Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Shaw's San Francisco

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
70 reviews
|Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt|San Francisco, CA 94127

122 W Portal Ave, San Francisco, CA 94127

(415) 681-2702

https://shawssf.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(4) · Restaurants

703 E El Camino Real

(650) 964-7633
5.0
(2) · Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt

939 W El Camino Real Ste 109

(408) 732-3350
5.0
(51) · Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt

8252 Old Redwood Hwy

(707) 242-6359

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(34) · Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt

80 Cabrillo Hwy N Ste M

(888) 548-2224
4.9
(7) · Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt

1632 N Main St

(925) 939-2877
4.9
(35) · Ice Cream & Frozen Yogurt

4144 Walnut Ave

(510) 490-4200

1 person is looking at this business

About

Shaws San Francisco specializes in gourmet chocolates, truffles, homemade fudge, candy themed specialty items and we carry Mitchell's Ice Cream.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
70 reviews
548
  
413
  
32
  
20
  
12
  
5 reviews have no rating
  • 50 Reviews4.6Google
  • 10 Reviews4.9Facebook
  • Show All
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
1GiantsMS on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

10/06/2019, 22:12 PM
Always a great time This is a combination ice cream shop and candy store and it is a real San Francisco treat. You feel like you have gained five pounds just walking in. The candies in the display case are mouthwatering. Lots and lots of choices and then there is the ice cream. Definitely a must visit when in the neighborhood. The attendant was very friendly and well-informed. Made a couple of good suggestions that we enjoyed.
Lisa Callahan Frey on Facebook

2 years ago

01/24/2019, 02:22 AM
Deliver the candy that they charged my mother for on 12/16/18.
Joanne Romero on Facebook

3 years ago

06/23/2018, 02:45 AM
Best place for ice cream and treats
Featured content
How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?
Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update

Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update

Google Review Policy Terms of Service Update
Kelly E on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

05/17/2018, 07:53 AM
The old fashioned ice cream store Wanted to try Mitchell’s ice cream while in San Francisco but read all the stories of super long lines. We happened upon this little gem after having dinner at Goat Hill Pizza and they served Mitchell’s! Cute candy store with awesome PEZ dispenser collections.
Charlie Kathryn Brady Sean on Facebook

4 years ago

03/25/2017, 10:58 AM
Every neighborhood needs a candy store like Shaw's. So happy to come back to a place that gave me so many sweet memories.
JJ N. on Citysearch

5 years ago

10/27/2016, 06:03 AM
**THIS IS NOT A CHILD FRIENDLY ESTABLISHMENT!!!** I never thought that a candy store visit would result in a traumatic event for my children and I. At 6:30 pm last night, I took my two boys for an after dinner treat. As curious children go, my son pulled open the lever on a jelly bean dispenser before I could place a bag underneath. The woman behind the counter (apparently the owner) began yelling, "Do not touch that again!!" I explained that it was an accident and asked her to please calm down. While on the floor cleaning up the small handful of jelly beans she continued to yell, "those are all garbage now and we are not going to be able to sell them!" My 2 year old son began to scream at this point, clinging to me and grabbing at my hair. My 2 year old has autism and became very dysregulated as a result of this woman's rage. While on the ground with now two distressed children (my 5 year old also in tears), I locked eyes with her and asked her to "calm herself because it's not a big deal." When she continued to have words with me, I stated, "You can obviously see I'm struggling." I quickly poured some jelly beans in a bag and turned to the counter. Prepared to make reparations, I pulled out a $20 bill, handed it to her stating, "go ahead and charge me an extra $5 or $10 dollars for the spillage." It was less than 50 cents worth of jelly beans. I was prepared to give her $20 and call it. She then told me she wasn't going to sell me anything and to get out of her store. She threatened to contact the police and grabbed the phone. I tossed the jellies on the counter...a small plastic spoon tipped over ( I think) and we left. To be fair, I called her a name on the way out. I got my boys safely in the car. It took a while to get my 2 year old calm. Any parent of a special needs child can relate to this kind of pain when seeing your child in distress. This was supposed to be fun. My 5 year old felt awful for spilling jelly beans. I assured him he did nothing wrong (that he is a child and still learning). I pulled around to the front of the store and waited a few minutes for the police to show in order to explain what really happened (and to reassure my children). We left after a few minutes. This afternoon, I contacted Shaw's and asked to speak to the owner. The woman from the previous night identified herself as the owner. I stated who I was and attempted to explain. She immediately started yelling again, threatening me and stated that the police were "looking for me". She hung up in a rage. I contacted Taraval station and spoke with one of the officers on duty. He provided me with the CAN number as well as the names of the officers that came out. I explained the situation in detail. The officer explained that a report wasn't even made and that the owner was making "idle threats". He did say that police responded to the call (as obligated), stayed a few minutes and wrote one simple note, "verbal dispute". The officer was kind and apologetic for the way my children and I were treated. I offered to give him my name and number but he didn't feel this was necessary. As a member of several parent groups and Autism Speaks, I plan to inform all parents that Shaw's is not child friendly. Nobody deserves this kind of treatment. There are too many wonderful, accepting businesses in the bay area to ever have to step foot in this sad establishment.
Fernanda Pérez on Facebook

6 years ago

11/21/2015, 06:41 AM
One of the oldest ice cream parlors in the area and is really delicious!
Rocio Guzman on Facebook

7 years ago

11/24/2014, 09:05 AM
Millie Feener Hipp on Facebook

7 years ago

08/24/2014, 08:53 AM
We used to have one in our city and they were the best!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.