Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

A Casa Fox

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
30 reviews
|Other|New York, NY 10002

173 Orchard St, New York, NY 10002

(212) 253-1900

https://www.acasafox.com/

Open now:4:30 pm - 10:00 pm
Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(1) · Other

3 Ricki Ln

(845) 469-6000
5.0
(1) · Other

105-25 65 ave suite P3

(718) 490-8759

8 people are looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Other

260 39th St

(718) 499-6793

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Other

480 New Rochelle Rd

(914) 663-8342
5.0
(1) · Other

15 Alexander Pl

(914) 384-7110

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Other
About

a casa fox specializes in authentic Latin American cuisine served in a rustic setting with a crackling fire place in Manhattan's trendy Lower East Side. Dishes range from tapas-style starters - empanadas and beef chimichurri skewers - as well as larger main dishes like braised short ribs with rice, beans and fried plantain chips. A casa fox has 8 years experience catering events of all sizes. The restaurant space can also be booked for private dinners or cocktail parties.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
30 reviews
53
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
27 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
bdawgs review for A Casa Fox
bdawgs on Citysearch

13 years ago

02/23/2009, 10:53 AM
highly recomended...pls visit soon...great place in the neighborhood...i cant spell..cheap food good prices
JoshDuke review for A Casa Fox
JoshDuke on Citysearch

13 years ago

01/31/2009, 05:29 AM
Disappointing experience – We decide to eat here after reading about this in my Food and Wine magazine, what a disappointment. Though very small the atmoshere was pleasant and the menu had promise. We started with the small bites that were $8 a plate and for 4 people we were lucky that we each got a bite. We each ordered a entree which was a bigger disappointment. Two from our party ordered the shrimp entree which was suppose to be shrimp wrapped in bacon, but was actually shrimp wrapped in raw bacon fat. I ordered the slow cooked ribs which there were about 5 ribs and 2 were mostly fat and bone and the whole entree was floating in the grease from the ribs. The fourth person in our party ordered the ground beef entree which was so flavorless that I shouldn't even mention it. All entrees came with with a large portion of rice and beans which did not justify the $18 - $24 price tag. The delicious wine that we brought ourselves did not help to bring down the cost of the $24 rice and bean entrees.
natty143 review for A Casa Fox
natty143 on Citysearch

13 years ago

01/13/2009, 04:41 AM
Great Atmosphere, Great Food!! – A Casa Fox is a truly amazing restaurant! Located in the Lower East Side, its a small gem tucked in a quiet street, but the minute you walk in, the fireplace and intimate setting make you feel at home. We had a party of 5 on a Friday night, and sat at a communal table where the owner, Melissa, talked us through the inspiration of her dishes (one of which was her grandmother's Nicaraguan recipe). The empanadas, fried manchego, and pork ribs were fantastic! The dishes were very flavorful, authentic, and very reasonably priced. We will definitely be returning, not only for the food, but for the communal, friendly atmosphere. Not to mention, Melissa is a great host!
Featured content
How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses
13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021
DEANK review for A Casa Fox
DEANK on Citysearch

13 years ago

12/05/2008, 21:11 PM
Latin food with a twist – This Latin-themed restaurant had a wonderful selection of tapas style food. Sitting by the fire in an intimate surrounding made me feel as if I were transported to a fabulous local haunt in South America. I tried almost all the items on the menu and they were all so good I couldn?t decide on a favorite! The empanadas were creative, especially the chocolate ones with dulce de leche for dessert. The dinners in clay pots that are served with Spanish fried rice and black beans are delicious, especially the juicy ribs marinated for over 24 hours. Especially important was that the service was very friendly?made me feel at home. Can?t wait to go back, a still have a craving for the beef chimichurri skewers!
moonbaby999 review for A Casa Fox
moonbaby999 on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/21/2008, 03:52 AM
She does it again! – We hired Melissa for our rehearsal cocktail party, as we were so happy with the engagement party she did for us. This time we did it on a bigger scale: The food was delicious, presentation beautiful, and her staff could not have been more professional and courteous. We entrusted two very important events to Melissa and she more-than delivered both times. We can't recommend her highly enough. Thank you, Melissa!
cmaddy review for A Casa Fox
cmaddy on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/22/2008, 16:29 PM
Amazing food!!!!! – I ate here Friday while on a date with my husband. The food was soooooo good that I have to tell all of NYC about it. First of all the space itself is beautiful. If feels like you are sitting in your best friends dining room ( complete with working fireplace and latin pottery.) We started with empanadas that are baked making them light and crispy, never greasy. Our favorites were the choizo-manchego and portabello-smoked gouda. The fillings were of such high quality that you could see pieces of sauteed baby bella mushrooms falling out as you took your first bite. All the empanadas come with this delicious chipotle mayo that the restaurant sells in beautiful jars. We liked it so much that we bought 2 jars to eat at home. Don't forget about thier homemade hot sauce-spicy but flavorful. We also tried the pork ribs. I have never in my life had ribs like these. They were marinated, braised, then browned making them tender, juicy, crispy and flavorful all at the same time. I can't wait to go back to try the rest of the menu and buy more of that chipotle mayo.
KathieStecher review for A Casa Fox
KathieStecher on Citysearch

13 years ago

07/10/2008, 06:53 AM
Mouth watering latin style food – This new lower east side restaurant has a wonderful selection of latin style food, with deliciously seasoned small dishes like mouth watering empanadas, risotto croquettes and grilled beef chimichurri skewers. The service was friendly and efficient without being overbearing. The decor is rustic with a beautiful wood and tile floor and a fireplace that is scenic for summer and should be cozy for those autumn and winter evenings.
moonbaby888 review for A Casa Fox
moonbaby888 on Citysearch

14 years ago

10/15/2007, 21:21 PM
Great food, great service! – We used A Casa Foods for our somewhat-impromptu engagement party and it was a ranging success. Melissa came over before the party and prepared everything, and was very helpful with all the setup so that we could get ourselves ready. People raved about all the food and proclaimed the sangria "the best they've ever had." We were looking for a Latin-themed cocktail party, and this is Latin food with an upscale edge-- delicious and beautifully presented. We hope to use her again for our rehearsal dinner. Delicious!
Contributor review for A Casa Fox
Contributor on Citysearch

14 years ago

10/08/2007, 13:57 PM
Editorial Review by Citysearch Editors – Off-premises caterer that specializes in Latin dishes for cocktail get-togethers, dinner parties and corporate affairs.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.