Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Tara Energy, LLC

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
252 reviews
|Electricity Suppliers|Houston, TX 77056 United States

5251 Westheimer Rd, #1000, Houston, TX 77056 United States

(713) 830-1019

Open now:8:00 am - 7:00 pm


Suggest edits
Top Home Services in your area
(3) · Electricity Suppliers

14133 Memorial Dr

(281) 558-2233
(39) · Home Services

2900 Wilcrest Drive Suite - 416

(713) 574-7669
(256) · Home Services

701 Sawdust Rd #2B

(888) 721-9288
(433) · Electricity Suppliers

3151 Briarpark Drive

(888) 682-8082
(10091) · Electricity Suppliers

20455 TX-249

(866) 961-9399
(623) · Home Services

12140 Wickchester Ln STE 100

(800) 388-3862

<strong><span style="font-size: 12px;">This company is a retail electric provider in Texas service both residential and commercial customers. Tara Energy is a subsidiary of Just Energy Group, Inc.</span></strong>

Suggest edits
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

252 reviews
Sort By:
Renae M review for Tara Energy, LLC
Renae M on BBB

2 years ago

08/05/2020, 03:21 AM
I’ve been a loyal customer for 5+ years. I find it strange that my usage skyrocketed once I started the process of switching companies. My bills for the last 2 months are the highest I’ve ever had. The increase in my final bills seems suspicious. I was not under contract so they can’t charge early termination fees. Guess they found another way to get my money. I don’t trust this company and would not recommend them.
Respond to negative reviews
Xavier H. review for Tara Energy, LLC
Xavier H. on BBB

3 years ago

10/31/2019, 01:00 AM
A fraudulent false advertising manipulative so called energy provider. No way should this company be allowed to continue illegaly making false deals and promotions. I was promised less than 9 cents per killowat and 150 dollar credit for signing up. No way did I receive either. In fact im being charged 20 cents a killowat and I'm yet to receive my 150 dollar credit from them. I've complained called reported to their so called customer service ( keep in mind I said so called) and only thing I've received is threaths of lowering my credit score if I leave with out finish my contract?! Really Amigo energy breached the contract long ago and has yet to honor it. No this so called energy provider should not be allowed to scam and cheat people out of their hard earned money.
Business Response:

We have reviewed the customer's concerns but are not able to assist this customer until we receive account information. We have email this customer requesting that they provide us with account details so that we may further assist them.

Respond to negative reviews
Ryan B review for Tara Energy, LLC
Ryan B on BBB

3 years ago

06/04/2019, 09:25 AM
Do NOT get this company service is horrible and has a corrupt system
Business Response:

We have spoken with this customer and apologize for the negative experience had with out customer service department. Coaching will be sent to address this gap. We have explained his account billing history and balance due to his transfer of service. We have provided our customer with accommodations desired to resolve his account. We're glad that we were able to resolve this matter for him.

Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy

The End of Anonymous Google Reviews and the Rise of the Trust Economy
How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage

How to Track Competitor's Customer Reviews and Use Them to Your Advantage
Pamela T review for Tara Energy, LLC
Pamela T on BBB

