Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Barn Door Inc

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
1379 reviews
|Steakhouses|San Antonio, TX 78209

8400 N New Braunfels Ave, San Antonio, TX 78209

(210) 824-0116

http://www.thebarndoorrestaurant.com/home

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.9
(3940) · Restaurants

1401 North Loop 1604 W

(210) 764-1604
4.8
(11332) · Brazilian

18318 Sonterra Pl

(210) 564-9400
4.7
(201) · Steakhouses

1836 S Hackberry

(210) 532-4235

2 people are looking at this business

4.6
(908) · Steakhouses

5815 Rim Pass

(210) 222-2627

2 people are looking at this business

4.6
(283) · Steakhouses

23808 Resort Pkwy

(210) 491-5825
4.6
(263) · Restaurants

7720 Jones Maltsberger - Concord Plaza

(210) 821-5051

1 person is looking at this business

About

Specialties At The Barn Door, top quality is a tradition. It's a tradition that we have upheld for the last 62 years. The Barn Door is proud to say that we have been serving up home-cooked meals with perfect southern hospitality for San Antonio and visitors for the past 62 years. Known for perfectly grilled steaks, delicious seafood and mouth watering deserts, the Barn Door also offers up delicious appetizers, salads, chicken and various sides. Guests are treated to a grand dining experience, with all the hospitality for which San Antonio is noted. History Established in 1953. Dubbed by food critics and long-time customers as a San Antonio classic, the Barn Door has been serving up home-cook

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

Birdeye Score

The Birdeye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the Birdeye Score® is calculated
4.4
1,379 reviews
5901
  
4245
  
3115
  
246
  
148
  
24 reviews have no rating
  • 1349 Reviews4.4Google
  • 6 Reviews4.7Yellow Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Skip H. on Yellow Pages

4 years ago

02/14/2017, 08:09 AM
Our Experience was very nice--the staff was casual and although we were introduced to the Barn Door as primarily a Steak restaurant--their SEAFOOD is fantastic!!!
thepanda on Yellow Pages

8 years ago

12/20/2012, 07:39 AM
Peggy Henry on Citysearch

9 years ago

09/12/2011, 04:36 AM
The Barn Door – PREVIOUSLY EXCELLENT - WHAT HAPPENED? Poor management evident - service haphazard - waitstaff rushed and disorganized.Potatoes served five minutes before entrees, therefore cold when steaks were ready. One order of steak not cooked as requested, had to return twice, and by that time everyone else had finished dinner. My vegetables showed up after dinner, without apology. It was a family birthday dinner and I was disappointed. It is an experience which I will never repeat, nor will I recommend this place to others.
Featured content
Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins
Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and Birdeye Are Against Review Gating
Crisanta on Citysearch

9 years ago

08/24/2011, 04:46 AM
Excellent place. – We were lucky to find this place, the atmosphere was nice and relax, the service efficient and friendly, and the food....just great. First they welcomed us with hot rolls and sweet butter. I ordered the lady sirlon, it was cooked perfectly, i had green godess dressing with my salad, it was so good, not from a jar, i whish i had their recipe. And the deserts...mmm, i had coconut cake, very fresh, i bake coconut cake myself and this one was much better, my daughter had coconut cream pie, just delicious.
Susie E on Citysearch

