Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Axel’s River Grille

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
21 reviews
|Restaurants|Mendota Heights, MN 55150

1318 Sibley Memorial Hwy, Mendota Heights, MN 55150

(651) 686-4840

https://axelsrestaurants.com/

Open now:11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

37 W 1st St

(952) 442-3949

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Coffee & Tea

7015 Amundson Ave

(952) 217-4591

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Restaurants

421 Main St S

(651) 653-5928
5.0
(7) · Restaurants

526 Selby Ave

(651) 340-4617

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Restaurants

315 Lake St E

(952) 473-6330
5.0
(26) · Restaurants

2309 Snelling Ave

(612) 729-9310
About

Axel's River Grille is a casual fine dining establishment offering grilled steaks, chops, & seafood. As well as pastas, salads, and fresh in house made soups and desserts! Axel's offer THE best Walleye in town. This is the place where people come by choice, not chance. Axel's also offers a large selection of fine wines, including a reserve list. Also offering a scotch and whiskey selection like no other. Come out and indulge in a drink list that features the most unique and flavorful libations around. Axel's feature a made to order brunch every Sunday from 10:00am - 2:00pm featuring $.99 glasses of champagne and mimosas. And every Sunday starting at 4:00 pm treat yourself to 1/2 price bottle

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
21 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
20 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Jackie Heinicke on Facebook

9 years ago

11/05/2012, 04:36 AM
CSMobileUser on Citysearch

12 years ago

05/05/2009, 06:58 AM
1ofthe BEST Restaurant's, I've Ever Eaten at!!!! – Homemade Dressings,Cheer's Atmosphere,Great Service!!!!
rcanale on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/20/2009, 07:48 AM
best service ever – The waitress allowed us to split a lunch portion without extra charge, and also to split a drink 4 ways! And it was the best banana rum dacquiri ever. The food was awesome too, and we loved those popovers, served warm and fresh with cinnamon butter. We were thoroughly impressed with everything. Bathrooms are very impressive also.
Featured content
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea

Why Copying and Pasting your Good Reviews is a Bad Idea
MaggieRu on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/30/2008, 05:52 AM
Gone downhill – My fiance and I went to Axels on our first date in the summer of 2006. We've recommended the restaurant to many friends and family and have taken all of our out of town guests there for dinner. After some friends commented that they weren't too impressed with our recommendation, we have gone back a couple of times and now agree that the restaurant has absolutely lost its high rating in our minds. First of all, we were seated immediately in a booth on a Friday night at 8:00. Not a good sign. My caesar salad was almost flavorless and rather limp. My pasta primavera had about 1/2 a cup of water sitting in the bottom of the bowl. We're sure we could have done better at home. The mo taters that my fiance had looked like they'd been squeezed out of a tube and were hard and old looking. His steak left much to be desired and a better one could certainly be had at any number of local steakhouses. Even my usual cosmopolitan tasted different and wasn't even pink! We'd heard that Axels was under new management and we can certainly tell. What a tremendous disappointment.
designgirl318 on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/26/2008, 08:25 AM
Absolutely Delicious! – My boyfriend and I have been to Axel's River Grille twice now and both times we have left very satisfied and happy with the experience. We were seated right away both times even though we didn't have reservations and our servers were with us right away with waters and to take our beverage order. Their pop-up bread is excellent and goes perfectly with their brown sugar butter. I got a caesar salad (included with entree) both times and it was excellent. The meals we've chosen (Maria's Chicken, Saltambocca chicken, Spicy chicken penne and the Bone-in Ribeye) have all been delicious. Their Mo'Taters are probably the best mashed potatoes I've ever had and their green beans that come with the meal are perfectly cooked and seasoned. The prices are very reasonable for the quality of service and atmosphere and you get a lot of food for your money. I had to box the leftovers both times I've been there. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone who wants a romantic, affordable date restaurant or is just looking for something new. It is NOT like other Axel's in the Twin Cities--much more classy than the others.
ammbrr on Citysearch

13 years ago

04/17/2008, 06:42 AM
Amazing food and superb service – I went to Axel's on my birthday last year and had the most wonderful experience. Food was to die for - expecially the crab cakes!
joleee on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/06/2007, 03:48 AM
Friendly service! – We were at Axel's Sunday at noon with a party of 9. The experience was a pleasure from beginning to end. The hostess (manager?) couldn't have been more delightful. And our waitress was so friendly without being obtrusive. We felt like we were honored guests in someone's home. Such a delightful change from restaurants where you feel like you're intruding on someone's time to get them to wait on you. The food was delicious, although the Sunday noon (brunch) menu does feature a lot of eggs and a lot of hollandaise sauce, which the cooks were happy to leave off for most of the members of our party. I'm looking forward to returning on a week night to sample their regular menu.
pozzotti on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/22/2007, 04:58 AM
Axel's in Mendota: Talk about rude!!! – Just back from Axel's in Mendota, where my wife and I went to celebrate her birthday. We had a gift certificate that my wife had given me a couple of months ago. Our waitress told us that Axel's would not honor the gift certificate. I spoke to the restaurant manager (not Leslie, the actual [and very friendly] restaurant manager); rather, I spoke to a dark haired young woman in her 20s who called herself the manager and who quickly asked us to leave the restaurant. Now, we've been going to Axel's since it opened, and prior to that time I often went to the Parker House, which used to occupy the same space. I am a regular at Axel's, and surely have spent thousands of dollars there. I tried to get support from Doc, a long time maitre d' at the restaurant, but the young manager dismissed him by saying the he (maybe 30 years her senior) was merely one of her employees . . . . I'm one of those St. Paul regulars: I've gone to The Lex regularly for 30+ years. I've gone to Axel's regularly since it opened. But I have NEVER experienced the kind of brusque, rude, arrogant treatment that I found at Axel's tonight. Now, my wife is angry with me (for reasons I don't fathom). I would be embarassed to return to the restaurant. And it wasn't as though I had too much to drink: my one drink, because of the awkward (but aesthetically appealing) glasses that Axel's uses, I managed to spill on the table top. Would I recommend Axel's as a place to go to celebrate a big occasion? Well, uh, only if your luck is a great deal better than mine!!! What an unbelievable experience tonight was. I hope that, someday, we'll be able to laugh about it, but I am NOT optimistic.
Contributor on Citysearch

15 years ago

06/07/2006, 02:01 AM
This elegant, small-town eatery serves up hearty, big-appetite fare. – In Short The tiny river hamlet of Mendota seems an unlikely spot for such an upscale restaurant, but Axel's proves you don't have to be in a bustling urban center to attract customers. The atmosphere is comfortably elegant--deep ocher walls, enormous dark wood beams, sumptuous black leather booths. Red meat rules here. The house specialty is herb-crusted prime rib. Alternatives to beef include creamy fettuccine alfredo or Nick's spinach salad, featuring tangy Gorgonzola, olives and bacon dressing.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.