Logo White
Watch Demo

Food Front Cooperative Grocery

Own this business?
4.3
270 reviews
|Grocery|Portland, OR 97210

2375 NW Thurman St, Portland, OR 97210

(503) 222-5658

https://foodfront.coop/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Retail in your area
5.0
(1) · Retail

6220 NE Sandy Blvd

(503) 287-2727

1 person is looking at this business

5.0
(13) · Retail

1954 SE Division St

(503) 230-4949
4.9
(24) · Retail

3970 Mercantile Dr Ste 110

(503) 342-6010
4.8
(38) · Retail

7201-B NE Glisan St

(971) 285-3270
4.7
(359) · Retail

409 SE Martin Luther King Jr Blvd

(503) 236-2114

1 person is looking at this business

4.7
(80) · Retail

270 Grant St

(503) 982-3959

4 people are looking at this business

About

Farm-direct produce, local beer, wine, meats/seafood, friendly faces, cooperatively owned by 10,000+ neighbors, farmers, staff, and local food producers. Our Mission: We bridge the gap between local producers and the people of Portland. We fill the shelves of our neighborhood grocery stores with local, fresh foods and the flavors of each season, so you can eat colorfully and live vibrantly. Food Front's Commitment to Quality... At Food Front we actively seek out and support local producers and trusted suppliers who share our values so you can feel good about the things you're putting in your cart, and on your table. We provide the freshest organic produce grown by local farmers whenever poss

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by BirdEye. Over 50,000 businesses use BirdEye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. BirdEye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about BirdEye

BirdEye Score

The BirdEye Score® is calculated based on our proprietary algorithm applied to customers reviews, weighted by a range of different factors.

Learn how the BirdEye Score® is calculated
4.3
270 reviews
5149
  
472
  
327
  
27
  
16
  
9 reviews have no rating
  • 254 Reviews4.4Google
  • 7 Reviews4.1Insider Pages
Sort By:
5 results available.
Recommended
Ursula H. on Citysearch

6 years ago

09/29/2014, 06:25 AM
The convenience of shopping here is really great, possibly the neatest store out there and they have amazing people manning their counter, very polite and always smiling.
Jeanette B. on Insider Pages

9 years ago

06/02/2011, 01:41 AM
Noble, Idealistic, Overpriced They are very good for what they are with a reasonable selection given the amount of space they have to work with. Unfortunately I can't afford literally 3x the amount for a quart of milk. Last summer I ran in to buy a couple of potatoes for dinner and was charged over 4 dollars a pound! I wouldn't even pay that at the farmers market! Maybe I am being unrealistic and need to just grow my own potatoes, but the sticker shock keeps me out of Food Front for the most part.
ViolettaB on Citysearch

9 years ago

06/01/2011, 03:00 AM
A gem – I love supplementing my grocery shopping with food from Food Front. I can't afford to buy everything here, nor do they have all that I want (I do my other shopping at Whole Foods and Trader Joe's), but the deli is usually pretty tasty and I like that they have local and organic items. Just bought eggs here and LOVE that they tell you where they various brands have come from, what the chickens were raised on, where they lived, and whether or not their beaks were cut off (sad, right?). It's the place I go to buy organic food that I feel good putting in my body and good when I think about how the food was grown (produce and meat and dairy). That said, I always feel incredibly uncomfortable at the checkout stand. I love Whole Foods, TJoes, and Zupan's because the employees are all so friendly. At the co op, they're considerably less than friendly. I did have one issue with something I got from the deli, however, and had a truly wonderful exchange with the deli manager. But, overall, I always feel strangely like I'm inconveniencing both the deli workers who are getting me food and the cashiers. No better, more convenient way to get food you feel good about, though. I'll keep coming back. If not for the service (it's not like I'm eating the service for dinner), then definitely for the organic, local and sustainable food.
Featured content
5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response

