Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Diego's Mexican Grill

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
16 reviews
|Seafood|New York, NY 10019 United States

714 Ninth Ave, New York, NY 10019 United States

(212) 586-0821

http://www.tacocina.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Seafood

377 Guy Lombardo Ave

(516) 377-0578
5.0
(7) · Mexican

108 Smith St

(732) 324-8488
5.0
(9) · Restaurants

954 2nd Ave

(212) 750-2020
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

308 State St

(732) 376-0300
5.0
(1) · Mexican

768 Amsterdam Ave

(212) 749-2929
4.9
(161) · Seafood

1221 6th Avenue

(212) 575-5129
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

NR
16 reviews
50
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
16 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
halp93 review for Diego's Mexican Grill
halp93 on Citysearch

12 years ago

06/27/2010, 04:37 AM
Great Mexican take out – Great burritos, tacos, etc. Fresh and fast service. Good overall menu.
CSMobileUser2 review for Diego's Mexican Grill
CSMobileUser2 on Citysearch

13 years ago

05/11/2010, 05:43 AM
Great food best service – I came to tacocina because a friend recomended the margaritas on the rocks...they were amazing. And when we tried the food (red snapper in avocado sauce) that the manager suggested we decided it was by far our favorite place in hells kitchen...ill be back for more.
guess328 review for Diego's Mexican Grill
guess328 on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/07/2009, 03:26 AM
Excellent Food & Margaritas – I recently stumbled into this place with some friends and we were very impressed. The Margarita's were AMAZING and reasonably priced. Also, the food was very good, too. We all loved our dishes. The chips & salsa are a plus!! No complaints about this place - will be back soon.
Featured content
Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
messicano review for Diego's Mexican Grill
messicano on Citysearch

14 years ago

10/15/2008, 07:07 AM
good service, good food...good good – i went to tacocina after having a busy day at work....yes i am mexican and i know about mexican food...there are some tex-mex (nothing against those) dishes but there are other dishes directly from my dear mexico like the ceviche, fish in avocado sauce, or delicious fish tacos ( can you tell i like seafood?)and they have amazing calamari for my surprise cause its not a typical mexican or tex-mex dish....the service was good and very friendly, and the margaritas were superb...i dont like frozen that much so i decided to pay a little more and went directly to the good old on the rocks salt on the rim please !!!! all in all; i recomend this place and will be back becouse its a fun and tasty place to be.
Waltjoy212 review for Diego's Mexican Grill
Waltjoy212 on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/16/2008, 05:37 AM
Hot Hell's Kitchen Destination – Really fine food and service at a true value. Not a normal Tex/Mex Menu. Unbelieveable frozen Margaritas at a buy one get onr free offer on most nights. I have eaten there several times and have always been treated well. Service is prompt and friendly. I just love the cerviche salad that they serve in a baked taco shell with large shrimp/scallops/calamari and more. Its listed as an appitizer, but I have it as an entree with a couple of frozen lime Margaritas and house made taco chips with salsa. Have also had the Steak Fresca and the Seafood Burrito. All Good. Usually too full for dessert, but did have the yellow cake (my words) with a whipped creme cap on top that was moist and perfect. The place is usually buzzing with action with office people/locals/theater goers. Its not as quiet as I prefer, but being popular has its price.
MayBNice review for Diego's Mexican Grill
MayBNice on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/13/2008, 02:28 AM
Walk on....Walk on... – I must say it is the WORST Mexican in NYC !!!! First of all; 2X1 Frozen Margaritas were ok but the waiter took ages to get them so they were not so frozen?. The waiter was kind enough to recommend dishes but unfortunately ALL our side orders (Rice & beans) arrived cold & stale ? really! When we asked to change them it took so long that we all finished our main courses by than ??? We ordered Dissert ? which was basically an insult ? what can go wrong with a chocolate cake & flan? Well, its bad if its hard as a rock! We tried to complain but the manager was no where to be found so I called the next morning from work (just to talk to the manager for they?re own good) but all I got is an obtuse woman who seemed impatient and uninterested?. Anyway it seems that the Owner has few Mexican spots and as I understand (From the neighbors )? this spot is the worst? terrible- terrible service! Anyway keep walking and check out the other GOOD MEXICAN RESTURANTS on 9th av. : El Centro, Chipotle & Cancun on 8th Enjoy???..
jfisher76 review for Diego's Mexican Grill
jfisher76 on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/15/2008, 02:25 AM
But with all the raving going on, one would wonder whether Tacocina has its faults. Don?t worry pessimistic ones, it does. . . beststreetbrooklyn.blogspot
crackerc review for Diego's Mexican Grill
crackerc on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/09/2008, 06:19 AM
decent food, bad service, small portions and expensive – Good location on 9th ave mixed in with several restaurants and even above average food...just way overpriced for what you get and i literally went home and made dinner as i was hungry. We went on a hot summer day and the A/C was uncomfortably cold, probably below 70 degrees, which we found tough to deal with in shorts. They need curtains or wall coverings or something to dampen the sound as the place was 33% full and very loud. To say service was average is being nice. the runner/busser was good but our server and the bartender were non-attentive and far more interested in TV and chatting with co-workers than serving. For sure i will not be back, way too many authentic places to go to or, for the prices of this joint i will go to Rosa Mexicana - which is fabulous.
aglreg review for Diego's Mexican Grill
aglreg on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/05/2008, 02:59 AM
good food, bad service – This place is conveniently located, great atmosphere, looks and smells like great Mexican. The food is quite good and tasty, but the portions are small. Happy hours on thurs, fri, and sat are $5 drinks. The peach and raspberry margaritas were good--not too strong and not too sweet. But the service...that left quite a bit to be desired. Our waiter, although very outgoing, was very pushy, pressuring us to order drinks. Then, he takes our order and does not write it down. Of course, he had to come back twice to clarify it (and we were only two people ordering two entrees). And I had ordered no sour cream on my dish and a side of guacamole. So before the entrees come out, a big mortar comes out with a very scant light coating of guacamole with the seed still in it (not sure if this was on purpose???) with no extra chips or anything. So we wait for the entrees to come out 10 minutes later, and there was of course sour cream on my dish and my friend's tacos were steak instead of chicken. But we ate it without complaining. And when the bill comes, the waiter charged us $9.50 instead of $4 for the guacamole, stating that we ordered the appetizer. When I asked him about it, he immediately began to say very loudly "You ordered that to start. You know that, right? You know that, right?" When I indicated that I was not in agreement, he continued to argue just repeating "you know that, right?" So finally, I said sarcastically "Yeah, right." And then he was very content, smiled, and said "Great." I filled out a comment card and told the owner, and he did absolutely nothing. This is not a place ever returning for. Food is good, but not worth what just happened. I mean, $5.50 is pretty miniscule but being yelled at repeatedly is priceless.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.