Logo White
Watch Demo
4.7
70 reviews
|Wellness|New York, NY 10019

37 W 57th St, New York, NY 10019

(212) 688-9400

https://www.sothyspa.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Wellness in your area
5.0
(14) · Wellness

248 E 73rd St (2nd/3rd)

(212) 744-9949
5.0
(16) · Massage

1018 Castle Hill Ave

(718) 904-8656
5.0
(14) · Wellness

193 Brook St

(914) 713-3542
5.0
(1) · Skin Care

752 Park Ave

(631) 683-5959
5.0
(3) · Skin Care

511 Main St

(201) 944-4672

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(17) · Day Spas

10 E 33rd St

(212) 239-8310
About

Sothys Spa New York does not house the latest machines or beauty equipments, rather it stresses on the importance of touch and makes sure that each customer is attended on a one-to-one basis. The soothing facials help in exfoliation and detoxification. Sothys Signature Massage is a sure de-stresser and a must try. Make sure to check out the extensive menu of tempting facials and other therapies. They also offer services for men.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.7
70 reviews
543
  
48
  
31
  
20
  
11
  
17 reviews have no rating
  • 53 Reviews4.7Google
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
RachelSilver on Citysearch

9 years ago

03/15/2011, 02:01 AM
Unbelievably great facial – I had a European facial with a light peel last Saturday with Arlene. ABSOLUTELY INCREDIBLE. I swear it looks like I had Botox or Restylane. I look ten years younger, and it's been three days! No idea what she did, but it sure worked. Also love the Anti-Aging (level 2) Cream and Serum that I got.
GoDuke on Citysearch

9 years ago

02/24/2011, 03:06 AM
Heaven – This is by far the greatest spa experience I've ever had. I've never had a better facial in my life by the professional and kind staff at Sothys. I'm officially a customer for life. The prices are very affordable and the service is impeccable. I've been using their beauty products for years and wouldn't trade them for the world. Oh, and not to forget, the massages at Sothys are out of this world!
aniemarye on Citysearch

9 years ago

01/31/2011, 03:17 AM
Great relaxation!!! – I had been given a package for massage and facial, decided to try Sothys spa despite of some of the reviews, i might say that i went with my girlfriend and she had the same package.The massage experience was very relaxing but with a firm touch I almost fell asleep, the facial left my skin with a healthy glow , The facialist gave me a consultation in the room to analyze my skin with made me feel comfortable and ensure that it was the right facial for me. Overall me and my girlfriend will come back again!!!!!!
Featured content
A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews

A Simple Guide to Manage Google Reviews
SEO for small business 2020 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2020 - Online reviews are the latest strategy

SEO for small business 2020 - Online reviews are the latest strategy
emuwc2000 on Citysearch

10 years ago

05/27/2010, 02:06 AM
Terrible Bikini Wax – I read so many reviews about Sothys, in which the word "sanctuary" was used, that I'm starting to wonder about the general sanity of midtown. My first impression walking in the door was more akin to words rhyming with "kitsch". The woman at the front desk is just as bad as everyone has made mention of- even those giving the place good reviews. I had Alicia for a Partial Brazilian Wax, which I booked through Lifebooker. She was very sweet and attentive, and it looked promising at first, between the surgery light and Alicia's high-power glasses. She didn't speak any English, though, and- despite asking her to keep the V-shape in the hair over the pubic bone- I ended up with a very unflattering, Howie Mandell-like soul-patch. She didn't hold down the skin at all while pulling off the strips, either. It suffices to say, one of the least pleasant feelings in the world involves your naughty bits being yanked all over creation. She also rewaxed the same spots three or four times, and I ended up bleeding quite a bit. I think Alicia may just have trouble seeing- she's at least in her sixties, if not early seventies. To her credit, she really tried to be thorough. At the end of the wax, though, I ended up with bits of wax, cotton strip, and paper panties still stuck to my naughty bits, and when I got home, I had to spend a half hour tweezing out a good 100-150 stray hairs. More unpleasantness came later. I put on the usual post-wax skin toner, but three hours later my girl bits are itching like crazy. I can't call it a hack job, because it seems like she- at one point- was a really good technician, but the results were awful nontheless.
nyc245103 on Citysearch

