Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

The Metro Hotel

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
250 reviews
|Hotels|San Francisco, CA 94117

319 Divisadero St, San Francisco, CA 94117

(415) 861-5364

https://www.metrohotelsf.com/?utm_source=google&utm_medium=organic&utm_campaign=gmblisting

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(5) · Hospitality

1135 4th St

(415) 459-9557
5.0
(1) · Hotels

20 12th St

(415) 861-2373
5.0
(3) · Hotels

345 California Street

(415) 276-9602
4.9
(11) · Hotels

609 Old County Rd

(650) 288-7707
4.8
(464) · Hospitality

30 El Portal

(415) 332-9535

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(160) · Hospitality

310 1st St E

(707) 996-0719
About

The Metro Hotel, San Francisco is the place locals recommend to friends and family. We're a clean, budget friendly hotel located in the heart of San Francisco's vibrant Haight-Ashbury and Castro neighborhoods. We pride ourselves on making your visit to San Francisco special by guiding you towards places locals love to eat, shop and play. Stay at the Metro and experience San Francisco as its meant to be!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
250 reviews
5176
  
454
  
39
  
24
  
11
  
6 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
monkeywithacamera review for The Metro Hotel
monkeywithacamera on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/26/2007, 03:36 AM
A quick warning about booking a room at this place... – Just a quick warning for anyone who plans to stay here. I recently called to try to book a room. They were having problems with their computers, and that the only way I could book one is online. So I tried booking a room online, and it appeared that my request did not go through. Because it was time-sensitive, I tried on another computer, using a different credit card. With a few hiccups, that went through. Unfortunately, it turned out my first try went through too-- i got the confirmation email later after it seemed otherwise. I called the hotel immediately and let them know I needed to cancel one of the rooms, and didn't want to be charged. They called back a few hours later saying it was a-okay and that I would not be charged. The very next day, I got another call letting me know I indeed would be charged a $9 processing fee to cancel one of the rooms; that I was getting a deal because they normally charge full price within 48 hours. I reminded them it was because I was having problems with the website, and had contacted them immediately. They then explained that the hotel wasn't charging this, it was their website company that charges a $9 fee. "We're not just going to pay $9 because of your mistake." I even let him know of the voicemail I had received the night before, telling me that I wasn't going to be charged. There was some discrepancy of nights (apparently one of our reservations came through as a different night than we had specified), and he said in no way were they not going to charge this $9 to us, and that even though there was no alternative, I shouldn't have booked online. The bottom line: they have a computer problem on their end, I get penalized $9 because of it. So if you're going to stay here, just don't book a room online. And if you have a similar problem, and get a call saying it's going to be okay, just know that may not be entirely truthful. I'd be a lot more upset if the hotel wasn't such a bargain to begin with.
mostlybemused review for The Metro Hotel
mostlybemused on Citysearch

14 years ago

06/23/2007, 05:41 AM
Best Staff of Any Place I have Ever Stayed. – this place rocks--friendly, clean, well located and so so cheap. How do they keep prices so low? Had a nice room overlooking Divisadero Street--big, sunny, a nice perch to watch SF street life from. Comfortable beds, clean showers, free fruit for breakfast. Nice, plus!
sylvius review for The Metro Hotel
sylvius on Citysearch

15 years ago

01/10/2007, 01:32 AM
Avoid at all cost – We came here as party of 4 for Sunday brunch. This was 6 months ago and yet I'm still fuming and moved to write about the experience. Firstly, it was very crowded, like more than they can handle. We later found out there is a nice outdoor patio. But for the life of me, I don't know why it was closed when clearly they can use the space! And it was a beautiful day. First impression - there is a very serious attitude problem from the staff. Even if it was bec. they're understaffed, they have no right to be so rude. After finally seating us, we were ignored for almost 30 minutes, that was even before the menu arrived. So there's more wait for the food after we ordered. While we were waiting I asked the waitress if they can fix our table bec. it had one very short leg so the table was wobbling like mad. She very reluctantly tried to fix it, complete with the attitude. When food finally came, it was COLD. Fine if it was salad bit it was eggs - very cold eggs. So I try to politely catch the waitress' attention. Only this time, she blew right by me although she clearly heard me. I can tell bec. she hesitated whether to answer me or not. She decided not. So I flag her again, this time with more authority. And she completely ignores me again. I couldn't believe it! I've never encountered a server who completely ignores customers. I mean I wasn't being unreasonable. A small "I'll be right there in a second" would have sufficed. So I just finally I gave up. I think restaurants should realize it only takes one bad experience for a customer to swear never to go back again and for that customer to feel his duty to spread that bad experience. Bad experience with an attitude is the worst service you can possibly get.
Featured content
SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2021 - Online reviews are the latest strategy
Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews

Demystifying Google Business Reviews
Contributor review for The Metro Hotel
Contributor on Citysearch

17 years ago

04/18/2005, 04:41 AM
Clean, affordable and centrally located, it's the stop for the visitor on a budget. – In Short Located within walking distance to the Castro, Upper Haight and Panhandle areas of San Francisco, this internationally flavored hotel maintains an understated image. The rooms are clean, comfortable and cozy. A charming, well-tended patio garden offers a chance to sun and sip morning coffee.
esoulis review for The Metro Hotel
esoulis on Citysearch

18 years ago

01/19/2004, 01:24 AM
Discover Metro Hotel – The Metro Hotel is a great find. The staff is professional and friendly. The Metro Hotel is centrally located and near public transportation. The rooms are clean and simple. The charming garden in the back transported me to a space tranquility in the large city. Adjoining is Le Metro Cafe, as well as a block filled with a collection of stores. It also located a few blocks from the Haight-Asbury and the Castro District and Golden Gate Park. Go enjoy my discovery!
dogwelder review for The Metro Hotel
dogwelder on Citysearch

19 years ago

06/11/2002, 05:21 AM
Great Service, Great Location – Excellent location, very close to Haight Street. Very helpful and pleasant staff- they helped us navigate the city like we were locals. I would stay there again in a heartbeat. Rooms are small but clean. The cafe downstairs is excellent.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.