Logo White
Watch Demo

Max's On the Square

Own this business?
5.0
17 reviews
|Other|San Francisco, CA 94102

398 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102

(415) 646-8600

http://maxsworld.com/

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(1) · Other

5108 Forest View Dr

(408) 257-3247
5.0
(8) · Other

5655 College Ave

(510) 250-6005
5.0
(5) · Other

2551 San Ramon Valley Blvd

(925) 552-9834
5.0
(20) · Other

1011 Kearny St

(415) 494-9249

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Other

1630 Gateway Blvd Ste E

(707) 425-6100
5.0
(9) · Other

1030 Georgia St Ste B

(707) 246-2016
About

Editorial fromLocated in the heart of San Francisco, minutes from Union Square, this diner-deli offers patrons reasonably-priced American fare. Choose from a long list of mile-high sandwiches, burgers, soups and salads and classic comfort foods…

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
5.0
17 reviews
51
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
16 reviews have no rating
  • 1 Review5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
chloeluvsushi on Citysearch

9 years ago

06/01/2011, 03:10 AM
Classy-Casual Perfection! – Was on a pre-graduation trip with my classmates to gorgeous SF when we were in a jam when it came to a dinner reservation. The bartender at our hotel recommended Max's with a huge smile, and man...it was SO good! After a quick call, they accommodated our party of 12 with no wait. The menu is good - classic sammys, pastas, chicken, burgers, and fantastic desserts. Gorgeous restaurant - very nice place to relax. The only downside was that they were out of a lot of things. Our party tried to order mango iced teas, (were out of mango flavoring), apple pie, (out), and the philly cheese steak, (out).
heyitsJO on Citysearch

10 years ago

02/27/2010, 01:59 AM
Good for people-watching – Upon recommendation of our bellhop man person at the Westin St. Francis, we walked over to Max's for a late-night dinner. From where we were sitting, the view out the window was of a group of fancy-shmancy hipsters waiting around for who-knows-what (a taxi? a club to open?)... the boyfriend noted that one of the females looked like Lady Gaga. Yes. THOSE kinds of hipsters. I sipped my DELICIOUS peach iced tea and just smiled in agreeance. I don't remember much of the actual dinner, except I don't think we liked it as much... crab cakes. Their crab cakes aren't the best, but they're still pretty good. I'd recommend this place if you're in the area and need a place to grub and be merry!
Mindy M. on Insider Pages

12 years ago

05/22/2008, 03:08 AM
Fantastic Breakfast This is a great place for breakfast. Judging by the crowd, I'm not the only one that feels that way. I had a fantastic order of french toast - and I'm not the big of a breakfast fan! They also make some pretty good cookies for snacks too.
Featured content
How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website

How to Set Up a Facebook Review Widget on Your Website
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
mxgirl280 on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/23/2007, 02:19 AM
Decent Food............ – My boyfriend and I had breakfast here while visiting the fantastic city of SF. Portions were beyond huge, and service was average. Had no real complaints until I was totally stuffed and waiting for my guy to finish eating, so I was looking around taking the place in, when on the wall behind my boyfriend I saw a "pest" of the six legged variety just crawling around like it was his regular routine! Felt kinda ill after that! I know all restuarants have some "pest", but when they are sharing a table with you, its just not right!
ptjessen on Citysearch

13 years ago

04/05/2007, 01:12 AM
This place get's it right EVERY TIME! – One of my favorite places to dine. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the food always generous and tasty. Stay away when the pre-theater crowds are eating, as it will be noisy and rushed. Any other time is fabulous. In the tradition of an East Coast diner, they have a very extensive menu (lot's of sandwiches), and fantastic calorie laden desserts. Prices are very reasonable. Max's is a must if you like good, basic food and consistent great service.
hbi0806 on Citysearch

14 years ago

03/14/2006, 01:43 AM
Eh – Overpriced and the food ranged from bad to just "ok". Do not order the lasagna--it only comes with one layer of noodles and cheese with thin sauce in between. We also had an order of the brisket at the table but it was nothing out of the ordinary. The brocolli was so hard you could knock out the waiter! The dessert was nothing out of the ordinary. I had high hopes but this restaurant is overrated!
Gina Goff on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/23/2005, 04:02 AM
Enormous sandwiches, decadent desserts and a New York sensibility keep this jazzed-up deli bustling. – In Short Located a couple of blocks off Union Square in the Maxwell Hotel, this lively sandwich shop does a brisk business with hungry shoppers and hotel guests. A handful of noshers sit at the fully stocked bar, nibbling on appetizers like popcorn shrimp and stuffed mushrooms. Groups pile into oversized booths near the windows and people-watch while waiting for platters of burgers, barbecued ribs and piled-high corn beef and pastrami hoagies on house-baked bread.
usboa9vb on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/25/2005, 02:45 AM
Recommended Indead! – We came at a busy time, had to wait, expected to. But food and service was excellent, I would recommend anytime.
vassariggy on Citysearch

15 years ago

07/02/2005, 01:43 AM
Great Sandwiches, Deli off of Union Square – I've visited twice so far: once when my father visited, and again when both my parents were out for a visit. Max's has a huge selection of sandwiches which, having been to many a NY deli, are just as good as its east-coast counterparts. The sandwiches are big: not enough for two, but more than enough for one. The pastrami and corned-beef is excellent, very lean and tender. The menu has many options besides sandwiches, but I haven't tried anything else...yet. Deserts look very temping but are very large and by the time I'm done with a sandwich I never have room left! Service is always fast and friendly. Recommend for a great sandwich and meal off the touristy Powell/Union Square scene.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.