Logo White
Watch Demo

Van's Sport Center

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.4
162 reviews
|Retail|Grand Rapids, MI 49504

1855 Alpine Ave NW, Grand Rapids, MI 49504

(616) 364-0666

https://www.vansoutboardparts.com/

Open now:8:00 am - 7:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Retail in your area
5.0
(1) · Retail

3822 Richmond St NW

(616) 791-7003

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Retail

2550 Patterson Ave SE

(616) 285-4600
5.0
(8) · Retail

3859 Roger B Chaffee Memorial Blvd SE

(616) 243-6996

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(37) · Retail

11377 E Lakewood Blvd

(616) 396-3346

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Retail

950 Vitality Dr # C

(616) 784-3525

3 people are looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Furniture Stores

1354 W Randall St

(616) 997-8608

1 person is looking at this business

About

*We Stock Parts From the 1930s to Present *Search Our Database. Large Selection of Reconditioned, Used Outboard Motors

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.4
162 reviews
5108
  
425
  
36
  
26
  
111
  
6 reviews have no rating
  • 137 Reviews4.3Google
  • 20 Reviews4.9Facebook
  • 4 Reviews3.8Yellow Pages
  • 1 Review4.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Reed Fitch on Facebook

a month ago

08/27/2020, 04:15 AM
My family has used vans for more years than I’ve been alive. In 2018 I brought them our eight horse Johnson motor to get fixed over $650 later they said it was fixed. I stored it in a heated basement over the winter and in spring of 2019 I put it on our boat.. drove 200 yards and had to get towed in. I brought it in AGAIN and they charged me $134 and said it was all good to go. Season was over of course so back into the basement it went. This spring 2020 I put it back on the boat and drove 100 yards to have it die and be towed in again! I called Brian in service 3 times and left him a message each time! No call back! I brought the motor in again for a 3rd time and expressed our displeasure with not even having the courtesy to get a call back. An employee said,” yes Brian is terrible with calling anyone back and I’m sorry he’s a sore in our company”. 3 weeks later Brian calls me to tell me my motor is fixed this time for $264 and Change and he’s just been to busy to call anyone back! After many years my family has said enough is enough.. can’t even get a motor running after 2 years and gonna charge that money with Piss poor service and piss poor service manager! We recommend everyone go elsewhere to purchase motors and get them serviced as we ALL will be doing so! The place has gone to pot!
Business Response:

I am not sure Reed's relationship with the Echtinaw family, who actually brought the motor in for repair. The motor is a 1993 Johnson 8hp. The motor was originally brought to us April of 2018 after being extremely overheated and quit running. We replaced the head gasket, thermostat and gasket, water pump kit, exhaust cover gasket, flushed cooling system, rebuilt carb and changed plugs. Customer picked up June of 2018. Customer brings motor back with a running issue August of 2019. Over one year later. We changed the orifice in the carb and test run motor. The bill was for $134 but we did not charge the customer. Even after the previous work being done over a year ago. What repair shop would do that? Now, one year later the customer brought the motor back with loss of power. Remember back in 2018 the customer severely overheated the motor. This time the motor was losing spark on cylinder #2. The powerpack went bad. This is a 27 year old motor. Things will fail over time. We always stand behind our work, even longer than we should. I am sorry you had a bad experience, but some things are out of our control.

Matt Pieper on Facebook

a year ago

10/14/2019, 11:41 AM
Amazingly knowledgable and friendly service. They make getting boat motor parts TOO easy!!
Ryan Chamness on Facebook

2 years ago

03/18/2019, 01:03 AM
bought a 9.9 tohatsu here couldn't be happier with it and my sales rep
Featured content
Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively
How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website
Chuck Antonopulos on Facebook

2 years ago

01/16/2019, 00:08 AM
They always have the parts that I need, when I need them, great inventory and great knowledge too.
Pete Bruinsma on Facebook

2 years ago

09/28/2018, 01:02 AM
Poor service & diagnosis.
Greg Bosman on Facebook

2 years ago

07/18/2018, 01:03 AM
The customer service is horrible!! Took 14 voicemails over 2 1/2 weeks to get the service manager to call back about my boat motor repair. To get my phone call I had to get ahold of the owner to get me call back!!
Kerri Vogel on Facebook

3 years ago

12/20/2017, 00:00 AM
James Edward Briggs on Facebook

3 years ago

11/03/2017, 01:04 AM
These dear folks are greeeeeeat especially Brian in service. I always am very pleased with everything. Pastor James
Daniel Cedolia on Facebook

3 years ago

09/19/2017, 01:02 AM
We own and operate a small marina in Northern Ontario Just north of the international boarder beside the UP of Michigan. Van's has been a great resource for us as a small business. There parts counter is second to none and each individual who works that counter in fast and efficient and very knowledgeable. The selection on hand is very impressive as well. Hats off to Van's Outboards
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.