Logo White
Watch Demo

Iowa Veterinary Specialties

Own this business?
3.7
172 reviews
|Veterinarians|Des Moines, IA 50321

6110 Creston Ave, Des Moines, IA 50321

(515) 280-3100

https://www.iowaveterinaryspecialties.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(29) · Healthcare

4450 Northwest 128th Street

(515) 331-9035

11 people are looking at this business

5.0
(3) · Veterinarians

1716 Detroit St

(515) 836-4001
5.0
(5) · Healthcare

4631 Merle Hay Rd

(515) 727-4872

5 people are looking at this business

5.0
(7) · Veterinarians

3406 62nd St

(515) 778-1585

2 people are looking at this business

4.9
(149) · Veterinarians

1834 SW White Birch Cir

(515) 963-4565

5 people are looking at this business

4.9
(107) · Healthcare

1126 Greene St

(515) 993-3410
About

Iowa Veterinary Specialists of Des Moines, IA, is a 24/7 emergency veterinary hospital working to exceed the expectations of our clients by creating an environment that is professional, attentive, and comfortable for humans and pets alike. We're passionate and progressive in how we attend to our patients-providing individualized attention and quality care. Our services include:Cardiology and Dentistry, Dermatology and Emergency care, Hospice and Palliative care, Internal medicine and Surgery, Oncology and Canine blood bank. Ophthalmology and Diagnostic tools, Pain management. The well-being of pets and their families is forefront for our team and how we manage the services we provide. Our st

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
3.7
172 reviews
5109
  
45
  
34
  
24
  
149
  
1 review has no rating
  • 157 Reviews3.7Google
  • 12 Reviews3.0Dex Knows
  • 2 Reviews5.0Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Gina Z. on Insider Pages

6 years ago

07/10/2014, 04:03 AM
Efficient The Vet was pretty quick and efficient. I was very much satisfied with the quality of services I received.
Andi S. on Insider Pages

6 years ago

04/10/2014, 05:36 AM
Great! I do not think Iowa Veterinary Specialties has anything to improve on. I will definitely be taking my dog back for any emergency.
Chelsy Dahms on Foursquare

8 years ago

03/19/2012, 04:58 AM
DJ Rocks! Thanks for takin such good care of my Jersey : )
Featured content
Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively

Negative feedback examples and how doctors can respond effectively
Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO

Local Business SEO listings Management: Your Guide to Local SEO
lundkm on Dex Knows

9 years ago

06/15/2011, 12:57 PM
Would not recommend going here I went in at 9pm worried about my puppy. I came in because I felt it was an emergency yet the staff oood and awwd over my puppy wanting to hold him, etc. The exam was much worse, as the vet said "your puppy has a heart murmur" even though he has been to two previous vets who said he did not have one, one appointment being very recent (3 days earlier). He seemed to have took offense to this stating "well if you don't believe me thats fine but your dog has a heart murmur." I never acted as if I was questioning his statement, just simply stating the facts. He was extremely rude and cold, telling me that I should just "get a new puppy." He doesn't seem to understand that people tend to like their animals and I am not just going to trade him in. When going to the front desk he made a mockery of me telling the vet tech to listen to his heart. No offense but I do not care what a vet tech says as I have had two previous vet tell me my puppy was healthy. I would believe to vets over a tech!
Respond to negative reviews
Eric on Dex Knows

10 years ago

11/15/2010, 07:15 AM
Caring Hospital I have had two pets at IVS three different times and each time my pet has been given good care when no one else in town was open. Both times estimates were given to me after the initial exam, both estimates I approved before going forward. The hospital had a couple different financing options available to me as well. I received daily updates from the doctors providing the care for me pet. I was able to visit and/or call at any time of the day to check on my pet. I was able to stop in and stay with my dogs in the hospital right in their kennel with them. The hospital allowed me to bring some of my pets comfort items as well. All staff that I came across were caring people and treated my pet like their own. I am glad we have a place in town that cares about pets and has specialized people to take care of them.
still shocked on Dex Knows

10 years ago

11/13/2010, 07:46 AM
waiting for another emergency clinic to open I do not recommend this clinic at all - but I do recommend they do mandatory drug testing on the doctors and techs. How sad that they knew of the problems & yet allowed it to continue.
Respond to negative reviews
Gwyn on Dex Knows

10 years ago

08/17/2010, 05:54 AM
I also recommend ISU instead I have used this emergency clinic twice over the years. Both times I have had Dr. Karl Bolser. Perhaps things are better there with other doctors -- they now have Dr. Roxanne Jacobson, who is a marvelous vet -- but I do not recommend dealing with Dr. Bolser. Not only do I find him rude and insensitive, but incompetent. When my cat was brought in after a seizure and was still walking in circles, he diagnosed ASTHMA and charged me for unnecessary meds! I don't mind vets telling me they don't know what it is, but I do mind when they make something up and give my pet meds for it! It wasn't even remotely plausible. Unless you have an immediate emergency, drive to Ames instead -- or at least call first and see who is working that night.
Respond to negative reviews
LOVEOURPETSASPART OFOURFAMILY on Dex Knows

10 years ago

07/27/2010, 02:53 AM
My dog was treated with true compassion! We rescued a Chihuahua a little over a year ago from a shelter. He immediately became part of our family. His personality and characteristics are such that make him impossible to not fall in love with. When we discovered a lump in his abdomen area, we feared the worst. An x-ray at our regular vet showed that he had a very large tumor and we were referred to IVS to determine best next steps. We took him in to be evaluated by the surgeon praying that our baby would be able to be helped. The staff there was so friendly from the moment we walked into the door. I felt that our baby was treated as well as a human would be treated when they go see a doctor. The tech got down on the floor to the dog's level instead of making him get up on he exam table and frighten him. Not only did she treat him so nicely, she also took the time to talk to my 2 young children The surgeon came in and also talked to my children as well as me. He got down on the floor and looked over our dog. After loo
Diamonds Momma on Dex Knows

10 years ago

07/20/2010, 09:10 AM
They saved my dog My dog was very ill, and lethargic. I took her in and everyone was very kind and empathic. The vet discussed our options which included stabilization, surgery and euthensia. Our budget was such that a high vet bill was not in the cards for us, but my dog is a beloved member of our family. She is 10 and I was not ready to give up. The kept her overnight - totally explaining the charges- and the next morning I went to see her and the vet met with me and talked with me again about options. I never felt pressured, just supported. It ended up that she did need surgery and they helped me find a way to cover the cost. They did not want me to walk out without her. I would highly recommend these caring, loving people to take care of any pet you love.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.