Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Dr. James B. Payton, MD

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.6
26 reviews
|Psychiatrists|Asheville, NC 28801

64 Merrimon Avenue, Asheville, NC 28801

(828) 255-9228

Not Specified

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(4) · Counseling & Mental Health

110 Williams St

(828) 692-7300

5 people are looking at this business

5.0
(60) · Psychiatrists

5B Doctors Park

(828) 232-1994
4.8
(65) · Healthcare

363 Graphite Rd

(828) 489-3198
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.6
26 reviews
516
  
40
  
30
  
21
  
18
  
1 review has no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Anonymous on Healthgrades

7 months ago

02/26/2021, 02:56 AM
On my first visit, I told him “Under no circumstances can you give me benzodiazepines”. Those were my exact words. After subsequent visits he insists that the class of drugs I’ve told him do not mix well in my system, is the one answer for me. I debated this passionately but considering the depths of depression I was experiencing and his level of insistence, I gave in deferring to his years of experience. Within a short period of time, I was given prescriptions totaling 1200 pills. That’s a minimum of 3 pills per day if spaced out over a year. I can’t recall at this moment exactly how long I was under his care but I’m certain it was less than a year. This is enough to begin to skew your judgement and develop an unwanted, unseen, physical addiction. Going through the detoxification process was extremely painful physically and emotionally and was one of the worst things I’ve ever experienced. I’m lucky to be alive.
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous on Healthgrades

a year ago

07/31/2020, 04:34 AM
Nice person, compassionate. I just have to go in and explain how I'm feeling and the doctor listens, he respects me as a person. He will write prescriptions and give me holistic options I can just get at a grocery store. I'm glad I found him. I feel like I've gotten my life back.
I trusted Doctor Payton for a long while, but my m on Healthgrades

a year ago

07/28/2020, 03:39 AM
I went to Doctor Payton for over two years and really liked him, but he kept giving me several prescriptions that lead me to feel even more depressed. I went to my primary physician she wanted to know what I was taking, and her words where he has got you on uppers and downers, like the Valley Of The Dolls. I am off of all but one med that helps me sleep, and are doing much better now.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)

How to Ask for a Review (with Templates)
Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?
Anonymous on Healthgrades

2 years ago

02/05/2020, 12:54 PM
I tried to see Dr. Payton as a new patient today but after waiting 25 m past my appointed time I just gave up and left. No other psychiatrist or therapist has ever kept me waiting more than 10 m. I now see from the other reviews that this is pretty typical for this doctor. If I had known that I might have been more prepared for it, also I would not have unnecessarily arrived 30 m before the appointment (as instructed) which brought the total wait to an hour. Overall I get the impression that this entire practice lacks professionalism.
Respond to negative reviews
Donna Culbertson on Healthgrades

2 years ago

07/25/2019, 07:14 AM
I left a statement about Dr. Payton and staff and intended on give them the highest ratings possible. So that's why I'm leaving the message. And Thank You Dr. Payton for helping my husband and giving a real chance at have a happy life. Your wonderful.??
Karyn Newsome on Healthgrades

5 years ago

01/17/2017, 16:09 PM
This is the most amazing wisest calmest most spiritual and witty man I have ever met outside of my own Father.He is warm, engaging, not just hears your but listens to you. He is encouraging, compassionate, uplifting and light-hearted. Call him and start your new life today!!!!!!!
Anonymous on Healthgrades

5 years ago

10/25/2016, 08:50 AM
Dr. Payton has gone above and beyond to provide me with the most effective care possible for my mental illness. I have been a patient of his since 1999. I have recommended him to other people in Asheville because I know that they would certainly receive the best care possible from him.
Anonymous on Wellness

8 years ago

06/07/2013, 16:31 PM
Did this provider show attention to detail? Absolutely! They are always very careful and meticulous Was this provider argumentative or easily angered? Not at all, they were one of the kindest, most attentive individuals I've ever met Did you feel like this provider's office was understaffed? Not at all, they had plenty of staff members to help me whenever I needed assistance Was this psychiatrist friendly? Yes Did this provider wear an obnoxious cologne? No, they didn't wear any cologne
Anonymous on Wellness

8 years ago

06/07/2013, 07:26 AM
Did this provider show attention to detail? Absolutely! They are always very careful and meticulous Was this provider argumentative or easily angered? Not at all, they were one of the kindest, most attentive individuals I've ever met Did you feel like this provider's office was understaffed? Not at all, they had plenty of staff members to help me whenever I needed assistance Was this psychiatrist friendly? Yes Did this provider wear an obnoxious cologne? No, they didn't wear any cologne
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.