10 years ago

05/06/2010, 03:40 AM
Sub-par experience at a lackluster spa - stay away! – I was extremely disappointed in my experience, and will not be returning! I received a luke-warm greeting upon arriving, as if I was disturbing their gossip session upon my arrival. The receptionist took me to what is the smallest women's lounge/locker room I have seen in a spa. The lockers were placed right where you walk into the tiny room. So anytime someone would walk in, the door would hit me as I was trying to get my robe out, etc. Needless to say, you can't even change near your locker, unless you want to expose yourself to any passerby as someone walks in. When I got my robe on, I was even more disappointed - it had definitely seen better days. The belt and bottom were frayed and tattered, and there were stains on the robe. This robe should have been thrown away months before, and not provided for clients! I was hoping that the spa services would make up for the lackluster beginning to the experience..but unfortunately that was not to be the case... First I had a massage. The masseuse was good, and spent a great deal of time on the knots in my back, which was very much appreciated. But the rooms are nowhere near soundproof, so I could hear entire conversations going on in the hall and in the room next door. It makes it hard to relax when you're listening to someone give a play-by-play of the prior evening and the breakup of a friend's relationship. Once the massage was completed, I headed back downstairs for my facial. And with it another disappointing experience -- the woman never asked me a single question about my skin. It seems to me that it is very important to know about someone's skin in order to tailor a treatment. The hour facial went by without any issues, and I was extremely grateful to finally leave the salon. My skin seemed clearer and refreshed that day. But now, a few days later, my skin has started flaking off in patches - evidence of too harsh of chemicals being used. So, needless to say, this was not the relaxing, rejuvenating experience I had expected/wanted/paid for. I will not be returning, and would recommend steering clear of this outdated, subpar establishment, and spend your money down the street at Dorit Baxter or Bliss instead.
bellster11375 on Citysearch