4 years ago

05/08/2019, 05:38 AM
I wish I could leave -5 stars. I am a customer of **** ****** in Dallas, Tx and my bill used to be about $110 now it runs me about $300 plus each month, I do struggle to pay my bills and I call them to make payment arrangements and I keep every last one of them. However, lately they seem to change the policy every time I call. There is nothing in writing. I was told that the policy changed because others was not keeping their promise to pay so I have to suffer. They say my bill has to be over $200 to step up a payment arrangement, I can no longer step up 3 payment arrangements which really help, and now I have to pay half of my arrangements when I call which hurt and I fear my lights will be disconnected. It doesn’t help that the $22 they charge to mail out one piece of pink paper. The $9.99 they charge for the ****** which adds more and then that has extra fees. I am trying to save up to send that back right now. They say if I call them before my disconnection date and set up a payment plan I will not be charged the $22 but when I call they say we have not sent out a disconnection notice, I know that is why I am calling. They say call back, no I don't want to do that because I am trying to avoid the $22 charge. They won't change my due date, and I have been asking for at least 4 months or more. They have really done it this time. I have always paid my bill via the website for the past 3 years, using my same back account number. They told me on 05/07/2019 I used the automatic payment system to pay my bill. I have NEVER used that system. March 29, 2019 I paid the last partial payment, using my ACH but it was returned and I was charged $30. I didn't even know it was returned until I looked online to see my bill and saw the charge. I called them. They tell me they cannot tell me which account I used because they do not keep that information (keep this information handy). Then, they tell me if I can prove I had the funds in my back account on 03/29/2019 they will refund the $30. I have bank on the phone, they tell me it can be anybody we need a printed out statement. I go online and print out my statement. I email it to the provided email given to me by the representative on 04/16/2019. I don't hear back from **** ******. I give them a call, I was told they did not receive the email and to send again on 04/29/2019 because the email given the first time was incorrect. Nevertheless, I email them again and this time I waited and she say they received it give them 24 hours. That was from 4/16/2019 to 4/29/2019 and now its 5/7/2019. I called back today the representative says give him 2 minutes he comes back tells me he cannot refund the $30 because I used an invalid account number. Wait a minute, how can you tell me that? You told me 2 weeks ago that you do not keep account information and you cannot tell me which account was used. You also tell me I used and automated service. I tell you I NEVER the automated service I always pay online so I can see my account and screen shot it or print out a copy for problems just like this. I ask you to send me proof of how you came to this conclusion. You tell me you cannot you just spoke to the team and this is what they said. But how can you verify that my account was invalid? I said send me the proof you just verified. He put me on hold two more minutes came back informed me that my disconnection notice was for $311.25 and I had until 05/17/2019 to make payment. I am really pissed. Now, I tell the representative to send me proof of the *****He said it will take 3 – 5 days. How when it took you 2 minutes to find out the account was wrong? He said this will give you time to pay us. I told him to send me an email of the findings. Someone over there process my payment wrong. I have always used my same checking account for 3 years. Made all my payment arrangements on time and with that account or my debit card(s). Why would I risk my light being disconnected? I have people at my home who that must have the lights on so I would NEVER risk my electric being disconnected. Check my records!!!!!!!!! I may be late but I do PAY!!! At this time my feelings are this: I DISLIKE this company and I would tell everyone to STAY AWAY, I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE TO SIGN WITH THEM.
Business Response:

We have reviewed the customer's concerns and apologize for the negative experience she encountered. We have explained her account payment and hilling history. We have advised the customer that we are willing to provide them with payment accommodations if needed and provided them with a resolution.

Respond to negative reviews
Elaina H review for Tara Energy, LLC
Elaina H on BBB

4 years ago

03/29/2019, 12:29 PM
If I could zero stars I would. Amigo energy never answers the phone, the send out disconnection notices on paying accounts, they wait weeks to charge you for your bill... I have had amigo energy since 2012 since 2015 it has turned into a nightmare.... I hate this company. Cant wait to get away from these lying inconsiderate thieves. My daughter came back from ICU i needed the electric to stay on in one location and start new electric at another over a 3 day period all of her meds were in the house and at the time we had an all electric smart home.... I was locked out of my house for over 4 hours in Houston heat in june 2017 without her meds..
Business Response:

We have attempted to contact this customer but have had no success. We have reviewed this customer’s allegation. Disconnection notices are sent when customer’s payments are not received by the due date noted on their monthly billing invoice. We show no delays with this customer’s billing invoices being issued nor has she advised Amigo Energy that she has not received them timely. We have spoken to this customer numerous times to service her account. Most recently, the customer had a billing/payment concern. She was advised that her account billing was up to date. We value our loyal customers and wish to maintain our relationship with this customer. If she does decide to leave Amigo Energy, her Early Termination Fee will be waived if she contacts Amigo Energy prior to switching to another provider.

