Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
456 reviews
|Chinese|Fox Chapel, PA 15238

1124 Freeport Rd, Fox Chapel, PA 15238

(412) 781-4131

https://www.taipeichinese.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(6) · Restaurants

3360 Library Rd # 3

(412) 881-6633
4.8
(6) · Restaurants

472 44th St

(412) 904-2138
4.5
(108) · Restaurants

214 Pittsburgh St

(724) 887-8888
4.4
(560) · Restaurants

711 Browns Ln Suite 1

(412) 366-1838
4.3
(135) · Restaurants

4976 Library Rd

(412) 831-7744
About

Taipei Chinese Restaurant, located in Fox Chapel, was founded in November 1985. The owner, Mr. Weng, has been in the restaurant field for over thirty years, perfecting the art of Chinese cooking. He has been able to develop a vast menu to accompany many of his signature sauces, such as General Tso's and Hunan. We understand the success of the restaurant is due to the great service, warm hospitality, passionate employees, and most importantly, hard work. Our Chefs are specialists from China and Taiwan. They have been cooking Chinese food for over ten years. To serve our customer to the best, we frequently create new dishes and find ways to improve our current dishes. To ensure the up-most qua

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
456 reviews
5284
  
486
  
333
  
213
  
124
  
16 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
dansmith197 review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
dansmith197 on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/26/2007, 04:25 AM
BEST CHINESE FOOD, YOU CAN COUNT ON! – I"ve been eaten this restaurant for over 10 years since I was teens. I love their food so much and my friends all love TAIPEI. I usually have take out order. Few years ago, I placed order through the phone and I came down to pick my order up, when I was paying the money, the old guy sit inside the counter and when he was receiving my money, suddently, I heart "POO~" He farted in front of me who picking up the food and going to eat soon~, I felt very ~!!!!!!!. I don't know how to say it!!!!, I paid my money and escaped from that old guy. It has happend to me twice, I don't know other customers. Recently I heart the owner has been changed, the old guy disappeared, now I don't need to worry to hear "POOOO~". Their food still same as before, NO! better then before and the service is great, fast. NOTHING CAN BEAT THEM! I love TAIPEI CHINESE RESTAURANT! The person below me just can not enjoy his(or her) life, he(she) wrote down many bad crticism in many stores. CRAZY PEOPLE!
felix111 review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
felix111 on Citysearch

14 years ago

07/16/2007, 06:25 AM
bad service & problem w/ communication. – i recently placed an order over the phone for pick-up. i asked for chicken fried rice and chicken & broccoli. then i asked if they had spring rolls. the man on the phone said yes. i asked is it made w/ just VEGETABLES 3x he said yes 3x. i asked you are positive that there is no meat especially SHRIMP in it. HE SAID YES I AM POSITIVE NO SHRIMP. so i ordered a spring roll. i get my total of 26.00$!!!!! way over priced. pick up the food my roommate tried the SPRING ROLL and she says why is there shrimp in this ?????????!!!!!!!!!!! i am deathly allergic to shrimp!!!! what would have happened if i had taken a bite first?! i called them back and tried to tell them what just happened. i could not understand the woman on the phone & she could not understand me. eventually she figured out what i was saying and offered me a FREE SPRING ROLL the next time i came in. needless to say i will never go there again. the food was terrible! the chicken was all fat and gross. it's not worth it!
sushiguru2 review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
sushiguru2 on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/02/2007, 01:36 AM
OWNERSHIP CHANGED! – I have lived in the Fox Chapel area for over 20 years, and was heart-broken when I heard of the ownership change for Taipei. With the departure of the owner Jimmy, there has been a steady downward spiral with regards to the food quality and overall dining experience. My only solace is that Jimmy's new location is a quick 30 minute drive to Cranberry. It's worth every minute!
Featured content
How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google

How to write a review on Google
The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews

The Ultimate Guide to Responding to Reviews
Contributor review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
Contributor on Citysearch

15 years ago

03/02/2007, 03:33 AM
Editorial Review by Christy Buena – Serving authentic Chinese dishes in an elegant setting, the restaurant features fresh sushi and pork, chicken and beef entrees.
dwk14009 review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
dwk14009 on Citysearch

15 years ago

12/03/2006, 04:43 AM
Not good – I live in Fox Chapel and have eaten here many times. The chinese is decent, but the sushi is really bad. My cousin even got sick on it once. He refuses to go back, but just tonight I ordered delivery and not only did they refuse to add a little tempura flake to my spicy tuna roll, but they refused to put a little on the side because they were "busy and don't do that." I have noticed how unwilling they are to try and cater to the customers wants. I even offered to pay for tempura flake with it, and they still refused. What's even worse, is when my order came, they got my rolls completely wrong. I called them and they said they would remove it from my bill, but they would not send out another order because "they were too busy." All in all, this is the ONLY sushi in the area, which is really sad because this just is not a good restaurant, but people eat it anyway because its the only option. Take the time, go into the city if you want a real sushi experience, this place is bad.
foodguru1965 review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
foodguru1965 on Citysearch

16 years ago

06/07/2005, 01:40 AM
Exceptional Chinese and Sushi – I refuse to eat sushi anywhere else in the city. The freshest fish, and terrific chefs. The spider roll (soft shell crab) is unbelievable. The staff is friendly and willing to cater to all your requests. My first choice for all my out-of-town guests. On the weekends, I would highly recommend a reservation.
wextac review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
wextac on Citysearch

17 years ago

05/12/2005, 01:10 AM
Great Food, Great Atmosphere! – I love chinese and sushi and in my opinion, Tai Pei is the best! Everytime I dine there, I try something new.....never had a problem. The resturant is clean, the staff is nice....you have to try it. Let me put it this way, my husband isn't a big fan of chinese cusine but he is always in the mood for Tai Pei!
csteelman review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
csteelman on Citysearch

19 years ago

02/28/2003, 01:32 AM
Best Sushi in Pittsburgh – If you're into sushi then you must visit TAI Pei. Their head sushi chef is extremely talented and could work at any of the best sushi bars in the the U.S.A. Beautiful fish, each piece prepared with the intensity of an artist. You'll immediately feel welcome.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.