Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Hugh G. Calkins, MD

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
43 reviews
|Cardiologists|Baltimore, MD 21287 United States

601 North Caroline Street, Ste 592, Baltimore, MD 21287 United States

(410) 955-7405

https://www.hopkinsmedicine.org/profiles/details/hugh-calkins

Closed now

Google

Suggest edits
Top Healthcare in your area
5.0
(1) · Surgeons

7505 Osler Dr # 306

(410) 337-8488
5.0
(1) · Doctors

22 S Greene St

(410) 328-5793
5.0
(2) · Surgeons

1838 Greene Tree Rd

(410) 469-4000
5.0
(2) · Internal Medicine

110 Irving St NW

(202) 877-7000
5.0
(29) · Pediatricians

2730 Prosperity Ave

(703) 289-1400
5.0
(2) · Cardiologists

8101 Hinson Farm Rd # 408

(703) 780-9014
About

Dr. Hugh Calkins, MD is a cardiology specialist in Baltimore, MD and has been practicing for 33 years. He graduated from Harvard Medical School in 1983 and specializes in cardiology.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 90,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
43 reviews
539
  
40
  
30
  
21
  
13
  
Sort By:
Featured
Anonymous review for Hugh G. Calkins, MD
Anonymous on Healthgrades

a year ago

11/05/2021, 16:40 PM
Hugh Calkins was my worst nightmare. He will tell you whatever is necessary to get you to sign the consent form. Being at the teaching hospital makes Hugh very confused about who gets his first consideration, Is it his obligation to provide hands-on experiences for his 'fellows'? or is his first obligation to provide the absolute best and safest care of his patient? Well, apparently Hugh Calkin feels that his #1 obligation is to his students. Forgetting about The Hippocratic Oath that he must have taken, (first do no harm) he allowed his E.P. fellows to perform the ablation on me while he leaned against the wall in his coat and tie (not scrubbed in). The 'fellow' turned the catheter the wrong way allowing it to enter my left ventricle where it became entangled in papillary muscle. They could not extract the catheter. Long story short, they gave a good strong yank and severed a papillary muscle. When I awakened from my terrifying twilight sleep, they explained what had hap
Respond to negative reviews
Anonymous review for Hugh G. Calkins, MD
Anonymous on Healthgrades

2 years ago

09/14/2020, 01:14 AM
There is a reason Dr. Calkins is world renowned. He performed a procedure on my father five years ago to free him from a-fib. The procedure was flawless and the care he provided was top notch. My father still brags about his experience with Dr. Calkins to this day. Despite being a top cardiologist in the world, Dr. Calkins is incredibly down to earth and deeply cares about his patient. I reached out to him about a different issue for my father, Dr. Calkins followed through and recommended one of his colleagues. I have dealt with many cardiologists for my father over the year, Dr. Calkins is simply the BEST!!
Ashley review for Hugh G. Calkins, MD
Ashley on Healthgrades

2 years ago

08/12/2020, 01:46 AM
Dr Calkins is an amazing doctor. He helped figure out my husband’s heart condition after seeing multiple doctors who couldn’t figure it out. He provided the best care for us! I highly recommend his services!!
Featured content
Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins

Negative feedback examples: 8 strategies to turn bad reviews into wins
SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in

SMS Marketing: How to collect phone numbers for opt-in
David Cramer review for Hugh G. Calkins, MD
David Cramer on Healthgrades

2 years ago

06/09/2020, 05:17 AM
He's always on time and spends plenty of time with me, his patient. He gave me a complete explanation of my problem and several alternative treatments to think about. I have friends with the same problem that I have and they are not at all pleased with their doctors.
L.S. Shelton review for Hugh G. Calkins, MD
L.S. Shelton on Healthgrades

3 years ago

09/11/2019, 04:10 AM
— I am presently under Dr. Calkins’ care for a newly discovered case of AFib. I have found Dr. Calkins to be absolutely top-notch, professionally providing me with sound guidance and effective treatment through this rather scary time. Without any equivocation whatsoever, I would highly recommend this fine doctor to anyone with heart issues.
Brian Roeder review for Hugh G. Calkins, MD
Brian Roeder on Healthgrades

4 years ago

10/10/2018, 07:28 AM
Dr. Hugh Caulkins changed my life. He has ablated me twice - in 2002 and in 2006. My a-fib is under control with the use of medicine to augment the operations. In the past 16 years, Dr. Caulkins has repeatedly shown to me his care and concern and his humanity and professionalism and basic decency. For my 2006 procedure, the JHU scheduling office screwed up. This was not Dr. Caulkins' fault. He personally rescheduled and built the team to do the procedure the next day.
Rob H. review for Hugh G. Calkins, MD
Rob H. on Yellow Pages

5 years ago

12/17/2017, 10:09 AM
A-fib free for 1 year and counting! Results speak for themselves.. very grateful, thanks Doc and staff!
Nancy Wheeler review for Hugh G. Calkins, MD
Nancy Wheeler on Healthgrades

5 years ago

08/10/2017, 04:25 AM
After 28 years of constant exhaustion due to very complex rhythm issues, Dr. Calkins solved my problems with ablation, and a pacemaker/defibrillator. I just went on a 2.5 mile hike at 7000 feet and I feel wonderful! I will be forever grateful to Dr. Calkins for my new life!
Norm Stamper review for Hugh G. Calkins, MD
Norm Stamper on Healthgrades

6 years ago

01/25/2017, 07:20 AM
Doctor Calkins and his team performed a catheter ablation on me in 2011, a procedure that cured my severe atrial fibrillation after years of misery...and failed medical interventions (including two previous ablations) in my home state. He was kind, informative, and helpful from first contact to last. But what I appreciate most, of course, is his competence. On the recommendation of a respected cardiologist, I flew from the west coast to Baltimore for the procedure. My smartest investment ever.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.