Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Captain Tony's Saloon

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.5
700 reviews
|Bars|Key West, FL 33040

428 Greene St, Key West, FL 33040

(305) 294-1838

https://capttonyestore.com/shop/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.6
(18) · Gay Bars

900 Simonton St

(305) 294-2655

1 person is looking at this business

4.6
(2701) · Bars

601 Whitehead St

(305) 294-6133
4.6
(1018) · Restaurants

3841 N Roosevelt Blvd

(305) 296-8100

2 people are looking at this business

4.6
(338) · Restaurants

617 Front St

(305) 295-0207

1 person is looking at this business

4.5
(261) · Restaurants

3340 N Roosevelt Blvd

(305) 296-4343

2 people are looking at this business

4.5
(461) · Bars

512 Greene St

(305) 517-6610
About

Once a morgue and later an ice-house, this lively spot is one of the city's most popular bars and is said to have been the original Sloppy Joe's, entertaining author Ernest Hemingway. Jimmy Buffet sang here for a while in the beginning of his career and now live bands play nightly, who knows, perhaps you will hear the next Buffet. Stop by for a drink, or just to take a look at the "Hanging Tree," located inside the bar.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.5
700 reviews
5474
  
4139
  
359
  
29
  
110
  
9 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
john w. on Citysearch

10 years ago

01/12/2012, 06:42 AM
fish throw – throw a quarter in the air and try to land in the fish mouth is a fun drinking game and they have their own beer you can only get there it’s the first bar ever in Florida petty cool if in the keys check it ok am not saying it’s the best bar in the world but captain tony is a place you at least go to once and drink a beer
nauticalman on Citysearch

13 years ago

02/23/2009, 05:12 AM
Disappointed – As a local yacht Captain, I was drawn to Captain Tony's Saloon from a historical perspective. I TRIED to be a regular there. Even after several months, the bar tenders kept asking me "So, where are you from?". The drink portions are smaller and are extremely watered down compared to many other locations in Key West. The staff pretty much had this careless attitude about who you are, or if you have been waiting 10 minutes for a refill. The 'regulars' there are actually quite rude and stand-offish towards any attempts at being social, which led me to realize that this was one of those arrogant clicks that just aren't welcoming to outsiders. Eventually, I gave up visiting this place. The ONLY thing that kept me coming back was Captain Tony himself. His smile and wonderful stories was always a pleasure that was well needed after a hard day's work in the sun. Since his passing, I have found no reason to ever return. So sad, for such a historical location to have to give such a terrible rating. I really wanted to make this place my 'getaway' from work.
Debi R. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

03/04/2008, 05:45 AM
Captain Tonys Saloon Owned by an incredible man with an amazing history! He still visits quite often too. Cozy and comfortable atmosphere, entertaining one man bands every day and great drinks. The music, the staff, the laid back Key West feeling is indescribable! In the heart of Key West and a Must Visit place when you are there.
Featured content
Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained

Net Promoter Score Explained
Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?

Livechat vs chatbot: which one is right for your business?
anntts on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/09/2008, 03:03 AM
Capt. Tony's is a Key West Icon and not to be missed. – I've been a regular at Capt. Tony's for at least the past 9 years at the annual Fantasy Fest celebration and Capt. Tony's was chosen by the "Krewe" I belong to for our nightly hosting and get-togethers. This is due to the friendly, helpful and fun people working there plus it's nice to see Capt. Tony sitting in his chair near the door of the gift shop welcoming people. I always get my chest signed by the Capt. when I get bodypainted in Key West for Fantasy Fest and there may be a piece of two of my clothing (along with one of my special business cards) on the ceiling where you will find everything from license plates to dollar bills and from bras to business cards. Also, Capt. Tony was generous enough to offer the Saloon for one of the nightly themes at Fantasy Fest which occurs on Tuesday nights and it is called "Plaid Night" (where everyone wears as much, or as little, plaid costumes as possible). Nice offering. Capt. Tony's has a variety of drinks and all of them are reasonably priced and you can get a souvenir plastic cup if you wish also. The bartenders always seem to have a smile and be sure to check out the name of the famous person on the bar stool seat. There are bands or solo artists at various times and a dance floor for those that can't sit still. There is an area devoted to billards and both benches and table/chairs to enjoy the music or people watch whether there is an event in town or not. A small gift shop area provides some additional souvenirs. One "tradition" at Capt. Tony's--at least during Fantasy Fest--is standing outside the bar facing the street and under the large grouper fish above the bar's sign on the front wall. From there, you try to toss a set of beads over your head (without looking) and see if you can "hook" the fish. I've never been so lucky, All in all, Capt. Tony's is my favorite spot in Key West, Fantasy Fest or not, and I, The TravelSlut?, highly recommend it. TTS
tolksdos1 on Citysearch

16 years ago

07/15/2005, 07:07 AM
A true piece of Key West – Where do you start? This place has so much to look at, an incredible history and Captain Tony is still around! Great rumrunners and great people. Entertainment is wonderful too. Don't forget to try to pitch your coins into the mouth of fish on your way out!...Have to stand backwards though.
whitfield00 on Citysearch

16 years ago

03/24/2005, 05:31 AM
User review by whitfield00 – This place is one of a kind! I was down there in Aug of 2004 and meet Capt. Tony on his 80th birthday party! That man is a legend on KW! I think by far Capt Tony's is the funnest bar on the islands!
sougapeach on Citysearch

17 years ago

06/23/2004, 05:47 AM
Best Rumrunner in the world! – This place is one of my very favorite! Just the thought of those awesome Rumrunners have helped me get through 190 days of teaching 1st grade! I can't wait to get back there... It is heaven on Earth!
tyggergirl on Citysearch

18 years ago

01/15/2004, 01:38 AM
tons to see – This place is great. Conversations can get a kick start just by looking around. Tons of stuff on the walls and even more interesting sights hanging over the bar. There's a grave stone in the middle of the place though so you've been warned.
rwnato on Citysearch

19 years ago

12/22/2002, 00:32 AM
Only the best – Captain Tony's is the real deal, drinks and entertainmet. Check out Taz she is one talented lady. People watch, drink and be entertained. No doubt why Buffett imortalized this place in a song!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.