Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Jazz Standard

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.6
615 reviews
|Bars|New York, NY 10016 United States

116 E 27th St, New York, NY 10016 United States

(212) 576-2232

https://www.jazzstandard.com/

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

2361 7th Ave (Corner of 138th St)

(347) 469-9918
5.0
(6) · Restaurants

45 Nassau St

(917) 916-8345
5.0
(92) · Restaurants

15 East 7th Street

(212) 473-9148
5.0
(117) · Restaurants

96 Lafayette St

(888) 812-9060
4.8
(256) · Bars

14 Main St

(845) 947-7625
4.8
(373) · Restaurants

145 Westchester Ave

(914) 937-4126
About

Jazz Standard, the upscale and relaxing jazz club, has found success thanks to its good location and high quality entertainment. Playing host to performances by some of the biggest names in the Jazz world, this is one venue you simply can't miss. Sip on a fine drink and feast on a palatable meal while the great artists leave you amazed with their music. The typical cover charge at Jazz Standard is pricey but reasonable by Manhattan standards. The sound system is excellent, and there is seating for a total of 130 people.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.6
615 reviews
5438
  
4121
  
318
  
24
  
112
  
22 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Featured
Aris review for Jazz Standard
Aris on Insider Pages

3 months ago

10/27/2022, 01:32 AM
Jazz Standard Fine venue so intimate . . just that one pole in the way . .make sure you are not behind it
Nanette review for Jazz Standard
Nanette on Insider Pages

3 months ago

10/27/2022, 01:32 AM
Top Quality Jazz Once you go here, you'll keep wanting to come back. No matter who's playing, the music is always of the highest quality. They showcase many of the greatest jazz musicians of our time there as well as (as yet unknown) powerhouses of talent. The setting is definitely upscale and the food, catered by Danny Meyer's Blue Smoke pit barbecue restaurant upstairs, is not like anything you've ever had in a jazz club before.
Aris S. review for Jazz Standard
Aris S. on Insider Pages

8 years ago

01/21/2015, 09:50 AM
Jazz Standard Fine venue so intimate . . just that one pole in the way . .make sure you are not behind it
Featured content
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)

How a mass text service can help real estate agents (with templates)
audbon review for Jazz Standard
audbon on Yellow Pages

13 years ago

03/29/2010, 12:19 PM
First of all, they ran out of mashed potatoes! The service was slow and the food was god awful. The deviled eggs tasted like pure horseradish! The shrimp corn dogs were a fried mushy blob. I ordered the filet minion with goat cheese potato pancake, the pancake was inedible and tasted perfumey. The meat was rare when I ordered medium rare and the sauce was obviously sitting out for a while because the edges were turning darker. My sister in-law got sick on top of everything. The banana cream pie was mediocre. Waited over an hour for expensive crap! never again! Chef Ramsey needs to do a kitchen nightmares in this place!
Respond to negative reviews
Nanette K. review for Jazz Standard
Nanette K. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

11/05/2009, 09:06 AM
Top Quality Jazz Once you go here, you'll keep wanting to come back. No matter who's playing, the music is always of the highest quality. They showcase many of the greatest jazz musicians of our time there as well as (as yet unknown) powerhouses of talent. The setting is definitely upscale and the food, catered by Danny Meyer's Blue Smoke pit barbecue restaurant upstairs, is not like anything you've ever had in a jazz club before.
otroyansky review for Jazz Standard
otroyansky on Citysearch

14 years ago

01/26/2009, 05:13 AM
Rude Musician, Unimpressive Food – Our recent experience at Blue Smoke was horrible! It had less to do with the service, food, ambiance etc. and more to do with the band that was performing there that night. We were seated right in front of the musicians and everything was going well until the composer/saxophonist (who happened to be an 80 year old man) proceeded to scold us for so much as moving a finger during the performance. We literally could not breathe, smile, or blink during the set. He commented and said ?why do people who don?t enjoy this music always have to sit in the front?. It was very demoralizing and embarrassing especially since no one in our group was being disrespectful to him. Thankfully the club manager refunded us the $30 cover after we complained, but we left very annoyed and our night was ruined! The food itself (specifically the ribs and gumbo) were not impressive. I double we?ll ever be back.
deem8 review for Jazz Standard
deem8 on Citysearch

15 years ago

04/17/2008, 03:31 AM
worst service in town – first time at jazz standard we tried the "world-famous" BBQ, which was served cold and came to the table faster than our drinks, but our server was nice, plus we went there for the music anyway, so didn't care too much. second time was today and I'm still kinda mad. (I work in a 4 star restaurant in midtown so I look at the service differently, but have never got upset over poor service or anything) I was in the neighborhood today and sat down to have a drink. There is a couple at one table and a guy eating at another one. I sat between them, in front of the server who's chatting with the couple. There are no menus on the table. So I'm sitting there waiting for the server to come to me with the menus I guess... He's still chatting, which is fine, it's been only 5 minutes. Another 5 minutes go by and another server brings some food for the couple. She gives it to the server, looks at me, i smile, she goes back. Another 5 minutes go by, the server stopped chatting with the couple, he's somewhere behind me, I don't turn around, probably he's coming with the menus... A few minutes go by, this time another server comes outside to check on the guy who's eating solo. He also sees me sitting there with no menus. I kinda nod like "what's up man, I'm here ready to order", he says nothing and goes back. It's been about 20 minutes since I sat down, 3 (!!!!) servers saw me sitting, waiting for service. nothing. So I get up, cuz it's time to go, but I'm kinda curious where the first server went, so I turn around, he's standing behind me leaning against the wall, arms crossed. I didn't understand why I was ignored, so I was gonna step to the guy ask him what I was doing wrong, but instead, I kicked in a chair by accident and almost fell. I got distracted, so finally didn't ask him, just put the chair on the top of the table, hoping to catch somebody's attention... I'm not sure if anybody noticed.
Kara Zuaro review for Jazz Standard
Kara Zuaro on Citysearch

15 years ago

10/05/2007, 09:40 AM
Ditch the boho grit and nab straight-ahead bop in refurbished style. – The Scene Two neon signs read "Jazz" in red and "Barbecue" in blue. Take the low road to Jazz Standard, a dimly lit basement club hopping with pony-tailed jazz aficionados, smiling businessmen and a smattering of young and lovely black-clad waitstaffers. With a raised bar space in the back, and rows of tables lined up tightly right up to the stage, there's not a bad seat in the house. The Draw The pairing of barbecue spot Blue Smoke with the Jazz Standard is a no-fail combo. Like the barbecue--at once gourmet cuisine and down-home cooking--the straight-ahead jazz is carefully selected to appeal to the serious jazz fan, yet it's accessible enough for novice listeners. More akin to highbrow digs like the Blue Note than the boho grit of clubs like Smalls, the Standard is a civilized alternative to the sardine-can syndrome of some of its well-known peers.
mishma review for Jazz Standard
mishma on Citysearch

15 years ago

08/26/2007, 10:12 AM
Beautiful Beautiful Place – This place is well worth your time. The hostess and the servers were very attentive. The food is delicious and the entertainment has you longing to come back. We had two sides, an entree, two glasses of wine, a non-alcoholic beverage and a cup of coffee all for $127 which included the $30 show fee per a person. Don't hesitate, just pick up and go.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.