Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Axel’s River Grille

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
21 reviews
|Restaurants|Mendota Heights, MN 55150 United States

1318 Sibley Memorial Hwy, Mendota Heights, MN 55150 United States

(651) 686-4840

https://axelsrestaurants.com/

Open now:11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(3) · Coffee & Tea

7015 Amundson Ave

(952) 217-4591
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

37 W 1st St

(952) 442-3949
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

315 Lake St E

(952) 473-6330
5.0
(7) · Restaurants

526 Selby Ave

(651) 340-4617
5.0
(26) · Restaurants

2309 Snelling Ave

(612) 729-9310
5.0
(46) · Restaurants

10401 93rd Ave N

(763) 465-3674
About

Axel's River Grille is a casual fine dining establishment offering grilled steaks, chops, & seafood. As well as pastas, salads, and fresh in house made soups and desserts! Axel's offer THE best Walleye in town. This is the place where people come by choice, not chance. Axel's also offers a large selection of fine wines, including a reserve list. Also offering a scotch and whiskey selection like no other. Come out and indulge in a drink list that features the most unique and flavorful libations around. Axel's feature a made to order brunch every Sunday from 10:00am - 2:00pm featuring $.99 glasses of champagne and mimosas. And every Sunday starting at 4:00 pm treat yourself to 1/2 price bottle

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
21 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
20 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
jsm555 review for Axel’s River Grille
jsm555 on Citysearch

17 years ago

01/19/2006, 00:08 AM
Excellent food, inconsistent service – When I was spending a lot of time in the Eagan MN area in 2001, I had a lot of trouble finding really good food. Someone put me onto Axel's - the place isn't easy to find for an out-of-towner, but well worth the trip. I'd never eaten walleye pike, and this place is famous for the stuff - excellent! The only problem I had was that the service is very inconsistent - at times very good and at times terrible. Nice atmosphere, though, very cozy on a cold Minnesota night!
joanlarson review for Axel’s River Grille
joanlarson on Citysearch

17 years ago

08/11/2005, 09:18 AM
Wonderful! – I have been here 3 times. I will go again and again. The 'Bull Bites' are 'to die for'. So are the Matini's I love the atmosphere. The service is excellent. It is spendy, but you get a wonderfull experience. I will go again and again.
wisconsin22 review for Axel’s River Grille
wisconsin22 on Citysearch

18 years ago

02/11/2005, 07:25 AM
Young bartender could use improved etiquette. – Took my girlfriend on a "Valentine's Date", my first visit ever to Axel's. We made reservations, got there plenty early for a "before dinner drink". Bartender wanted to see my ID, I'm 32, girlfriend 39, but he only asked for mine and looked at my girlfriend, said he "didn't need to see hers". Quite offensive. When seated for our tables, barkeep grabbed at the change back from the $20 bill and said 'thanks'. I had to ask him for it back. Again, quite offensive. Thankfully, our dining experience was just the opposite. Great food, great service.
Featured content
Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.

Reviews not showing up on Google? Here's what you can do.
5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers
dincor review for Axel’s River Grille
dincor on Citysearch

18 years ago

01/08/2005, 02:11 AM
Brunch – Don't judge this book by the cover, although Axel's looks like just another restaurant on the outside it is really a treasure. I met some girlfriends for brunch and was impressed! The brunch menu was full of delicious choices. The food was awesome. The prices were right on. The mimosas were a steal. The server was prompt, friendly and catered to our every need. We were dressed business casual, but it was certainly a place fitting for "Sunday dress" as well. I definately would do the 3 course choice for the value, but save room for dessert. I had Death by Chocolate and it was awesome!
arizona_gryl review for Axel’s River Grille
arizona_gryl on Citysearch

19 years ago

09/07/2003, 09:13 AM
No River View but Still Pleasant – We were a little disillusioned. We thought we read that there was a view from the patio. There is no view other than the mural and the parking lot, but the patio was still quite pleasant. Yes, the menu was heavy on the red meat, but everything we tried was good. And we enjoyed many martinis from the extensive martini list. The staff was friendly and accommodating.
fritzandrita review for Axel’s River Grille
fritzandrita on Citysearch

19 years ago

07/31/2003, 04:02 AM
wonderful dinner – The ribs, salmon and walleye were all fantastic and generous. On Friday we got clam chowder that was absolutely excellent. The salmon portion was so huge it barely fit the platter and it was grilled to perfection - moist and delicious. Our bragging about their portions has interested several people. Very comfortable. They also have a walleye sandwich for lunch that is great.
Proofwell review for Axel’s River Grille
Proofwell on Citysearch

20 years ago

03/21/2003, 00:20 AM
Delicious and Filling – This place gives you the feeling that you're eating somewhere that's historically significant, even though the Axel's name is relatively new. Formal and clubby at first glance, it seem less intimidating once your waitress writes her name on your table top! My friend ordered a steak that was big enough to feed her for three days; I had a tasty walleye and sirloin combination, and though I'm not a fish fan, I would order the walleye again! Might be hard to find this place if you're not familiar with the area, but it's very much worth the effort.
jmgehlen review for Axel’s River Grille
jmgehlen on Citysearch

20 years ago

11/27/2002, 08:19 AM
Superb – I love Axel's. There is a nice bar area and then there is another room off to the side for bigger parties. They have the best soup. Like on Tuesdays they have Cajun CHicken Soup and it should be sold in the grocery store it is so good!
scar_ly review for Axel’s River Grille
scar_ly on Citysearch

20 years ago

09/26/2002, 07:33 AM
If you leave here hungry-it's your fault – I love this restaurant because it offers a variety of mouthwatering meals (such as fish, seafood, steaks, chicken, sandwiches and more), which are moderately priced. The atmosphere is kind of dark and woodsy but warm and welcoming-romantic. The portions are very generous for the price. You get what you pay for!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.