Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Rice To Riches

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
1749 reviews
|Desserts|New York, NY 10012

37 Spring St, Ste A, New York, NY 10012

(212) 274-0008

https://www.ricetoriches.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

1161 NJ-23

(973) 492-0770
4.8
(51) · Desserts

9 S Broad St

(201) 857-8788

1 person is looking at this business

4.8
(21) · Desserts

59 W 22nd St

(212) 243-0033
4.8
(139) · Restaurants

34 E Main St # 1

(908) 722-9881
4.7
(57) · Cupcakes

104 Watchung Ave

(908) 755-1313

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(332) · Coffee & Tea

110 E Jersey St

(908) 355-7866
About

You should feel very special to eat at this place, probably because this could be the only rice pudding restaurant in the world. Started by a very well experienced chef Jemal Edwards, this place has grown to be a popular joint for the food it serves. The restaurant serves about 18 different flavors of rice pudding and the chef is working on discovering more flavors day by day. So come down here for a bowl of rice pudding which come with a variety of toppings. Rice to Riches is a must visit in New York.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
1,749 reviews
51,203
  
4333
  
3106
  
232
  
123
  
52 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Fred R. review for Rice To Riches
Fred R. on Citysearch

6 years ago

03/17/2016, 07:51 AM
Second time I've been there, and, again, it was incredibly delicious, though I can only handle the extreme sweetness once in a great while. I agree with what some others have said about the customer service. Our counter person was not outwardly rude, per se, but certainly was nowhere near as friendly as the design of the store and all the really fun, cute, good-natured signs they display would suggest. It would seem a little more customer service training (or screening) could be in order. And finally, I have to agree with what lots of people are saying about the plastic containers. Yes, they can be taken home and used again (they seem very sturdy, though I'm not sure it would be a good idea to use them in the microwave) but honestly, people go there to get dessert on the go, not tupperware. If they want to offer specific containers to people who want them and WILL use them again, fine, but it's kind of shocking that a company would use these as their default in 2016 when there are so many good, recyclable options available. I suspect that the majority of their containers wind up in landfills.
natalie p. review for Rice To Riches
natalie p. on Citysearch

9 years ago

06/20/2012, 05:02 AM
so delicious I did not know I loved rice pudding sooooo much. The selection is crazy it makes me want to go here 3 times a week.
Lakisha P. review for Rice To Riches
Lakisha P. on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/24/2012, 08:15 AM
O come on he's just a kid! – The pudding is delicious! I made one of my trips right after leaving the dentist office across the street! On my 3rd visit in two weeks, yesterday (Thursday 2/23 @ 6p.m.) to be exact... I decided to bring my family which included my 5 yr old son. We walked a long way out of our way to get there. My 5yr old got so excited with all the commotion of customers getting samples all around us he beamed and asked politely for a sample too... of a topping! what a cardinal sin! I almost died of embarrassment! ...he got ignored. So i told him ppl dont usually get samples of toppings, but I tried anyway because hes not a spoiled kid... a very mannerly, positive and friendly kid... I was planning on buying enough for atleast 4 ppl anyways right?. So I explained about the situation... told her that I was planning to buy a a medium size for our family could she please let my son sample so that he could feel good too, you know included since everyone was having samples she said flat out no they dont do that cause its a topping. She then says trust me "the cherry topping tastes good" as if i wanted to get over and get free cherries for my family! lol I stated I know the cherry topping is good and so does my bf cause we ate there b4 more than once... but this was a 5yr olds 1st visit, i was only asking so he could feel included and get a "sample" too. I gave up... she looked disgruntled now like I asked her if i could move into her apt rent free. I bought a medium for us... with topping too so he could taste the cherry... but I think u guys who have kids know what I mean... its not the same. but he still smiled. Altough i do find the cheesecake flavor great! also the cherry mascapone and i love the cute containers i wont go again if they r gonna b that petty. she didnt seem nervous but maybe she thought she was gonna lose her job if she got busted offering my kid a cherry perserve sample. My bf thought it was kinda funny that a 5 yr old couldnt get a cherry sample on their tiny spoon on a 1st visit... to fit in... just cause it was a cherry topping. Bye Bye. U coulda been getting rich off of me as my latest addiction of the year... but no.
Featured content
5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers
Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips
MarianneH review for Rice To Riches
MarianneH on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/27/2011, 04:35 AM
My response to short-sighted Container complaints – I love the rice pudding and buy several solos on every trip to NYC. These containers, while seemingly not recyclable, ARE fantastic as RE-USABLE storage containers - they are air-tight and great for freezing single size meals and for microwaving. Let's not forget - Reduce, Reuse, Recycle. You can also bring your own container back and have it re-filled when you order - Take ownership rather than just complaining. I love the containers for the multiple uses I come up with after I've scraped up and eaten every tasty bit of rice pudding.
Food Mission review for Rice To Riches
Food Mission on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/21/2011, 02:23 AM
So Tasty! – This place is dangerous for the waist line! It is seriously good. My only complaint is that the containers are insanely environmentally irresponsible. I actually only break down and go about twice a year because of the containers (when I would like to be there once a week). It's a simple change that I don't understand why they won't make.
rchubly review for Rice To Riches
rchubly on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/10/2011, 01:30 AM
Rice pudding NOT LIKE YOUR MOM MADE! – if you can imagine 100 different kinds of rice pudding and delicious toppings as well -- its a rice pudding orgy -- great place to dazzle out of town guests -- try the coconut -- be fearless-- experiment -- its like an ice cream parlor- they will let you sample any flavor you like - then encourage your friends to get something different so you can share ! I adore this place -it's great fun - and it is so NOT about the service - just enjoy!
charityluis review for Rice To Riches
charityluis on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/02/2010, 16:16 PM
Terrible Customer Service – While the rice pudding is so delicious it would lure me into placing a $90 order online to be delivered to Virginia for my husbands birthday, the delivery was delayed by Fed Ex. It has been 2 days and not expected for at least another 2. It already ruined the birthday and now I'm still disappointed my husband won't even get it to enjoy, Anetta at Rice to Riches acts as if she's doing me a HUGE favor by either refunding the money or reshipping. No compensation offered at all. Nothing. No thanks Rice to Riches. We won't be doing business with you again.
satlan review for Rice To Riches
satlan on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/15/2010, 09:32 AM
durring the week days its acceptable , but on weekends it`s worst service ever!
prlgirl review for Rice To Riches
prlgirl on Citysearch

12 years ago

02/05/2010, 02:41 AM
Rice pudding heaven – Rice to riches is wall to wall rice pudding and toppings. Smack in the middle of SoHo is this brightly lit, futuristic looking rice pudding annonymous meeting spot. They have just over 20 flavors with catchy names like "sex, drugs and rocky road" and "fluent in french toast." And adding to the already sinful flavors with toppings such as brownie and espresso crumbles only makes emerging from the sugar coma that much worse. The only drawback is the throngs of people crowding the line for mulitple samples. And seating is a bit tough- hope you like your rice pudding with a side of stand up and eat. The only question is when are they opening the next one?! My fav -chocolate chip flirt with graham cracker topping.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.