Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Handlery Union Square Hotel

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
4.0
1490 reviews
|Hotels|San Francisco, CA 94102

351 Geary St, San Francisco, CA 94102

(415) 781-7800

https://sf.handlery.com/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Facebook

Suggest edits
Top Hospitality in your area
5.0
(5) · Hospitality

1135 4th St

(415) 459-9557
5.0
(1) · Hotels

20 12th St

(415) 861-2373
5.0
(3) · Hotels

345 California Street

(415) 276-9602
4.9
(11) · Hotels

609 Old County Rd

(650) 288-7707
4.8
(487) · Hospitality

30 El Portal

(415) 332-9535
4.8
(126) · Hospitality

25 Main St

(415) 789-5999
About

In the heart of it all, just steps from a cable car stop, the Handlery Union Square Hotel offers business and leisure travelers the warm, personalized service only an independent family owned hotel can provide. We invite you to enjoy beautifully appointed rooms and suites at one of the most preferred locations in San Francisco.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

4.0
1,490 reviews
5557
  
4564
  
3229
  
277
  
156
  
7 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
Melissa Peacock review for Handlery Union Square Hotel
Melissa Peacock on Facebook

2 years ago

02/17/2020, 08:28 AM
Stayed with our children. Great location, large spacious room with comfortable beds. Would definitely recommend and looking forward to returning !!!
Gord Linda Jarvis Dalbianco review for Handlery Union Square Hotel
Gord Linda Jarvis Dalbianco on Facebook

3 years ago

11/24/2019, 00:04 AM
Busy and bustling. Good location. Great drinks in the hotel.
kulas t. review for Handlery Union Square Hotel
kulas t. on Insider Pages

11 years ago

12/30/2010, 05:07 AM
STAY AWAY FROM THIS DUMP I travel frequently and have stayed in numerous hotels nationwide. I can state without equivocation that this is one of the worst hotels around. The staff act like they hate their jobs, are impatient and often rude to guests. The room I was in smelled like mildew which permeated throughout despite numerous attempts to air out the room. Furthermore, the linen looked and smelled like they just came out of a dirty laundry bag. The shower stall is cramped and the water pressure a joke. I was booked for 5 days but moved to another hotel after one nightmarish night in this hell hole. STAY AWAY!
Respond to negative reviews
Featured content
How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer

How to respond to negative feedback from a customer
How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses

How to ask for customer feedback - A go-to guide for small businesses
Tiffany T. review for Handlery Union Square Hotel
Tiffany T. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

07/24/2009, 06:50 AM
Not Impressed! I booked the Handlery Hotel to stay at during the MacWorld Conference. The hotel is located near Macy's on Geary St. When I dropped my car off ($32 a day) I had to trek through the entire hotel to get to the lobby. My keys were ready upon arrival and my room was on the 6th floor. The room was relatively clean but had a wicked stale smell. It was hard to breathe in the room, and even turning the temp down did nothing. The thremostat only goes down to 68 degrees. The bathroom was too small, the water pressure was crud although they were plentiful with the towels. Although the Wi-Fi was free it was incredibly difficult to get online during the day. At one point I hiked back down to the lobby because that was the only place in the whole darn hotel that I could manage to get a signal. Although the rates were decent for a last minute SF choice, I won't be returning anytime soon.
Contributor review for Handlery Union Square Hotel
Contributor on Citysearch

15 years ago

11/02/2007, 05:12 AM
A downtown San Francisco landmark with a rich history offers a home away from home. – The Scene This historic building sits snug against Union Square on a street frequented by trolley cars and throngs of urbanites. It attracts a cosmopolitan crowd with its sleek, contemporary interiors and plentiful amenities. The Details Dating back to 1928, when it was known as the Stewart hotel, this boutique-style property unites luxury with reasonable rates. It has been family-owned since 1948, and there is evidence of a hands-on, personalized touch throughout. The lobby is creatively designed with original artworks and furnishings. The bright and breezy guest rooms in the Historic Section and more modern Club Section are graced with a colorful sense of design, as well as high-speed Internet access and Nintendo. One of the highlights here is the stately wooden bar at the Daily Grill. Serving up meat loaf, chicken pot pie and stiff drinks, it offers an old-school San Francisco experience.
vynnp review for Handlery Union Square Hotel
vynnp on Citysearch

16 years ago

11/01/2006, 03:56 AM
Comfortable boutique hotel – Great location with easy access to public transportation, Union Square and Chinatown shopping. Comfortable rooms. Staff at front desk needs a little work on their people skills, but all in all a nice hotel experieince.
audreyjl review for Handlery Union Square Hotel
audreyjl on Citysearch

16 years ago

09/28/2006, 01:41 AM
Great Hotel – I used to stay here with my family when we'd visit the city. Now that I live here I recommend it to any of my friends that come to visit. They have pretty good rates, great staff and it's in a fun prime location in Union Square.
jj2200 review for Handlery Union Square Hotel
jj2200 on Citysearch

16 years ago

06/07/2006, 04:27 AM
Good stay, best location! – Liked this spot. Great shopping and good food just a few steps away. Stayed a few nights and had an incredible time. Nice rooms, pool and stiff drinks at the Daily Grill. Very friendly and knowledgeable staff.
anadakota review for Handlery Union Square Hotel
anadakota on Citysearch

16 years ago

03/25/2006, 04:05 AM
Rude staff – The staff are extremely rude, despite attempting to maintain some sort of thin veneer of friendliness. They are impatient over the phone and worse in person. I'll never stay here again.
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.