Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

L Ecole

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
63 reviews
|Other|New York, NY 10013

462 Broadway 1, New York, NY 10013

(212) 219-3300

Not Specified

Closed now
Suggest edits
Top Other in your area
5.0
(1) · Other

3 Ricki Ln

(845) 469-6000
5.0
(1) · Other

105-25 65 ave suite P3

(718) 490-8759

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(4) · Other

260 39th St

(718) 499-6793
5.0
(2) · Other

480 New Rochelle Rd

(914) 663-8342

2 people are looking at this business

5.0
(1) · Other

15 Alexander Pl

(914) 384-7110

4 people are looking at this business

5.0
(2) · Other
About

Editorial fromHere you can taste the fruits of the most advanced students' labors. The menu changes seasonally, so make sure to come back for a whole new experience.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 60,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
63 reviews
52
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
61 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
rifraf2013 on Citysearch

10 years ago

01/01/2012, 06:38 AM
Sad, Disappointing Experience – After an enjoyable lunch we booked our son's 21st birthday 1 month in advance (per their reservation guidelines) in the separate private dining room. Being polite we called to say that we were running 20 minutes for the second and last seating. We were assured that our room would not be given away. Upon arrival with a 96 year old great grandmother and 2 grandmothers in their 80s we were greeted with "oh there were some really nice visitors from the UK who really wanted that table and we figured you wouldn't mind" Mind? That's why I called at 9:01 AM 30 days in advance. Restaurant was messy, carpets dirty, extremely noisy, food plentiful but mediocre and then the staff harangued my husband on the way out for the small tip which we explained in a notation. I responded that they ruined my son's once in a lifetime 21st birthday (how I regret not going to 21) and that they should get their big tip from the party that got the table that we reserved a month in advance who were still there when we departed. Ugh, Ugh triple ugh; so many terrific restaurants in NYC; this is not one of them and it isn't inexpensive either.
TardyKat on Citysearch

10 years ago

07/21/2011, 01:27 AM
Service was top notch – We were very impressed with the Restaurant Week menu. There was so much to choose from. I had the warm asparagus salad with soft boiled egg and pancetta crumbs (I wish I had more bread to soak up the yoke!), grilled hanger steak with vidalia onion rings and creamed corn (more like soup, we needed spoons to eat it), and fresh strawberry tart and creme fraiche ice cream (which nearly melted away by the time I got it). My friend had the seasonal salad with watermelon radishes, shimeji mushrooms, pickled cherry tomatoes with sherry shallot vinaigrette, hanger steak, and green tea opera cake with red currant sorbet (the cake was a small sliver and was too dry). The portions weren't large but we were satiated. Excellent service.
nina nina on Citysearch

11 years ago

10/28/2010, 07:56 AM
Many times was nice, once not – Well prepared, not expensive, good taste. Went back 3rd time in december 2010 and nothig were right. Every dish had own problem. Probably new group of students. Way to much salt, too much dripping in oil-fat, way to much sharp dressing, pinenuts were tasting old. Even wine not good. Could not eat anything. Room manager was considering.
Featured content
5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers

5 Top Review Sites for Lawyers
13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021

13 travel review sites you need to know in 2021
silverblue on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/28/2010, 00:20 AM
A brunch that did not live up to expectations – My highly anticipated brunch experience at L’ecole was underwhelming, to my disappointment. I had high hopes for the establishment, although it must be noted that the $19.50 2-course prix fixe brunch menu is not part of The French Culinary Institute’s curriculum. Students volunteer their time and work under the supervision of professional chefs. The course started off with the bread basket; an assortment of delicious and freshly baked muffins, gourmet pastries and crackers. I could eat these all day! The bloody Mary was one of the best I’d ever had – fresh and with excellent presentation! However, it was the food that disappointed: For appetizers, the Steak Tartar with quail egg didn’t taste very fresh and had a darker red color to it. The Cumin Roasted Butternut Squash and Almond Soup was tasty but a little too creamy and heavy. The Butter Poached Shrimp was the biggest disappointment – it was cold and a little ‘hardened’ for my taste. For entrees, my dining companions had the Croque Madame and the L’Ecole Burger, which were pretty good but the flavorful Duck Confit was probably the best dish for lunch, although no better than the duck at Balthazar. After a slew of yummy brunch cocktails such as the Ruby Blossom and Easy like Sunday Mimosa, we had no room for dessert. Overall, brunch was just mediocre although we enjoyed sitting at the bar and chatting up the friendly bartender. I would give it a second chance and come back for the 5-course dinner that is prepared by FCI’s students.
Lan T. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

02/26/2010, 07:29 AM
Wonderful 5 star experience Must make reservations way in advance but well worth it. You get 5 courses. We chose an appetizer, a meat and a fish dish, then we get palete cleanser and a gourmet dessert. Well worth the $40 price tag. The decor was nice and it is a very busy restaurant. One day we will get to come visit again
Scoop NYC on Citysearch

12 years ago

12/14/2009, 03:21 AM
Great food at a great price – Darn. I thought I'd found a secret but there are already more than 50 reviews. Without repeating all the nice -- and true -- things that have been written about the food, let me praise this place for something else. I had an 8:30 reservation on a Saturday night and walked in to find no table ready for 20 minutes. This happens at a lot of restaurants, and most of them act like my time is no big deal. L'Ecole, on the other hand, comped my party to a round of drinks after just 10 minutes. By the time we were ready to order at about 9:15, the kitchen was already out of two things we had wanted. Again, this is pretty common when dining late, but L'Ecole went the extra step to make amends by comping us another round of drinks. I realize that running a restaurant is a very complex task, but too many restaurants make no effort to compensate customers for their inevitable mistakes. I was delighted to find one that did, and did so cheerfully.
leeumphrey on Citysearch

13 years ago

12/30/2008, 00:16 AM
Precision dining – It was cold and snowy when L'Ecole became our oasis for friendliness and warmth. The hostess seated us swiftly without circumstance followed by the waitress for our drink orders and to describe the specials. Our organization, Math for America, was particularly keen to hold our holiday luncheon at the French Culinary Institute because of the stellar reputation for quality food and to observe students who are being trained by the best. We believe that to teach math you must know math so we wanted to see a parallel culinary world in action. We were not disappointed and found the waitress friendly and knowledgeable while the food, especially the roasted octopus and smoked salmon, delectable. For entrees,the monkfish, striped bass and braised ribs were excellent. The cost, quality and experience for NYC dining is unrivaled. On a snowy day, or a sunny one, we will count on L' Ecole being our fine dining oasis in Manhattan.
juliekal on Citysearch

13 years ago

12/06/2008, 02:34 AM
perfect french cuisine – this place knows what's important - the focus is on the food. simple but perfect french food. food was delicious.i had the tomato goat cheese and the crusted lamb chops with ratatouille. this is a great place to bring the parents to but it's cheap enough that it can also be a more regular part of your diet.
sweetemmy on Citysearch

13 years ago

10/02/2008, 03:43 AM
FANTASTIC.. – FANTASTIC. Why? It's cute. It's tucked away and not screaming for attention (but still busy as can be, so you know they must be doing something right). It's casual and unpretentious, but very still very classy and oh-so-French. It's delicious. The food was so well-prepared, with flavors that were not too heavy or overdone. The portions were just about the right size. Our servers was perfect and did their job flawlessly with great timing. I sometimes hesitate to give 5 stars based on just one-time experiences, but the fact that I cannot wait to go back for more says enough for me.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.