Logo White
Watch Demo

Orphan Andys Restaurant

Own this business?
4.4
940 reviews
|Restaurants|San Francisco, CA 94114

3991 17th St, San Francisco, CA 94114

(415) 864-9795

https://www.facebook.com/pages/orphan-andys-restaurant/111223272233795

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
4.7
(558) · Restaurants

3719 MacArthur Blvd

(510) 482-3719
4.7
(975) · Restaurants

317 Petaluma Blvd S

(707) 559-3021

2 people are looking at this business

4.6
(979) · Restaurants

1895 Farm Bureau Rd B

(925) 825-8958

1 person is looking at this business

4.5
(727) · Diners

2698 Fremont Dr

(707) 938-7370

1 person is looking at this business

4.5
(625) · Diners

2801 24th St

(415) 826-4210
4.5
(316) · Diners

1122 1st St

(707) 812-6853
About

The red leather covering in the booths and on the chrome-stemmed stools at the counter let you know that this Castro Street institution is proudly 1950s retro. The food is classic 1950s diner fare, with hamburgers cooked to order and fries that are tender on the inside and crunchy on the outside. The milkshakes are almost too thick to get through the straw. Other sweet treats are from some of the finest bakeries in the Bay Area. The prices, too, are affordable. Located on the corner of Castro, this is a great place for people watching.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.4
940 reviews
5596
  
4199
  
376
  
219
  
143
  
7 reviews have no rating
  • 927 Reviews4.4Google
  • 6 Reviews4.2Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Rick R. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

02/26/2011, 09:26 AM
Good food - people watching This is a special place in the Castro lexicon of restaurants. A very large menu and most of it is well-prepared. Lots of good people watching is a major plus.
Rick R. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

02/26/2011, 01:04 AM
Good food - people watching This is a special place in the Castro lexicon of restaurants. A very large menu and most of it is well-prepared. Lots of good people watching is a major plus. I should mention that one young waiter boy was having a little difficulty with his nylons; I was thinking that he should get Joan Crawford playing Myra Hudson, to help him!
Nicholas C. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

11/19/2008, 16:44 PM
Pancakes! Always pretty lively, and has a unique mix of people. Deffently go there for dinner or breakfast. Burgers are good. The pancakes are some of the best I ever had.
Featured content
Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews

Review response templates: now no excuse not to respond to reviews
How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google

How to Solicit Reviews on Facebook and Google
Shushannah A. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

11/06/2008, 06:38 AM
Great menu I love this place for greasy diner food. They have a great selection and the food is quite tasty. The service is good and prices fair. What more can you ask for, except a great location? It has one of those, too!
Tracy G. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

02/14/2008, 00:33 AM
This place is great! Located in the heart of the Castro, Orphan Andy's offers good diner food at really good prices. The service is totally cool and friendly. I'd just recommend not using the "facilities."
sfbayareabear on Citysearch

12 years ago

01/26/2008, 16:32 PM
Best Chicken Fried Steak in town! – Friendly service and their sausage gravy is awesome. Can't speak for much else because all I every have their is their chicken fried steak because it is just that good!!!!!!!
patrickbad on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/22/2007, 05:03 AM
Good food, good prices, great hours. – I read the review where the people had to wait outside. Well, duh! If you have been inside you know how small this place is. I know some people dont care how the server is going to get you the food, but trust me on a busy night with drunk people everywhere, you need the space to deliver the food. Besides this place isn't your repsite from the rain anytime you need it. Grow up. This is a diner. You are not the center of the universe. So, if someone wakes you up ,you throw a fit and write a bad review? I have ate here many times. The food is good, the hours are great. And the service could be better, you get what you pay for.
cxarli on Citysearch

14 years ago

12/13/2006, 08:41 AM
The Line is Outside - Rain or Shine – I've been eating at Orphan Andy's for more years than I care to admit to. It has always been the policy that if seating is not immediately available, you must wait outside. Nor is Orphan Andy's the only establishment that has such a policy (e.g., Kate's Kitchen and The Pork Store). Orphan Andy's is your basic American short-order kitchen with average portion sizes. Depending on the cook, food quality can range from tolerable to very good. I can't recall when I had anything I'd call "excellent." Service can be a bit slow at peak times or if there's a rush when only one server is working. The main reasons to eat at Orphan Andy's are: (a) you're hungry when everything else is closed; (b) you like to watch the rainbow of people passing by; (c) you like looking at the cute guys (and the occasional gal) behind the counter; (d) you fancy a Monte Cristo Sandwich and can't think of anyplace else that has it on the menu.
Contributor on Citysearch

14 years ago

12/08/2006, 04:23 AM
A traditional American diner in the Castro draws a colorful crowd. – In Short The traditional vinyl booths and flashing jukebox pay homage to the classic diner. Castro revelers take full advantage of the 24/7 schedule, packing the place into the wee hours. The menu offers a standard catalog of American diner food--burgers, sandwiches, shakes and fries. Breakfast is a favorite here, both as an after-party pick-me-up and as a morning-after hangover cure.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.