Logo White
Watch Demo

Maggie's Farm Rum Distillery

Own this business?

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
151 reviews
|Distilleries|Pittsburgh, PA 15201

3212a Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15201

(412) 709-6480

https://www.maggiesfarmrum.com/

Open now:11:00 am - 10:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
About

Maggie's Farm is an independent craft distillery and the maker of Pennsylvania's first rums since Prohibition. We are one of the most awarded rum distilleries in America since our inception in 2013, including awards for Best-in-Category Liqueur, Best-in-Category Spiced Rum, Best-in-Class Rum, Best-in-Show Spirit, a USA Today 10-Best, and two-time Pennsylvania Distillery of the Year, all from prestigious American craft and international spirits competitions. All spirits are distilled on our Spanish-made copper pot still located just behind our cocktail bar in Pittsburgh's Strip District. Spirits are available for sale by the bottle for take-out or by the glass at our bar during cocktail spiri

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 60,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.7
151 reviews
5120
  
411
  
33
  
23
  
16
  
8 reviews have no rating
  • 121 Reviews4.8Google
  • 22 Reviews4.0Trip Advisor
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
traveler_dac on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

11/22/2017, 00:05 AM
Great variety, but they hold it down with the white rum Definitely go for the tasting as they have a great variety and some stuff you wouldn’t expect. I’m not usually a white rum guy, but I took home a bottle.
Christie Y on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

11/07/2017, 00:05 AM
Fabulous! I came here with family who live in the area and frequently come here to enjoy cocktails. I'm more of a beer person, but I'm starting to think I can appreciate a good cocktail now and then. Now that I know what a cocktail should taste like, I think I'll try more! So, coming from a person who doesn't necessarily love rum, I ordered the Painkiller. The bartender suggested it as it's their most popular drink. It was yummy! So fresh and drinkable. They had several drinks to choose from that showcased their own rum. They also had a few beers available. You will not be disappointed. The environment is cozy and service is friendly.
Nancy H on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

11/03/2017, 01:01 AM
A gem of a rum distillery in the Strip My husband, 2 friends and I had a great time here! The distillery is the award winning maker of Maggie’s Farm Rum, the first commercially available, Pennsylvania made craft rum since Prohibition. The rum is excellent (if a bit pricey by the bottle), and so is the long list of cocktails. Between us, we sampled 5 different drinks---from the simple, a delicious rum Old Fashioned, to a complex drink made with coffee and cream. I've forgotten it's name, but it packs a punch while going down really easily! We also tried the Smooth Sailing, Painkiller, the white Sangria, and one other. There are a few, like the Zombie, that have a 2 drink limit. You can also get a tasting of the different rums. The bartender was awesome. During the week, he's a Pittsburgh fireman, but on the job at Maggie's, he really knows what he's doing. He can make a dynamite drink, joke with the customers, and keep things moving efficiently. If you're from Pittsburgh, it's easy to find, on Smallman between 32nd and 33rd Streets. Because it's in a more industrial area than the busy part of the Strip closer to town, parking is not a problem. It is easy to miss if you're not looking for it, with a simple sign saying The Rum Room on the side of the warehouse like building. Inside is just what they need---a small bar and several booths, with the distilling equipment in back behind the bar. It wasn't real crowded in the afternoon, but I imagine it would pick up later on, when people stop in before or after dinner in Lawrenceville or the Strip. I did find myself wishing they had a few munchies, but I can see why they want to keep it simple, and keep the focus on the rum. And there are a lot of places to eat within a few miles. Sitting at the bar, indulging in several different, delicious drinks, chatting with the bartender, you feel like you're in a special place. There is really nothing like it in Pittsburgh. You should go!
Featured content
Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating

Trust Economy: Why Google and BirdEye Are Against Review Gating
Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?

Review manager vs. reputation management: what's the difference?
cdburns97 on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

07/22/2017, 01:06 AM
First time visit! Big time surprised! First visit to the rum bar and we were floored! Great rum drinks in Pittsburgh on a raining Saturday were perfect. Definitely keeping this on the list! Get the harry Nilsson if you are a big fan of coconut.
919bryanw on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

07/09/2017, 01:06 AM
Do not pass this place up!!! Very cool location and great service. Hand crafted very well made cocktails. The best old fashioned I have ever tasted. The rum is smooth and drinkable with good flavor. Bought a bottle to take home. Support this local gem.
lanalou1137 on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

05/15/2017, 01:00 AM
Sketchy area, nice surprise inside! Odd location this is in, and unless your GPS screams at you to stop, you might just blow right by it. Small hand-painted sign next to the door is rather dark and easy to miss after dusk. Place is in an old industrial type of area, but they have decorated the inside nicely. Kept it clean and simple with exposed venting and such. Bartender on the Saturday night before Mother's Day was really informative and proud of their rums, did a great job of explaining them all and he rolled with the punches when I misheard him. They have 2 of their own liquors on their tasting flight, which are phenomenal. And that same bartender is really good with his creations, mixing them up fast, and all were fantastic. Nice visit, would easily stop here again for drinks when visiting the area, as it seems to have a group of local regulars that hang here. All really nice people. Even got to sample some rum cake from a little competition they had - which was delish! Really neat vibe here.
cherylr385 on Trip Advisor

4 years ago

02/26/2017, 00:06 AM
Trip to the strip I did not know we had a rum factory in Pittsburgh! We had a great time the four us stopped in. The owner was friendly, knowledgeable and passionate about his business! We sampled the rum as he explained each one. Highly recommend! Had fun and rum!
Connor on Foursquare

4 years ago

02/20/2017, 00:04 AM
Park on the street. You won't be ticketed (especially on weekend). The Painkiller drink is delicious. The Black Rum was my favorite straight rum.
Ken G on Trip Advisor

5 years ago

03/20/2016, 01:02 AM
Nice place to learn about Rum! We stumbled upon Maggies Farm. From the outside it looks a bit Biker Bar ish, but we decided to venture in. We met the master distiller and he educated us on the process and flavours of rum. An enjoyable visit.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.