish would be an asset, especially when you go during a busy time, like we did.
marjorie m review for Emilia's Restaurant
marjorie m on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

12/27/2019, 00:28 AM
Authentic local food - mexican I speak a small amount of Spanish but understand a lot at least to get me by. The menu is written in Mexican Spanish. The server had to speak spanish as well, she said she couldn't speak English. I told her it is ok, i would do my best to speak Spanish. I know the food so it wasn't tough for both of us. I had the ranchero and it was the best tasting mexican food I've ever had! Their flan is the best. I recommend this as a must stop when on the way to Padre island
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.