Logo White
Watch Demo

Takumi Japanese Restaurant

Own this business?
4.8
22 reviews
|Restaurants|Commack, NY 11725

149 Veterans Memorial Hwy, Commack, NY 11725

(631) 543-0101

Not Specified

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(7) · Restaurants

224 5th Ave

(212) 933-4563
5.0
(2) · Pizza

1215 Lexington Ave

(212) 288-2626
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

401 E 62nd St

(212) 223-7500
5.0
(2) · Pizza

354 Great Neck Rd

(516) 466-4698
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

25 E 77th St

(212) 606-3030
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

196 W Broadway

(212) 925-1020

2 people are looking at this business

BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.8
22 reviews
515
  
44
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
3 reviews have no rating
  • 19 Reviews4.8Trip Advisor
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
MacroMicro on Trip Advisor

a year ago

07/05/2019, 17:37 PM
A Wonderful Little Family-Owned Japanese Restaurant on Long Island My wife and I lived in Tokyo, Japan, for a few years and, when we returned from the USA, we missed the authentic little family-owned restaurants that we used to dine in regularly while we were there. However, upon returning to New York, we were...More
MacroMicro on Trip Advisor

a year ago

07/05/2019, 13:33 PM
A Wonderful Little Family-Owned Japanese Restaurant on Long Island My wife and I lived in Tokyo, Japan, for a few years and, when we returned from the USA, we missed the authentic little family-owned restaurants that we used to dine in regularly while we were there. However, upon returning to New York, we were able to find a number of little Japanese restaurants, in New York City and on Long Island, that reminded us of the places we loved to dine in in Japan. One of the best of these is Takumi, in Hauppauge, New York, where the Okamuras, a husband and wife team, both of whom were born in Japan, provide diners with friendly and warm service, combined with excellent and delicious Japanese food that is absolutely fantastic. The restaurant specializes in sushi, and their sushi and sashimi rivals some of the restaurants that we used to frequent when we lived in Japan. In fact, our daughter, who not only lived with us in Japan but, years later, went back to study at Kyoto University there for a full year, absolutely loves the restaurant, as does her entire family!
LIFLbum on Trip Advisor

a year ago

05/15/2019, 02:03 AM
Real Real Japanese restaurant!! The food there is excellent, small place, mom and pop restaurant.. Stop by, you won’t regret this place.
Featured content
Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
Dolphin1109 on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

11/06/2018, 01:08 AM
Authentic Japanese owned sushi restaurant Small, intimate, family owned, authentic Japanese restaurant. Food is light and fresh. Staff, which is comprised of husband and wife are very friendly and welcoming. Food is phenomenal.
Donald S on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

08/25/2018, 04:49 AM
Authentically Japanese – Mom&Pop Restaurant I had checked out all the Japanese restaurants within an hour’s drive of my hotel. None seemed authentic, in that they were chains or seemed to be Chinese, Korean or Thai owned and operated. This one seemed Japanese – and indeed it is! It was a family affair that night with mother, father and daughter serving and preparing food. The feel was just right. We loved the ambience. The menu had lots of favorites, so it was difficult to choose. We took suggestions from the servers. My favorite was the special of small fried fish, although I already forgot the name. I wanted shishamo, but they had these instead. We always like to taste clear soups, since we love fresh made dashi, but this one tasted like sweetened beef bullion. Another special was a beef tataki with “fresh wasabi” (which was actually pickled wasabi plant, but it went well with the meat). Aji sashimi is one of our favorites and we could get this here and they fried the skeleton, too! I love hijiki (seaweed); they had several choices, so I chose one I hadn’t had or considered: hijiki with tofu. It was served warm and was a new combination for me. I like to have a few lightly breaded and fried things, so chose the vegetable tempura and fried oysters. I think the oil wasn’t hot enough, since the breading was soaked with oil in both cases. I was excited they also had maguro no yamakake. I never had it presented this way. It was Bluefin tuna over sushi rice with the grated yamaimo on the side. All in all it was a pleasant surprise – especially for being in the boonies of Long Island.
Chang- G on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

08/28/2017, 06:32 AM
Solidly authentic Japanese restaurant! Solid authentic Japanese restaurant with well-executed dishes, very personable service, and a serene pleasant interior. On this visit, we didn't go for any sushi or sashimi, electing to go with our favorite Japanese comfort foods. We started off with some appetizers which included an outstanding fried soft shell crab, crispy light batter outside and light and moist as a cloud inside (I regret we didn't order more of this ... ). Their fried gyoza was also excellent as well as the 2 seafood salads we had. I ordered my go-to comfort food: tempura udon noodle soup and it came in a hot tasty broth with a brace of big tempura ebi slowly soaking up the soup flavors. My wife and kids had grilled eel, either over rice or with hot soba noodles; the eel was unctuous, salty-sweet, and utterly delicious. For dessert, Takumi had macarons so we had to try these - they were very good macarons, crisp outer shell and soft textured interior, better executed than many bakeries. On the proprietress's recommendation, we also tried their Japanese apple pie - why oh why didn't we ever hear of this before? Or seen it on the menus of other Japanese restaurants? Simply delicious, no words can describe it ... and we should have ordered more of these too!
vryfeisty on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

04/01/2017, 07:35 AM
Great Sushi!!! Loved this little sushi place. The food was fresh and delicious!!! The service was excellent, the waitress friendly and accommodating.
WhitmanCamerata on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

07/20/2016, 10:34 AM
High quality authenticity This is my go-to sushi place. The quality and freshness of the fish is outstanding. They have a great selection of rolls and cooked items, all delicious to the point of addiction. I literally crave their miso soup if I have gone too long without it. The owners could not be nicer - the wife works sweetly with the diners while the husband makes the sushi. I love the idea that they are a "mom and pop" place rather than some chain or restaurant organization. Plus, they live in the neighborhood. So even though they are originally from Japan, they are a true local shop I can feel good about supporting. Everyone wins!
Maria G on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

05/22/2016, 16:58 PM
Great sushi! It's a smal mom&pop sushi! Restaurant service it great and the sushi it excelente If you are looking for authentic sushi this is your place 😄
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.