Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Modern Vac & Sew Centers

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
3.2
9 reviews
|Appliances & Repair|Philadelphia, PA 19128

1650 Limekiln Pike, Philadelphia, PA 19128

(215) 487-7522

http://www.modernvacandsew.com/

Closed now

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Home Services in your area
5.0
(4) · Appliances & Repair

4455 W Lincoln Hwy

(610) 857-5784

4 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Appliances & Repair

1927 Stout Dr # 6

(215) 773-6900

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(8) · Appliances & Repair

2738 E County Line Rd

(610) 642-6261

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(14) · Appliances & Repair

2400 Egg Harbor Rd

(856) 627-0700

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(185) · Appliances & Repair

6013 Mansion Blvd

(856) 665-0711

9 people are looking at this business

4.2
(57) · Appliances & Repair

530 N Pleasantview Rd

(610) 327-1399

18 people are looking at this business

About

Vacuum Cleaner and Sewing Machine discounted sales, service for ALL brands and parts, supplies, bags, belts, filters, notions, etc.. We have been servicing the community since "1950" with factory authorized & trained technicians. Modern stocks about 20 brands with over 125 new machines on display and a very knowledgeable, friendly staff. Nobody tests, repairs, demonstrates, knows the "ins & outs" and the good from the bad products like a warranty service provider, long term specialty store! Do you want your purchase based on hype and unqualified, questionable reviews or on advice from the very people going to stand behind the product? Please believe we want satisfied customers and the opport

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

3.2
9 reviews
52
  
41
  
30
  
20
  
12
  
4 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
David S. review for Modern Vac & Sew Centers
David S. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

06/07/2012, 08:12 AM
Not for Dyson I took my Dyson there because it would not turn on. I spent $39.00 to have them give me a list of things that were broken but none of them was the switch. They wanted $199.00 to repair it and although they said they were a Dyson warranty center none of the problems would be covered under the 5 year warranty. I called Dyson to see what could be done only to find out that they ae not a warranty repair center. I pulled it out immediately and took it to the local Dyson warranty center and they fixed the switch and it cost me nothing, other then the none refundable $39.00 evaluation charge.
Respond to negative reviews
Paul B. review for Modern Vac & Sew Centers
Paul B. on Citysearch

10 years ago

03/18/2012, 13:46 PM
RIPPED OFF BY MODERN VA AND SEW – Avoid this rip-off - Took my Rainbow Vacuum to have a brass separator nut removed, that's all - vacuum was 100% operational only needed this nut removed to take off the filter - the "salesman" said that it could be done when his technician came in, that we should leave it after paying a $50 service charge. We thought ok if the "Salesman" could guarantee that the brass separator was removed. He said he guaranteed it and would phone us the next day. Well, 3 days later, no phone call, we called and were told that the nut could not be removed, that we needed $400 in repairs. We asked for our $50 back, but the "Salesman" said no that he was not going to return it, that the technician spent time determining that the nut would not come off. Well we are furious and will never go back there. We took it to another repair shop in Roxborough, and he took the nut off and didn't charge us anything.
Ed F. review for Modern Vac & Sew Centers
Ed F. on Insider Pages

10 years ago

03/18/2012, 01:21 AM
RIPPED OFF BY MODERN SEW AND VAC Avoid this rip-off - Took by Rainbow Vacuum to have a brass separator nut removed, that's all because the vacuum was 100% operational only needed this nut removed to take off the filter - the "salesman" said that it could be done when his technician came in, that we should leave it after paying a $50 service charge. We thought ok if the "Salesman" could guarantee that the brass separator was removed. He said he guaranteed it and would phone us the next day. Well, 3 days later, no phone call, we called and were told that the nut could not be removed, that we needed $400 in repairs. We asked for our $50 back, but the "Salesman" said no that he was not going to return it, that the technician spent time determining that the nut would not come off. Well we are furious and will never go back there. We took it to another repair shop in Roxborough, and he took the nut off and didn't charge us anything.
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It
Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network

Birdeye Adds Zillow and Trulia Reviews to its Network
lovetoshop2011 review for Modern Vac & Sew Centers
lovetoshop2011 on Citysearch

11 years ago

05/18/2011, 08:38 AM
When I visited Modern Vac & Sew Stores for the first time, I knew nothing about vacuums. The staff gave me personalized attention, educated me, and recommended a high quality machine that I am so happy with. I would recommend Modern Vac & Sew stores any day.
loveto s. review for Modern Vac & Sew Centers
loveto s. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

05/18/2011, 03:09 AM
I recommend Modern Vac & Sew Centers When I visited Modern Vac & Sew Stores for the first time, I knew nothing about vacuums. The staff gave me personalized attention, educated me, and recommended a high quality machine that I am so happy with. I would recommend Modern Vac & Sew stores any day.
happycustomer c. review for Modern Vac & Sew Centers
happycustomer c. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

04/14/2011, 06:04 AM
Modern Vac & Sew Stores I highly recommend Modern Vac & Sew Stores! The service and prices are unsurpassed, while the selection and quality of products they offer is top-notch. I've been going there for years and have purchased my second vacuum, which is a Simplicity Freedom Light-Weight. I am extremely pleased with my purchase as it is both lightweight yet powerful. Their team of professionals are true experts in the field and the personalized attention they give every customer is awesome. I have been a customer for over 15 years now and will not go anywhere else for my vac & sew needs. This place is great!
Ryan H. review for Modern Vac & Sew Centers
Ryan H. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

03/31/2009, 03:28 AM
Great specialty shop Sometimes it's hard to make it when you specialize in something, but you can tell these guys have been around so long because they know their stuff better than anyone. We've gone here with multiple vacuum problems and they've always been able to help out. The staff is very knowledgeable and they charge so little it's a wonder they stay in business. Definitely check them out if you need a new vacuum or sewing machine, or anything related to either of these.
ModernVac review for Modern Vac & Sew Centers
ModernVac on Citysearch

13 years ago

06/30/2008, 01:21 AM
Goal Is 100 Percent Customer Satisfaction – At Modern Vac & Sew Centers we proudly state that we have been in business since 1950 and represent, as an Authorized Sales & Service Center, over 12 major manufacturers! Our associates are all mechanics, as well as salespeople, and thoroughly knowledgeable of the products they demonstrate. We attempt to direct a client to quality products that meet their specific needs and budget. Our return policy is not only posted but on our sales receipts, charge slips and register receipts. Not only does Modern Vac service what we sell but supplies a free extended warranty on most new machines and a written guarantee on all repairs. We are sorry VALLEY GREEN was not satisfied but who tries to return a commercially used vacuum cleaner after "6" months? What business would take back such a machine? I will assume Modern Vac & Sew Center properly serviced their vacuum and we usually offer a free loaner. Our Goal Has Always Been 100 Percent Customer Satisfaction.
ValleyGreen review for Modern Vac & Sew Centers
ValleyGreen on Citysearch

14 years ago

05/06/2008, 03:42 AM
Good product and selection. Customer service and policies need to be addressed. – We have used Vac & Sew to have vacuums repaired and have purchased new items in the past. However, I will have to reconsider using them in the future. We purchased a vacuum from them approximately six months ago after it being recommended by the owner/manager of this business. Six months later, it stopped working. Unfortunately, when we took it in, we were not made aware of the "no-refund" policy when the vacuum was dropped off for service. This policy is not printed on any receipt given to us. After calling, I was told by the owner that "we have a sign above the register, that's all we need". After visits in the past and having various items serviced, this was never an issue, until this visit.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.