Respond to negative reviews
Jawahirlal S review for Tara Energy, LLC
Jawahirlal S on BBB

4 years ago

12/27/2018, 02:54 AM
This energy company customer service is very poor. They use foreign national that are hard to communicate in English. When you ask them to transfer you to USA they hang up on you. They are using people from Panama, Columbia, etc. They do not even process your payment and send you threatening notices. I have been their customer for over 10 years and in the last two years their service has deteriorated significantly. When you log into your Tara energy account they provide you with a customer service that goes to some reward place and they cannot help you. The talk about how great their customer service and yet their website does not even give you the correct customer service telephone number. Also they raised my rate from about 8 ents to over 12 cents.
Business Response:

We apologize for this customer's negative experience with Tara Energy's customer service. We strive to provide an outstanding customer experience with every customer interaction. After speaking with the customer regarding their payment concerns, it was discovered that their payment was sent to an incorrect address. This has been resolved. The customer renewed their agreement in June of 2018. After being advised of this, we worked with the customer to change their plan to one that better suits their needs. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced by this customer, but we have worked to address and resolve all of their concerns.

Respond to negative reviews
Kelly M review for Tara Energy, LLC
Kelly M on BBB

4 years ago

11/27/2018, 07:40 AM
***** did the same thing to me this month as the complaint below. They have always sent several letters and made phone calls to inform customers when it was time to renew contracts, but this year I received ONE email a month prior to the end of my contract (it went to my spam folder, of course), then received a bill for $645. My usual bill is around $100. Essentially, they increased the cost of my energy service from 9 cents to 21 cents. I have been a loyal customer for 5 years and never missed a payment, but when I called to try to remedy the situation by renewing and reassessing the previous months bill I stayed on the line for over an hour only to be told there was nothing they were willing to and my request to renew and re-asses was denied. This company has renewal practices that are designed to make your renewal date mysterious so that they can charge to insane variable fees. Do not use ***** Energy. I will be pursuing legal options regarding this bill.
Business Response:

We previously have spoken with the customer and regret that they had a negative experience with Amigo Energy after their fixed rate agreement expired. A renewal notice was emailed to this customer, but the customer states this was received in their spam. Unfortunately, Amigo Energy has no control over the customer's email filtering preferences. Although the customer is no longer an Amigo Energy customer, we value the relationship held and are willing to set up a payment arrangement to pay off the customer's final balance. We attempted to contact the customer, but we were not successful.

Respond to negative reviews
Erica A review for Tara Energy, LLC
Erica A on BBB

4 years ago

11/13/2018, 14:54 PM
They do not care about their customers. I have been a loyal client for 6 years and 2 months and I wish I could take back every cent. I gave them everything they asked for, access to my account to make automatic withdraws, I opted in to their "lets save the trees" BS and opted for their e-billing. They didn't advise me that my contract was up and raised my price from .08 to .24 and when I called them on it they refused to rerate my bill. I refused to sign a new contract with them until it was fixed but one of their agents suckered me into doing it with a promise of a phone call from management to rectify the problem and all I've gotten is my lights cut off, not once but TWICE! My kids get home from school today, it's 30 degrees outside and they have no electricity. I am at work, an hour away. They do not value their clients at all and will not right their wrongs. I suggest you go with a company that has a better track record. They are GREEDY and I will not be giving them another cent.
Business Response:

We regret this experience which falls well short of our standards and expectations. We certainly regret any inconvenience caused.

Respond to negative reviews
Anaiza G. review for Tara Energy, LLC
Anaiza G. on Yellow Pages

7 years ago

09/16/2015, 02:11 AM
I never had a problem with Tara Energy. They have low rates. The only problem is their answering service, besides that, I was great with their service.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.