Logo White
Watch Demo

Maggie's Farm Rum Distillery

Own this business?
4.7
151 reviews
|Distilleries|Pittsburgh, PA 15201

3212a Smallman St, Pittsburgh, PA 15201

(412) 709-6480

https://www.maggiesfarmrum.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
About

Maggie's Farm is an independent craft distillery and the maker of Pennsylvania's first rums since Prohibition. We are one of the most awarded rum distilleries in America since our inception in 2013, including awards for Best-in-Category Liqueur, Best-in-Category Spiced Rum, Best-in-Class Rum, Best-in-Show Spirit, a USA Today 10-Best, and two-time Pennsylvania Distillery of the Year, all from prestigious American craft and international spirits competitions. All spirits are distilled on our Spanish-made copper pot still located just behind our cocktail bar in Pittsburgh's Strip District. Spirits are available for sale by the bottle for take-out or by the glass at our bar during cocktail spiri

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.7
151 reviews
5120
  
411
  
33
  
23
  
16
  
8 reviews have no rating
  • 121 Reviews4.8Google
  • 22 Reviews4.0Trip Advisor
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
ReneeW0123 on Trip Advisor

a year ago

06/03/2019, 01:08 AM
Rotten Costumer Service... Just Plain Mean and Rude Customers be warned... Stay away! I love supporting local businesses and finding unique gems in the city of Pittsburgh, but cross this from your list. The main bartender serving us (and conveniently the owner's wife) was just plain rotten/rude to me and my friends. She seemed mad and annoyed that we were at the bar (at one point she even started yelling at us saying we taking up too much space for people to get to the bathroom). Mind you, we were all in our 30s there for a happy hour- just hanging out. It was very bizarre behavior. If you are visiting from Pittsburgh or looking for a cool new place, do not go to Maggie's Farm Rum. Try Wiggle, Cinderlands, Church Brewhouse, or R Wine Cellar instead. On the plus, they were playing the No Doubt Tragic Kingdom and the other bartender was quite lovely. Maybe the owner should consider moving people to behind the scenes.
Respond to negative reviews
j0hnnyd1969 on Trip Advisor

a year ago

04/14/2019, 01:03 AM
Great Rum! Stop by for one of their specialty drinks and enjoy the rum! I bought several different flavors of their product and enjoy the drinks they have on menu!
tcamp0000 on Trip Advisor

a year ago

03/18/2019, 01:08 AM
Fun place, nice service Good mixed drinks with the rum made on-site. enjoyed our time there talking to locals and the bartender.
Featured content
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively
Andre6704 on Trip Advisor

a year ago

03/08/2019, 00:02 AM
Very disappointing from friends’ reviews We had heard such amazing reviews from this place. Unfortunately, the night we went, their bartenders seemed distracted and the owner was extremely rude. These drinks were pretty good but the bathrooms were disgusting. I am surprised the health inspectors give them such a positive review. I would get somewhere else for ‘craft cocktails’
brendaemily on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