5 Positive Review Examples: It's All in the Response
Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?

Tempted to buy Google reviews?
Ashley Gartland on Citysearch

11 years ago

08/13/2009, 07:57 AM
Veteran grocer brings co-op culture to the Northwest. – The clientele at this member-owned co-op goes beyond the Birkenstock-wearing demographic you’d expect to shop here. Rather, this small-size grocer attracts health nuts, gourmands and urban dwellers alike with a carefully-chosen selection of local produce and artisan products. Inside, produce bins teem with fresh fruit and veggies, a cheese and deli counter supplies fixings for an impromptu picnic, and a frozen food section offers picks for quick dinners. There’s also a well-edited wine selection, shelves stocked with household goods and pantry staples, and bulk bins filled with everything from whole wheat flour to chocolate covered pretzels.
InternetIsASeriesOfTubes on Citysearch

11 years ago

02/24/2009, 02:24 AM
great neighborhood grocery store – deli makes delicious sandwiches. tempeh sandwich is really yummy. lots of vegan and vegetarian options. i always come here for a beer run, because of their variety of options to get my drink on. good bulk food selection, i like the soy jerkys and all the nuts and snacks. Bullring Salsa is awesome, as are the Mexisnack tortilla chips. perfect food for when i'm up late studying.
greygoose88 on Citysearch

12 years ago

01/09/2009, 01:50 AM
The best grocery in Portland - Regret Free Shopping! – If you compare Food Front to New Seasons as just a regular grocery store, you are not doing it justice. This store is OWNED by people all over Portland - not just one family. That is so impressive and a powerful statement on a community level. All of the money made by the co-op goes back to the community and the 5,000 or so owners who have invested in it. (By the way, ownership is $150, which you can pay $5 a month, but that money is totally refundable if you even need or want it back. In being an owner, you get so many benefits.) The thing I love about Food Front is its honesty. If you look around, you see people who genuinely believe in the cooperative business model, and who are passionate about their service to the community. I admit, there are a few employees who perhaps aren't the best at customer service, but others who are inspired and passionate to share what they know. AND they have an amazing deli, great wine, awesome produce, and support many SMALL LOCAL BUSINESSES. So what if something you purchase at Food Front is a quarter more than at Fred Meyer. You are supporting a local business who doesn't have the corporate buying power to buy 10,000 of that product. AND if you are an owner, you get money back at the end of the year based on your purchases... so you get your quarter back!
portlandhuman on Citysearch

12 years ago

04/30/2008, 02:27 AM
stop doggin the staff! – the staff at this store gets paid barely more than minimum wage and alot less than the staff at a corporate store like new seasons. did you ever consider that it may be hard to put on a walmart smile for customers when you have rich people spending what would amount to your whole paycheck on one days worth of expensive junk food, frozen "health food" and wine while holding you personally responsible for the store not having their favorite product all the while yelling about how great their friend's new botox looks into a cell phone and throwing their money on the register like a craps table? if you haven't noticed, fred meyers and the majority of grocery stores in the country are moving away from plastic and paper bags. sustainability and such. when i'm shopping at food front the first thing i always notice is how rude most of the customers are to the employees. i'm a co-op owner and have nothing but respect for someone who would take less pay and more b.s. to work somewhere that does not compromise their ethics. i'm sure thats alot more than can be said for the the SUV driving blue tooth barking botox'd rich folks of NW portland
specialmediation on Citysearch

13 years ago

01/09/2008, 05:07 AM
Downhill, Fast. – I used to really love this place, but lately, the service has been surly and the prices have been NUTS. Like, two days ago it was $4.99 a pound for tomatoes. Their bananas and basic produce is often either in short supply or not ripe, or totally unavailable. They are EXTREMELY STINGY with bags, which I find a little sad since they are easily one of the most expensive groceries in town. They have a classic holier than thou independent attitude.... it's always the customers fault when they ask for something that isn't there...I used to go here to support community, but these people really don't support back. Their Co-Op membership is $150....too much money for us! The point is, if they don't offer down home service and they don't care THAT much about the community they serve, then you might as well go to Zupan's or Whole Foods....especially since the prices since mid-2007 have been more or less the same. And Zupan's has fresher produce. I don't know what this place is for, but I think they've really lost the plot.
kate s. on Insider Pages

15 years ago

11/02/2005, 03:40 AM
Lovely Portland Co-op! Food Front is always a heartening experience - the whole atmosphere of the place just makes you feel better! They offer several organic/vegan food options and a delicious deli where you can order sandwiches, snacks and desserts! Essential oils and natural beauty care products are also offered at a fair price.
Footer Banner
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with BirdEye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.