Logo White
Watch Demo

Takumi Japanese Restaurant

Own this business?
4.9
35 reviews
|Restaurants|Commack, New York 11725

149 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Commack, New York 11725

(631) 543-0101

Not Specified

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES

Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.9
35 reviews
528
  
44
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
3 reviews have no rating
  • 18 Reviews4.8Trip Advisor
  • 14 Reviews5.0Facebook
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
MacroMicro on Trip Advisor

2 months ago

07/05/2019, 13:33 PM
A Wonderful Little Family-Owned Japanese Restaurant on Long Island
My wife and I lived in Tokyo, Japan, for a few years and, when we returned from the USA, we missed the authentic little family-owned restaurants that we used to dine in regularly while we were there. However, upon returning to New York, we were able to find a number of little Japanese restaurants, in New York City and on Long Island, that reminded us of the places we loved to dine in in Japan. One of the best of these is Takumi, in Hauppauge, New York, where the Okamuras, a husband and wife team, both of whom were born in Japan, provide diners with friendly and warm service, combined with excellent and delicious Japanese food
...  more>>
LIFLbum on Trip Advisor

3 months ago

05/15/2019, 02:03 AM
Real
Real Japanese restaurant!! The food there is excellent, small place, mom and pop restaurant.. Stop by, you won’t regret this place.
Dolphin1109 on Trip Advisor

9 months ago

11/06/2018, 01:08 AM
Authentic Japanese owned sushi restaurant
Small, intimate, family owned, authentic Japanese restaurant. Food is light and fresh. Staff, which is comprised of husband and wife are very friendly and welcoming. Food is phenomenal.
Featured content
Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform

Blaze Pizza using BirdEye platform
Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth

Feedback on restaurants is important for growth
Donald S on Trip Advisor

a year ago

08/25/2018, 04:49 AM
Authentically Japanese – Mom&Pop Restaurant
I had checked out all the Japanese restaurants within an hour’s drive of my hotel. None seemed authentic, in that they were chains or seemed to be Chinese, Korean or Thai owned and operated. This one seemed Japanese – and indeed it is! It was a family affair that night with mother, father and daughter serving and preparing food. The feel was just right. We loved the ambience. The menu had lots of favorites, so it was difficult to choose. We took suggestions from the servers. My favorite was the special of small fried fish, although I already forgot the name. I wanted shishamo, but they had these instead. We always like to taste clear soups, since w
...  more>>
David Blumberg on Facebook

a year ago

06/23/2018, 05:13 AM
My all time favorite Sushi restaurant Yuki and his wife are both wonderful hosts. As well they prepare the most scrumptious sushi I have ever had. I never need a menu when I go. Between Yuki's special dishes and what he recommends we are never disappointed. A must try if in the area.
Chang- G on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

08/28/2017, 06:32 AM
Solidly authentic Japanese restaurant!
Solid authentic Japanese restaurant with well-executed dishes, very personable service, and a serene pleasant interior. On this visit, we didn't go for any sushi or sashimi, electing to go with our favorite Japanese comfort foods. We started off with some appetizers which included an outstanding fried soft shell crab, crispy light batter outside and light and moist as a cloud inside (I regret we didn't order more of this ... ). Their fried gyoza was also excellent as well as the 2 seafood salads we had. I ordered my go-to comfort food: tempura udon noodle soup and it came in a hot tasty broth with a brace of big tempura ebi slowly soaking up the soup fl
...  more>>
vryfeisty on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

04/01/2017, 07:35 AM
Great Sushi!!!
Loved this little sushi place. The food was fresh and delicious!!! The service was excellent, the waitress friendly and accommodating.
Amy Lynn on Facebook

3 years ago

01/21/2017, 04:15 AM
WhitmanCamerata on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

07/20/2016, 10:34 AM
High quality authenticity
This is my go-to sushi place. The quality and freshness of the fish is outstanding. They have a great selection of rolls and cooked items, all delicious to the point of addiction. I literally crave their miso soup if I have gone too long without it. The owners could not be nicer - the wife works sweetly with the diners while the husband makes the sushi. I love the idea that they are a "mom and pop" place rather than some chain or restaurant organization. Plus, they live in the neighborhood. So even though they are originally from Japan, they are a true local shop I can feel good about supporting. Everyone wins!
Footer Banner

Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.