01/20/2019, 00:02 AM
Wonderful place, terrible "tour" First thing's first: this place is great, and you should go there. The rum is top-notch, the vibe is chill, and the out-of-the-way location only adds to its appeal (for me). So why the poor rating? It was the tour. My friend and I were doing a girls' weekend in Pittsburgh, and thought the "distillery tour" would be a great addition to our activities. It wasn't. Let me explain. The "tour" is $20 per person, so for one hour for the two of us it was $42.80 with tax. No worries, if it would be worth it. Well, we arrived and the tour began promptly. We were asked, with about 7 or 8 other people on the tour, to step into the area behind the bar. This is were most of the rum production occurs, and can be seen from the bar area itself. Our "tour guide" was also the distiller himself, which is pretty cool. He sat down on a stool and started talking. While we stood there. And stood there. And stood there. For an hour, he sat and talked while the group shifted back and forth on our feet, just standing there without even a glass of water. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable, but the huge majority of what he discussed was the history behind rum, which did get a bit tedious. And not to be too nit-picky, but he showed up to lead the "tour" in an obviously sweaty t-shirt, so the visuals there weren't great. He did point to the various things in the room used in the distilling process, and explain how that works. Finally, an hour later, the "tour" was concluding. He broke out several bottles of rum and put a splash of each, one by one, into a thimble-sized disposable plastic cup for each of us. These, we were expected to sip in succession, with no water, no nibbles, nothing to drink or munch in between. My friend loves rum, but she wasn't very interested in sipping a full-proof liquor straight, then moving on to another. And that was it. The "tour" was over. Yes, you get a souvenir glass to take home, but I have too many souvenir glasses already, and I wasn't in this for the glass, it was for the experience. Which was bad. We were so relieved when it was over. Now, as someone who's worked in three different breweries, I think that tours can be a wonderful thing. This particular tour clearly needs an overhaul, and my suggestions are below. Or, you can stop reading now. I would definitely recommend visiting this place and having a delicious beverage at the bar! First, to improve the tour, incorporate the product throughout the experience. Figure out how to introduce each different type of rum at, say, 10-minute intervals, so the tasting is a part of the tour. Provide water and perhaps some bland crackers or other munchies to go along with these tastings. Second, MOVE! Go on an actual tour! There's a sweet-looking back room that you can view through some windows -- why didn't we go back there?!? Walk around the distilling room itself. Maybe have "stations" set up where the different rums will be sampled. Don't force people to stand in one spot for an hour! Third, provide seating for the group, not just the tour guide. My friend recently had vein surgery, and shouldn't have been standing still the whole time like that. Other people were clearly annoyed and uncomfortable as well. Fourth, provide a bit more booze. For $20 I don't expect to get hammered, but a warm feeling of joviality would be nice, and would get the group interacting and enjoying the experience, rather than standing woodenly side-by-side. My friend and I left sober as toddlers. Maggie's Farm Rum, I believe in you! You can do this!
MacGirlie on Foursquare

2 years ago

08/18/2018, 01:05 AM
Great locally made rum and cocktails!
Kimberly T on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

08/09/2018, 01:04 AM
Need to Update Hours on Website We walked to Maggie's Farm Rum Distillery from Wigle's Tasting Room based on the assumption they were open. Based on their website, they were open for tastings and service. It was a little farther than we realized to walk, but it was worth it to try another distillery and rum (which is a favorite over whiskey). When we got there, the door was unlocked, but they were not open for service. The lady behind the counter was clearly put out and rude we showed up. Even the sign on the door said they were open for sales, but not tastings that day (we looked on the way out to figure out what we had done wrong). We were clearly not wanted. If we were greeted in any way that wasn't confrontational, we would have purchased without sampling, but felt very unwelcome. If they don't want people coming on the wrong days, they should have their website up to date. For non-locals, we didn't see the tiny print on the door with the adjusted hours.
Respond to negative reviews
michellebjacobs on Trip Advisor

2 years ago

06/01/2018, 01:04 AM
Bad service- so disappointing Traveled all the way from Florida to try with a group of rum enthusiasts. Even though group of 6 emailed ahead about a tasting, we were greeted with the worst severice I have ever experienced. They were upset because they said they were too busy squeezing limes for Thursday night's bar (not even a special event). When we explained that we scheduled our visit ahead of time they went ahead and allowed us to do the tasting but they were bitter about it. The rum tasting was below average.
Respond to negative reviews
rosemaryg750 on Trip Advisor

3 years ago

12/04/2017, 00:05 AM
Pittsburgh Hidden Gem I really wanted to visit and do some tasting. My group was reluctant because no one heard of this place when asking around. We went in anyway. Super glad we did! Bartender was friendly and knowledgeable. Drinks were tasty. A must find when visiting Pittsburgh.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.