10 years ago

04/16/2010, 01:37 AM
CHICHI LOCALE, FRIENDLY NEIGHBORHOOD SERVICE – Got a gift package: massage, delicious scrub & facial. Here's what I thought... Massage - OMG, soooo relaxing. Simone is a sweetheart and has an EXPERT firm touch. Nearly fell asleep 3-4 times in the 50 minutes! She's also very knowledgeable & witty but not overly chit-chatty. "Just right" as Goldilocks would say. Never had a scrub done before. WOW. The delicious scrub was moisturizing and exfoliating and my skin (even 2 days later) STILL feels great! She got my elbows and knees so soft (I didn't know they could get THIS SOFT!!). HIGHLY RECOMMEND both, especially the scrub. The room is very tranquil and has an instantly relaxing vibe. A bit bright for a massage yes, but just close your eyes and you'll be fine. Okay, as for the facial... I had a bit of "gunk" in my nose, so yes, it hurt a bit... the before cleansing was great, the steam cloth was great too, the cooling mask afterwards was also great... this was my 3rd facial (ever), but I'm beginning to wonder, despite my sensitive skin, was I supposed to have little scabs from my pores? No, I looked even worse yesterday and today...in fact, I look like I brushed up on poison ivy on 1 side of my face... I was quite happy with the nose extractions, but not too thrilled with the scabs and 2-day, post redness. Was I supposed to tel her, nose only? Hmmm, not sure. For a freebie (gift), the facial was FINE. If it's all the same, I'd return only for the massage & scrub. This is not a place to come to if you're watching pennies. That's like going to a classy French restaurant and ordering a salad with lots of bread. If you're coming to Sothy's, open your wallet (hell, finance the day for 1-2 credit card statements!) and indulge yourself. Because the answer is OF COURSE, YOU ARE WORTH EVERY BIT... Enjoy your experience!
em44444 on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/22/2010, 00:58 AM
No Need to Fear, Great Spa! – After reading some of the reviews on City Search I felt hesitant about this spa. However, the negative reviews didn't post until after i had booked my appointment. I had arranged for their sea salt scrub and massage for my husband and I. There is no need to fear, this spa was lovely. The staff was friendly and accommodating. I had my treatments with Simone, she was a true professional. I would not hesitate to book a treatment here.
Annybabes on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/18/2010, 03:08 AM
Worst Spa Experience Ever – I received two gift certs for their special winter dream treatment which included a massage, a facial, a mani/pedi and lunch. I booked my husband and I on Valentine's weekend and we were looking forward to it. When I get there I'm given a locker with a robe, etc. The robe is way too small. I'm a plus sized woman and they should have given me a larger robe without me having to ask. Then I get to my massage room. The wedge a massage table in the hydrotheraphy room next to a broken tub. There is a huge skylight and the room is complete daylight. No aromatherapy candles, no spa music. I refused my massage as it wasn't a relaxing atmosphere I am used to when getting a massage. Good thing because my husband's massage was less than amateur. She made him flip three times and barely used any pressure. She would work on his arm, then go to the leg, then flip over to his back then flip again. She was all over the place and he was uncomfortable and annoyed. AND they don't even have those nice sheets to climb under when you lay down. They have a towel for you to get under. A cold scratchy beach towel. Then we had lunch, which is good because it's from Mangia across the street. We asked for iced tea to drink, they mixed up some lemon tea mix in a glass. UM, most spas have delicious fresh brewed tea. Then on to our facials. We don't have much to compare to as neither of us get facials often but it was nice and relaxing and we both looked great afterwards. Well the next day, my shoulders and face break out in this nasty allergic rash. Something in the products didn't agree with me. My upper lip was blistering from the lip wax. Another nightmare. Then down to the mani and pedi ($70 pedicure). My Asian nail salon does a ten times better job for their spa pedicure which is $35. My massage chair didn't work, there was no paraffin or special leg massage or wraps. Just a basic pedicure and it was a special umi jumi or whatever ($70 special pedicure) because of some lotion that they rubbed on. Big fat waste. My manicure was less than average. She didn't even cut my cuticles. On a good note, everyone was very very nice and apologetic and accomodating. The staff was extremely pleasant. I didn't complain because I felt bad and didn't want to seem spoiled. But I do want to give you a warning if you are an avid spa-goer as myself. I haven't been to Bliss across the street but I hear they are great and the massages are wonderful. Maybe you should try there instead.
bdine on Citysearch

11 years ago

07/15/2009, 03:00 AM
Didn't even get my massage – I scheduled a last minute massage with Sothy's through lifebooker at 5:30 on a Friday. I ended up getting stuck at work, so I was running a little late. On my way out the door at 5:15 I called Sothy's to tell them I would be ten minutes late. Seeing as I only had to go two subway stops 25 minutes should have given me plenty of time to get there, however, the train was stalled and consequently I ended up being 20 minutes late instead of 10. I walked into the store and immediately said "i'm so sorry! I had train problems!" The woman at the desk just gave me an incredulous look and was rude right off the bat. I was late- yes this was my fault. But the way the woman who was the manager chose to deal with the situation made me decide I would never return. I was excited about trying it out as I had never been. She told me that I could still have the massage minus the 20 minutes. I told her I was sorry, but that was not a desireable solution. Before I could say anything else she went on a rant about how I called and said I would be five minutes late- which is not what I said. I thought maybe the masseuse would have wanted to give me a massage becuase that would mean more money in her pocket but I don't know how it works there. I would have thought that the manager would at least have checked with the masseuse to see if it was too late. But she didn't even as her/him. She just told me that the massuese had "things to do" just like everyone else and that staying an extra 20 minutes was not acceptable. That's fine, but again just her attitude was so gross. She told me she was going to charge my card for the massage no matter what because of their 24 hour cancellation policy. I explained that I had made the reservation less than an hour earlier and that I didn't think that was entirely fair. At this point I was beyond wanting to reschedule. I was so annoyed at this woman's treatment that I never wanted to return. She agreed not to charge my card, but not before saying more nasty things. Why would a spa want to employ someone with such a nasty attitude. She gave me the number of the manager in California that I could call on Monday, but I decided against it, because any company that would employ such nasty people is not a company I want to support. I never ended up getting a massage, which was sad because I really nededed it. Instead I left more stressed out than before.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.