Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Midway Veterinary Hospital

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.2
9 reviews
|Other|Chesapeake, VA 23320

1646 S Military Hwy, Chesapeake, VA 23320

(757) 366-4050

https://midwayvethospital.com/

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(1) · Other

1625 Donna Dr.

(757) 422-3101
5.0
(1) · Other

7 Conway Rd

(757) 813-6770
5.0
(2) · Other

758 W 22nd St

(757) 627-8699
5.0
(1) · Other

3619 Virginia Beach Blvd

(757) 363-9109

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Other

900 Commonwealth Pl

(757) 366-0988
5.0
(1) · Other

1620 Centerville Turnpike

(757) 803-3877

2 people are looking at this business

About

Located in the heart of Chesapeake and serving all of Hampton Roads and the surrounding areas, Midway offers comprehensive veterinary care for all of your companion animals including dogs, cats, birds, reptiles and exotic mammals. Whether your animal needs a routine exam, an emergency visit or ongoing care, our dedicated and compassionate staff, along with our state of the art medicine, will ensure that your pet receives the best possible care. Established in 1984, new ownership as of the Fall of 2013 CHECK OUT OUR WEBSITE AND FIND US ON FACEBOOK!!!

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.2
9 reviews
54
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
11
  
4 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Ethan B. on Yellow Pages

6 years ago

07/29/2015, 15:27 PM
We took our guinea pig here for a visit since he wasn't doing well and he needed a vitamin C shot. 20 mins after the vitamin C shot, and the shot with fluids (since he was dehydrated), he died. The total bill was $136.83 and the doctor (Dr. Tony Poutous) would only refund us the $73 in medication, not the $63 upfront fee. I'm extremely dissatisfied with their service. It was a whole lot better when Dr. MacQueen was there. NEVER GO HERE! I would also recommend Providence Square Veterinary Hospital in the Kempsville area, as they service exotic animals and guinea pigs.
Respond to negative reviews
Sharon D. on Yellow Pages

6 years ago

06/24/2015, 05:32 AM
I met Dr. Schacker at Pet Smart and followed her to Midway. It was a bit of a drive for us but she is a wonderful vet. My husband asked me why I went to a vet so far away. I told him she was worth it. The first time my husband came with me to the vet, He understood why and agreed with me that she was a wonderful vet.
Funnyface on Citysearch

8 years ago

12/12/2013, 06:13 AM
Cat Died – I brought my cat in more than once with problems with his stomach(could not do #2) the last time they kept him for couple days to use IV's and force fluids into him to help him pass a hard piece of matter in him. i called checking on him and the last time i did they said i could pick him up. when i picked him up that afternoon after work he was very drozzey and wasnt him self, they said cause of the med's to keep him sedcated, when i got him he was so tired he never laid on my feet before and he just slept a lot, about 4 -5 hours later i heard a loud scream in the kitchen and thumb noise. when i ran out he was dead. who fault is that? i told them and they didnt care. i would not trust them with a bee!! let along a family loved pet. I never went back to do any business with again. i see others had problems. UPDATE 12/12/13. ABOUT 1 YEAR AGO RUTH WAS killed in head on car crash. too bad. but sometime god works in mysterious ways. now she is with my cat in heaven. i DIDNT think she did a good job with my cat.
Featured content
SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in
How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses
teachscuba on Superpages

9 years ago

11/17/2012, 06:27 AM
Sad to learn of the sudden passing of Dr. Ruth in an auto accident. She treated my Dachshund for several years and Dr. Ruth and her staff were always giving 110% to both the pet and the owner. She so loved Anthony that she asked and I granted bequeathing Anthony to Dr. Ruth if something happened to me. A generous, kind, professional Lady with a passion for her patients, their owners and insuring all animals were cared for--paying or not. Donations in her memory are asked to be given to the DIZZY FUND at Midway Veterinary Hospital to allow continuing care in Dr. Ruth's memory. Thank you Dr. Ruth and the Midway staff! Rest in Peace - you earned it just way too early!
pressurewashdoc on Superpages

10 years ago

03/19/2011, 15:22 PM
We have been taking our pets to Dr. MacQueen for many years and they have always received EXCELLENT care from her. We have dogs now but one of the really cool things about this hospital is that they take care of almost ANY pet...dogs, cats, birds, rabbits and even turtles and snakes! If you're looking for a really great veterinarian for your pet, call Dr. MacQueen.
rjm11 on Citysearch

11 years ago

03/17/2011, 11:52 AM
Great experience! – I take my hamster to midway veterinary hospital and I would not consider taking my pet anywhere else. The staff is friendly, the prices are fair, and they really seem to care about the animals. Dr. Macqueen is great with animals and knows alot about small animals. I would recommend them to anyone!
Guest53501 on Superpages

11 years ago

03/16/2011, 09:57 AM
I have a hamster that I took to Midway and I would highly recommend this place to anyone. The staff was friendly, the prices were fair, and they seem to really care about the animals. I will take all of my pets there in the future.
bishoujo on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/12/2009, 18:57 PM
Do NOT take your loved one to this vet – Never really satisfied with their customer service, my last nerve was plucked when my dog came into the clinic with obvious health concerns. We told Dr. Ruth Ann MacQueen our concerns and she dismissed them, stating that she could not see anything wrong with my dog after she had felt his belly and took his temperature (activities that cost $80). She was extremely rude, telling my brother and me to "sit" like WE were dogs. Two days later I brought my dog to another clinic (he looked and acted the same way as he did the day we visited Dr. Ruth Ann MacQueen) where the doctor immediately noticed that something was wrong. Turns out my dog had pancreatitis and was severely dehydrated. We checked him into an emergency hospital where he was on fluids for 24 hours. He is currently recovering. It is also known that Dr. Ruth Ann MacQueen has k1lled a dog on the operating table during a routine procedure. Unfortunately, that information has been removed from the Virginia Department of Health Professions website (it has been more than 90 days), if not, I would have been more than happy to provide a link. If you want quality care for your loved one, this is NOT the place for you to go. Needless to say, my dog and I will be going elsewhere.
ReginaHines on Citysearch

12 years ago

03/18/2009, 06:48 AM
Ruth McQueen is a wonderful Reptile Vet – I had an emergency situation with my Bearded Dragons. I was scared because their beards had swollen without any change in their daily routine. I was not her customer but she fit me in before her surgeries, treated me with kindness, comforted my pets, gave me great information and charged me a fair price. Great staff and a wonderful experience! If you are looking for a person who really cares about your pet, Ruth McQueen and Midway Vet Hospital are great!
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.