9 years ago

05/26/2011, 04:05 AM
Bar Hype on the website but no service – Truthfully, I love the overpriced food which is why we continue to TRY to eat here. Yesterday, I specifically asked the host if it was preferable we sat at a table because last time it seemed a little inconvenient for the bartender to serve food at the bar. I was assured it would be no problem. 20 minutes later, parched and craving a pre-birthday, blue-ribbon filet no one even acknowledged us. By no one, I mean the two, Justin Beiber wanna' be bartenders that casually discussed furniture with each other right in front of us. We must have had our cloaking devices on. I would love, love, to give gift cards to this restaurant and actually eat here....it's a block away from home! The food is excellent and so close...yet so far away. I highly recommend removing the "newly remodeled, yet classic" bar enticement from the website. The Barn Door should advertise free appetizers instead of 1/2 price during happy hour...no one takes your order anyway.
Admin10 on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/28/2010, 10:47 AM
Barn Door Restaurant - An Impartial Review – I had read the recent negative reviews of The Barn Door, but wife and I are just sick of those gimmicky chain "steak" restaurants that line the highways with their flashing neon signs down here, so we tonight we took a chance on The Barn Doort; but we went with our eyes wide open. First, I would say you should take the really negative reviews of The Barn Door with a grain of salt. Anyone can have a bad dining experience anytime, anywhere, so let's assume that's what happened in the case of those negative reviews. Tonight we went to The Barn Door at about 8 p.m., but it turned out to be Prom Night. It was so packed around the cash register with girls in prom gowns and boys in tuxes that I couldn't find where to go to put my name down on the list to get a table. Fortunately, a member of the wait staff saw me wandering around like a lost sheep; she spontaneously took me in tow and got us a table after a wait of about 5-10 minutes. Looking lost didn't hurt any, because It seems I had also inadvertently "bucked the line" of folks waiting on their tables. The dining room is quite large, and even after 8 p.m. it was still very crowded, but with it's checkered (plastic) tablecloths it still looks quite homey. And thank God there was none of that irritating, cowboy-country or rock music that you find blaring in the "chain" restaurants. This restaurant is about real food for real people, and the only music, as far as I remember, was the conversation of the diners themselves. The clientele here struck me as sort of middle aged and family-oriented, with lots of tables taken up by whole extended families: grandma and grandpa. adult children and grandchildren. That's something you don't see in the chain places out on the Interstate. Being prom night, the wait staff was probably pretty frazzled, but our waiter did a good job serving his tables, though we did have to ask him for drink refills when we could catch him speeding by. Ideally he would have asked us, but he was very, very busy. There just wasn't the ability to be all that attentive to each table on Prom Night. My wife and I both ordered steaks, she the "Lady Fillet", I the "Medium Fillet". They both arrived cooked as ordered and were just fine. I can honestly say that while they weren't absolutely the very best steaks we've ever had in our lives, they were by far the tastiest steaks we've had in our 6 years in San Antonio. My wife ordered plain mashed potatoes with her meal, but she didn't eat much of them; tasted like "instant", she said. I had the usual side, a garden salad. It was OK, but the blue cheese dressing had almost no flavor. I also had a baked potato with my steak, and it was OK. But hey, it's a potato. In any event, unlike in the chain restaurants, it didn't come encrusted in unwanted salt, either. The skin of the potato is my favorite part, but I hate it if it comes smothered in those horrible, gimmicky, salt crystals. Too, as far as I could tell, the butter accompanying it was genuine butter. That's a rarity in these days of restaurants' trying to pawn off butter-like substances for the real thing. My wife finished off her meal with a chocolate mousse for desert. It was too much for her, so I helped her finish it. So, the meal was satisfactory over all - especially the real steaks - and I wish I had come here years ago and skipped all those touristy, highway chain restaurants. Dinner for two cost us $48. Not exactly cheap, but worth it, I think. Keep your expectations at a reasonable level, and you'll probably find The Barn Door a good place to have a meal. Bon appetit.
HotFord on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/12/2010, 03:09 AM
Terrible Food, Overpriced, Bad Service – My wife and I have frequented the Barn Door for many years. The last three times we have been there it has progressively gone downhill. Our most recent experience includes ordering $27 steaks that were not even similar to those in the showcase, in fact mine was about half the thickness and size, much of it was inedible due to grissle, our salads were half portion, no bread - although it was left sitting on another table and never served, an offer was made to make our potatoes and then she left off most of the toppings and things were cleared off immediately upon usage so no ability to add or alter anything. We were rushed and the server checked back only once when we were about to leave. The total cost of the bill was greater than $60 and this has to be one of the worst meals I have ever had anywhere. This facility has severe problems and there doesn't appear to be a way to let them know other than a negative review. Hope they can fix their product and service.
agarza on Yellow Pages

12 years ago

04/16/2009, 15:43 PM
The staff was super attentive. The food was all good.
bigedt on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/11/2009, 14:16 PM
Barn Door No More!!! – First let me start by saying my Grandparents owned a restaurant for years, 90% of my customers are restaurants, and I have never had a restaurant tell me a party of 30 had to order from a 3 item menu, and the steaks had to all be prepared medium! After some argument it was conceded that we could have the steaks our way. Then, the night of the reservation we were treated poorly. One of our party did not get his plate till almost everybody else was finished, the waiter drops the plate in front of him and says "We are out of baked potatoes so we gave you twice baked", turns around and walks away; no "Is this acceptable?", "Would you prefer something else?", "I apologize for the delay". To top it all off, a 20% gratuity was added, not 15% ( we are good tippers, they blew it ), and we were double charged for the deposit that was payed when the reservation was made. When the deposit was brought to the attention of the staff we were told there was nothing they could do about it, we would have to come back tomorrow! Also, the bar tab was separate, and we had to go get our own drinks! This is the place I proposed to my wife, I have eaten there for years, but I will never step foot in the door again if this is how I can expect to be treated.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.