Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Sports Clubs

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
2.6
44 reviews
|Sports Clubs|Rio Rancho, NM 87124

2003 Southern Blvd SE, Rio Rancho, NM 87124

(505) 896-3481

http://www.thesportsclubsnm.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Recreation in your area
4.1
(16) · Sports Clubs

9629 2nd St NW

(505) 263-0060
About

You're New Mexico fitness solution! Bring us your hopes; we will transform them into results! At The Sports Clubs we have the expertise to help you FINALLY look and feel the way you deserve! What sets us apart from your other health club choices? RESULTS! Our Team of Certified Fitness Professionals is determined to help you learn how to adopt a healthy lifestyle that you can maintain for the rest of your life! We offer 4 great locations to serve you Rio Rancho: 2003 Southern Boulevard (Southern and Unser) 896-FIT1 (3481) Albuquerque: 6211 4th Street (one block N of Montano) 247-FIT2 (3482) NE Heights: 5850 Eubank Boulevard (Eubank and Juan Tabo) 292-FIT4 (3484) Downtown-Executive: 400 Gold A

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

2.6
44 reviews
58
  
45
  
35
  
21
  
117
  
8 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
1sunny1 review for The Sports Clubs
1sunny1 on Yellow Pages

8 years ago

06/02/2014, 03:22 AM
If I could give this place negative stars I would. The gym is very dirty, the bathroom is a health hazard and the owners are rude and could careless about the patrons. For the price, you can go somewhere else, sports club does not offer a variety of group classes, in fact all they have is insanity, piyo and zumba. The classes are not very good either. The group exercise room is horrible! the floors are covered with disgusting padding and everyone complains about how the floor kills their knees to the owners but they don't care. Out on the floor it is overcrowded with old machines and you have to pay $10 a month extra for childcare, and if you have more than 3 kids you have to pay an extra $15 a month. The trainers are a joke, they over charge for services and are probably the unhealthiest people I've ever seen, they are sloppy and stand there drinking monsters all day. The entire place is a joke! save your money and go to defined or planet fitness instead.
Respond to negative reviews
John L. review for The Sports Clubs
John L. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

07/28/2011, 09:25 AM
You Can Do Much Better You can do much better. Their fess are twice the other guys in town. The showers are moldy and the locker rooms are borderline filthy. The equipment is sub par when compared to the competition. Do yourself a favor and join somewhere else.
Respond to negative reviews
Meredith Jones review for The Sports Clubs
Meredith Jones on Citysearch

11 years ago

06/10/2010, 06:46 AM
Wouldn't recommend. – I joined the Eubank location of this franchise w/o really doing my homework & found my/self regretting it 3 mos.later. I let myself be talked into a yrly membership by the slick salesguy/trainer to save $15 & was totally dissatsified shortly thereafter. The facility was really lacking, in a pool & childcare & the gym equipment was shoddy & dated, & a very seniorly Lecherous male clientale. When I tried to get out of the contract, the mgmt. was less than helpful if not draconian & I was going to have to pay a $200 cancellation to do so. When I looked into contract clauses, I found some questionable practices like needing a certified doctor's letter if you have to cancel for health reasons. They'll do anything to suck money out of you. When my membership was up & I had to go in in person & they wanted to know why I was cancelling & where I was moving & a bunch of other personal info, which I felt was invasive & inappropriate. Heck it's a gym membership not a personal loan? Later I found out I would've been better off if I had joined Planet Fitness or Charter Fitness at $10 monthly w/o all these strings attached. Don't waste your time, money, or your dignity.
Featured content
How to use video chat for customer service in 2021

How to use video chat for customer service in 2021

How to use video chat for customer service in 2021
How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps

How to Build a Reputation Management Strategy in 5 Steps
Zoofro review for The Sports Clubs
Zoofro on Citysearch

12 years ago

04/28/2010, 03:35 AM
Seek Workout Elsewhere – I have had a membership here for 3 years and have used it no more than 20 times. The gym offers no perks that Defined Fitness has plenty of and has outrageous fees paired with lengthy contracts. The equipment seems run down and atmosphere is decent. The nail in the coffin: You have to give a 30 day notice to cancel whether that be in person OR by mail. If you don't they take more of your money regardless of being out of your contract. Sketchy business, run down gym. Seek your workout elsewhere.
Debbie V. review for The Sports Clubs
Debbie V. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

01/05/2009, 10:30 AM
Good Gym with some perks! I had a membership here at one point & it isn't a bad gym to start at. It is never really super crowded so you are able to get on the machines you want without the wait. Even though there is no pool it does offer tanning, a chiropractor, and a homeopathic doctor. The trainers were very nice and helpful. They offer a wide variety of classes. Prices are reasonable if you agree to a contract. So if you are looking for a smaller gym this is a great place to start.
Contributor review for The Sports Clubs
Contributor on Citysearch

13 years ago

08/22/2008, 02:46 AM
Despite its Hollywood connections, this franchise's focus is on pumping iron, not newfangled razzle-dazzle. – In Short The Terminator and the Incredible Hulk (aka Arnold Schwarzenegger and Lou Ferrigno) lifted weights at the gym's Venice, California, flagship years ago, but even today, customers frequenting charter locations are bound to encounter serious muscle. Take note: The boys with bulging biceps are the mascots, not the majority. Gold's generally offers Spinning, aerobics and kickboxing classes, yet weight-training remains the core of the program. Dumbbells and barbells, not spa-like amenities, are the attractions that draw the beef-heads in droves.
jtvp7 review for The Sports Clubs
jtvp7 on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/28/2007, 08:03 AM
Great Fitness Center for All Ages – Great fitness center for all ages. Love the classes. Love the staff. Highly recommend. I have been a member for 9 years. This is the only fitness center in town with good customer service. You are always welcomed with a smile and a hello (by your name).
phdmom3 review for The Sports Clubs
phdmom3 on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/18/2007, 06:55 AM
Not a Meat Market like other gyms in town! – I used to be a member of another Fitness Center in town. I am so glad I found The Sports Clubs. At the other gym, it just felt like a "meat market". The Sports Clubs are not meat markets. Everyone is really friendly, but they are here to work-out, not occupy a piece of equipment while they socialize if you know what I mean! The staff are professional and nice. They do not have a high turn over of staff like other gyms I have been to. I love the classes. The massage therapists are great! You will not get that big "gym sales pitch" when you join. They are pretty straight foward and make enrolling easy. Come check it out. You will thank me!
katrina98 review for The Sports Clubs
katrina98 on Citysearch

15 years ago

02/17/2007, 10:07 AM
Friendly Place – I have been going to The Sports Clubs (formerly Gold's Gyms) for 9 years. I love it here. The staff is so friendly and have been here forever too. I love the Kid's Clubs. My daughter loves the Toddler Aerobics on Wednesdays. I train with Oneman the Fitness Director. He is the best.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.