Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.3
456 reviews
|Chinese|Fox Chapel, PA 15238

1124 Freeport Rd, Fox Chapel, PA 15238

(412) 781-4131

https://www.taipeichinese.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(6) · Restaurants

3360 Library Rd # 3

(412) 881-6633

2 people are looking at this business

4.8
(6) · Restaurants

472 44th St

(412) 904-2138
4.5
(108) · Restaurants

214 Pittsburgh St

(724) 887-8888

4 people are looking at this business

4.4
(560) · Restaurants

711 Browns Ln Suite 1

(412) 366-1838

1 person is looking at this business

4.3
(135) · Restaurants

4976 Library Rd

(412) 831-7744

2 people are looking at this business

About

Taipei Chinese Restaurant, located in Fox Chapel, was founded in November 1985. The owner, Mr. Weng, has been in the restaurant field for over thirty years, perfecting the art of Chinese cooking. He has been able to develop a vast menu to accompany many of his signature sauces, such as General Tso's and Hunan. We understand the success of the restaurant is due to the great service, warm hospitality, passionate employees, and most importantly, hard work. Our Chefs are specialists from China and Taiwan. They have been cooking Chinese food for over ten years. To serve our customer to the best, we frequently create new dishes and find ways to improve our current dishes. To ensure the up-most qua

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.3
456 reviews
5284
  
486
  
333
  
213
  
124
  
16 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
ashley b. review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
ashley b. on Citysearch

8 years ago

01/07/2014, 05:46 AM
I love Tai Pei! I order at least once a week and the food is always consistently fresh, hot, fast, and delicious. Their sushi is good too and their waiters are always so friendly. Nelson is my favorite- he is so nice and always knows my order when I come in for lunch and dinner. Simply the best eggrolls in the world!
whizkid123 review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
whizkid123 on Citysearch

10 years ago

05/08/2011, 06:36 AM
Smith, Party of 9 – My mother has been dining at Taipei for over 10 years and loves to go often. I had planned on taking her to another restaurant where I had made reservations, but Mom wanted only Taipei. Without reservations, we walked in to a packed house looking for a table for 9. We were told it would be a 30 minute wait, but was surprised when we got seated in about 10. Dinner was exceptional! We ordered Sushi and Chinese, with the best being the Japanese Oysters and the Surf and Turf. Even though it was busy, the server was quick and polite and the service was outstanding. Everyone enjoyed the night as we had plenty of food to take home for lunch tomorrow. The manager even stopped by to make sure our meal was going well even though his leg was in a cast. He was charming and funny and entertained the kids while us adult finished our meal! They did all the little things that you don't see anymore in restaurants and I sure am glad Mom made us go there. I am definately going to be a regular there now!
jboxton review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
jboxton on Citysearch

11 years ago

01/13/2011, 00:27 AM
These chinks are rude! Watch out! – Every time I order they are really rude (which causes me to order a lot less). The food is average at best. I called the waiter a slope when he brought out the wrong soup.
Featured content
Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites

Realtor ratings - The most important sites
SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in
narzigoldm review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
narzigoldm on Citysearch

11 years ago

12/27/2010, 03:13 AM
Disgusting, foods are just so so with high price. – A year ago, I saw a worker leaving restroom without washing hands after peeing and entering kitchen at this restaurant. I complained about this to a lady at the count. She looked very serious about this. Because of this experience and mediocre food, I have not been at this restaurant for a long time. On Christmas, there were few restaurants that opened. Tai Pei was one of them. I didn't have much choice. At this visit, I saw a sushi chef doing the same thing again - not washing hands after peeing! Disgusting. Foods are just okay but expensive for quality.
Sandy S. review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
Sandy S. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

05/27/2010, 04:05 AM
Absolutely dreadful experience! My mother ate here several years and and she raved about it. I took her there for dinner the other day. What a mistake. I ordered shrimp in a very milkd (I underlined very mild) garlic sauce. The sauce came so hot that it burnt my mouth. I told them I did nto want it and sent it back. They asked if I wanted anything else. I said no. They brought back another plate...they said it was without heat. It was the most foul tasting crap I've ever eaten in a Chinese restaurant. It was horrid. My mother did not wish to see it wasted and she took it home. She just told me that she could not eat it as it was terrible. btw - her food was so-so....not great like she remembered it. I paid $40 for two meals, one soft drink and one egg roll. The egg roll was cold inside but the soft drink was okay. My water was fine. After dropping my mother off, I went to Hing Wong's for take away in Cheswick and took it home to eat.You want good Chinese for a great price...go to Hing Wong's. Taipei just plain sucks. AND the wait staff is so over the top bothersome that you could not eat in peace if the food were edible. Good waiters are not noticed. These waiters would not leave us alone. Between some idiot filling that top ounce of water in our water glasses every time we took a drink and the rest of them walking around smiling stupidly and staring.....argh! Terrible experience. They don't even deserve one star.
Respond to negative reviews
DavidR1966 review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
DavidR1966 on Citysearch

13 years ago

11/27/2008, 02:30 AM
Great Food and Friendly Owners!! – The Owners came over and ask how was everything. We said everything was good as always. Then we ask them do they know Jimmy Wan. They were like who is Jimmy do we know Jimmy? I was like the owner Jimmy! Then they were like yes Jimmy he was Managing the Restaurant and had 30% shares BUT he wasn't the ONLY OWNER. The reason that he is no longer here is that he was using company check like personal check. I was like WOW everyone thought he was the only Owner here.I guess he was not the only owner then. I think you guys did a great job here. Upgrade a lot of stuff and I love your BIG screen TV's. I'll have to come in on Sundays now to watch Steeler Games. Once again Great food and friendly people down there.
falala148 review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
falala148 on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/02/2008, 06:12 AM
former 5 star now 2 star restaurant – A year ago, I would have given Tai Pei 5 stars but something is terribly different! My husband always orders the General Tsaos and Tai Pei made the best. Now it had a different flavor and it wasn't a good one. The bbq spareribs lacked any flavor and the egg rolls were mushy. I'm not sure if we will go back.
Yippiee review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
Yippiee on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/20/2008, 02:13 AM
Good Chinese, not such good sushi – I went to Tai Pei last weekend. The atmosphere was nice and we were seated in a nice secluded booth in the corner. Our waiter Martin was a nice guy. My miso soup was delicious - it had onions and mushrooms added to the normal tofu, seaweed, and green onions. My mother's dish of shrimp with mixed vegetables was also great. However, I ordered the Sushi Plate and the quality slowed down. The fish, while fresh, did not taste great. It was the rice that really turned me off; it was warm and not very soft. The prices were higher than other quality sushi restaurants. While I may go back for some good Chinese, I will most likely not give the sushi a second try.
laurenr9480 review for Tai Pei Chinese Restaurant
laurenr9480 on Citysearch

14 years ago

08/18/2007, 02:23 AM
Best Sushi!! – My friends have told me that they have new sushi chef's there and should go and try it. We went there friday night with my family and they were busy. We had to wait about 10 mins for our table to be ready. We order a Sushi Boat and 3 Special Rolls(American dream Roll, Lobster Roll and Phoenix Roll). It was the best Sushi we had. We Highly recommnded everyone to go and TRY IT!!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.