Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Henninger's Tavern

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.7
110 reviews
|Bars|Baltimore, MD 21231

1812 Bank St, Baltimore, MD 21231

(410) 342-2172

http://www.henningerstavern.com/

Closed now

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(1) · Bars

6051 Carlton Ave

(717) 225-3730
5.0
(1) · Bars

4250 Connecticut Avenue Northwest

(202) 966-1942
5.0
(2) · Restaurants

210 MALCOLM DRIVE

(410) 751-7056
4.8
(123) · Bars

1712 Aliceanna St

(410) 675-8466
4.7
(755) · Restaurants

4007 Norbeck Rd

(240) 669-3875
About

Editorial fromHenninger's is the opposite of a "flavor of the month" restaurant. It's been around for decades, offering predictably first-rate three-olive martinis in the comfy bar up front, and surprisingly fine dining in the atmospheric dining room.…

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.7
110 reviews
580
  
416
  
32
  
21
  
12
  
9 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Anonymous review for Henninger's Tavern
Anonymous on Facebook

4 years ago

09/13/2018, 16:12 PM
You may pay respects in the ladies room. RIP
Anonymous review for Henninger's Tavern
Anonymous on Facebook

4 years ago

09/02/2018, 20:46 PM
Vacation is here. We will be away until September 11th.
Baltomama review for Henninger's Tavern
Baltomama on Citysearch

12 years ago

08/30/2010, 02:18 AM
Returning to a Baltimore Treasure. – Over the years, we've been to Henninger's on Bank Street frequently. We love the ambiance, the food is always very good, and the drinks at the bar are great and a good value. So we returned this Saturday night and WOW! I've had good food there before, but this meal was exceptional! Their signature oyster appetizer in a Pernod cream sauce over spinach was so flavorful it was hard not to lick the plate. The lamb chops with garlic mashed potatoes would make you cry for more. Pleeeeze more! A just-right martini started us off, and the brownie with hazelnut ice cream and warm fudge sauce just about finished us off. Two of us shared most of all of that at the bar where you can eat a meal from the heavens or a sandwich and a beer. This restaurant is a treasure in Baltimore. Don't miss it!
Featured content
What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?

What Does Birdeye Cost?
Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It

Patient Feedback: Why Doctors Need to Ask For It
c b. review for Henninger's Tavern
c b. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

12/10/2008, 08:05 AM
Henninger's Tavern I recently visited this place with 6 other people. The bar and restaurant are small; so get there early.Parking may be a problem. Locals usually walk.The bartender, Jack, was very knowledgable and accomodating. All of the food was very good. Everyone commented on the quality. The portions were filling and sizeable. I would recommend the Portugese Stew which is a seafood stew, the fried oysters on a bed of arugula with pernod...the crab and corn chowder was also great.The service was good and there was not a long wait for the food although they were quite crowded.The desserts...well what can I say! The peanut butter pie was awesome and the brownie sundae was to die for!I would definately go back and would reccommend this place to others.
Svati L. review for Henninger's Tavern
Svati L. on Insider Pages

14 years ago

11/06/2008, 09:42 AM
Small little restaurant with lots of charm Henninger's Tavern is a great little restaruant in Baltimore that seats only a few people but is a great place for a nice little meal. The fish was very fresh and flavored well. The portions were reasonable and the service was wonderful. A great "off-the-beaten-path" type of place for a nice dinner out.
mhalaiko review for Henninger's Tavern
mhalaiko on Citysearch

17 years ago

01/05/2005, 19:31 PM
Great place – This is a great place to eat or just have a beer at the bar. I highly recommend Henninger's.
Contributor review for Henninger's Tavern
Contributor on Citysearch

18 years ago

11/10/2004, 17:41 PM
Romantic, unique and off the beaten path, this tavern will please even the most finicky culinary critic. – The Scene This classy tavern is one of Baltimore's hidden gems. The '40s vibe recalls times gone by with black-and-white photographs, old tunes and World War II memorabilia. It's a combination that works: Henninger's regulars keep coming back for more. The Food Barbecued bacon-wrapped shrimp and pan-fried breaded oysters in fennel-Pernod cream sauce are two of the best starters on the menu. Mouthwatering entrees range from spicy pepper-encrusted tuna to grilled filet mignon in an uncomplicated, flavorful Zinfandel sauce. The wine list is nicely varied and reasonably priced, with each bottle hand-chosen by the owner. Whatever you choose for dinner, save room for dessert and Henninger's coffee, a delightful blend of chicory and cinnamon. For dessert, grab a slice of Key lime pie that goes beyond the standard.
katrink review for Henninger's Tavern
katrink on Citysearch

18 years ago

04/14/2004, 16:47 PM
Yummy! – This was a GREAT place to eat. Lots of interesting things to look at on the walls. (though the bar had some nudie pics that we could have done without!) The crab cakes were the BEST I've ever had and a wonderful representation of the Maryland crab cake to the out-of-towner that we brought with us. Service was friendly and pleasant. We all cleaned our plates completely, without regret, AND still had to try some dessert. After all that, we were overstuffed, but extremely happy with out dinner choices. Choose the brownie sundae over the key lime pie, and you won't be disappointed. YUM!
smedley21075 review for Henninger's Tavern
smedley21075 on Citysearch

18 years ago

02/15/2004, 11:41 AM
The Best – There is no other spot in Baltimore as romantic as Henninger's. It's the place to go for marriage proposal and that pre or post amore making meal. The cocktails are great. The food is elegant and scrumptious, and the staff is entertaining. Get there early. It's a small place and is becoming increasingly popular. Don't forget to ask the owners about their demolition derbies. After serving up so much romance, they need to go crash into something.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.