Birdeye Logo White 2020
Watch Demo

Fatty's Cafe

Claim this profile

This business is unclaimed. Owners who claim this profile can update information, boost SEO, and more.

Claim this business for free
5.0
27 reviews
|Restaurants|New York, NY 11105 United States

25-01 Ditmars Blvd, New York, NY 11105 United States

(718) 267-7071

http://fattyscafe.net/

Open now:9:00 am - 6:00 pm

Google

Suggest edits
Top Restaurants in your area
5.0
(31) · Restaurants

346 Millburn Ave

(201) 920-4045
5.0
(1) · Seafood

377 Guy Lombardo Ave

(516) 377-0578
5.0
(1) · Seafood Markets

181 New Rd # 203

(973) 227-0121
5.0
(1) · Seafood Markets
5.0
(1) · Restaurants

445 E 6th St Suite 1

(917) 909-4373
5.0
(5) · Restaurants

800 Food Center Dr # 52

(718) 991-0000
About

Fatty's off the Ditmars stop in Astoria serves up a great selection of Latin and American delights. One of the hipper Astorian eateries, Fatty's plays a loud track of music to groove to while eating and drinking. This can create a tendency for shouting that shouldn't be required at such a low-key establishment. In the summer there's a small patio with umbrella tables, which can be great fun. The full, yet compact bar can offer a nice seating alternative. Servers are chipper, and help make Fatty's an excellent spot for weekend brunch or to hang with a few friends.

Suggest edits
BIRDEYE FOR BUSINESSES
Birdeye For Business

This profile is powered by Birdeye. Over 70,000 businesses use Birdeye everyday to get more reviews and manage all customer feedback. Birdeye helps millions of local businesses to be found online with all their reviews and accurate business information. Learn more about Birdeye

5.0
27 reviews
53
  
40
  
30
  
20
  
10
  
24 reviews have no rating
Sort By:
Recommended
HungryAmy review for Fatty's Cafe
HungryAmy on Citysearch

11 years ago

06/13/2011, 04:08 AM
Cute Cozy Place – Came here for brunch. The tostones were good, but the Mofongo was not good. I had Mofongo before in Puerto Rico and it was so delicious I finished the whole dish, up to the point I felt like vomiting. However, Fatty's Mofongo was a disappointment. It was far from the genuine Mofongo I had in PR. Their chocolate dulce de leche dessert however, was delicious!
Stephanie K. review for Fatty's Cafe
Stephanie K. on Insider Pages

13 years ago

12/01/2009, 04:15 AM
I heart Fatty's! I have been eating at this neighborhood gem since they opened their doors. Excellent food - especially the BFB! However I must say I have become a fan of the Charity and Chorizo burger. Stellar. The owners are simply delightful! The space is wonderful, funky cozy and during the summer months they have an awesome outdoor space.
JillLMT review for Fatty's Cafe
JillLMT on Citysearch

13 years ago

09/27/2009, 01:14 AM
Save your money! – I went to this restaurant after reading good reviews on this site and others.However, the food was horrible! I also don't get the decor? It's a restaurant with South American/Cuban/Puerto Rican dishes but there are strange, creepy pictures on the walls of old, East Indian men? WTH?!!
Featured content
How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?

How can customer reviews help SEO?
Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips

Handling negative reviews- 4 important tips
paulklenk review for Fatty's Cafe
paulklenk on Citysearch

13 years ago

04/24/2009, 13:37 PM
Promising place; give it a shot – First time eating there I had: - Hummus and pita - Chorizo burger and sweet potato fries The hummus was very tasty and well presented, however, it could have been more moist. A dribble of tahini or sesame oil would have done the trick. The burger was dry and had the consistency of a veggie burger. However, it was still delicious and the fries were nice. The bartender/server was very attentive. I plan to try the pork sandwich, the chili, and the empanadas and other things. The prices are great. Don't like the homo-erotic artwork (would have liked to bring friends, but probably won't now). But other reviews seem to indicate that the artwork changes a lot. The bartender is very cool and will remember you from visit to visit. SECOND VISIT New bartender, lacking in social skills. CHILI was very, very salty -- too much. Otherwise tasty. EMPANADAS were overcooked on the outside, to the point of being crunchy. Fillings were very nice. LIGHTING was too dark to read the menu. THIRD VISIT Had the cubano sandwich (delicious) and the rice and beans (very tasty). I would order them again. Very nice female bartender this time around.
CSMobileUser review for Fatty's Cafe
CSMobileUser on Citysearch

13 years ago

03/23/2009, 06:00 AM
Will never go back – My friend and I always go to Fatty's for Sunday brunch. Last week, however, we had a horrible experience and will never return. We were told we would be seated in 10 minutes and after a half hour if waiting for a table we saw several people coming in who were obviously friendly with the owner. When a table opened up, we saw the waitress coming over to us to seat us, but the owner called her over and we observed that he was telling her to seat his friends first. We waited almost an hour for a table and his friends were seated first. We just left after that and will never again eat there. It is a shame because the food is good, but they can't treat their loyal customers that way.
jsquirrel review for Fatty's Cafe
jsquirrel on Citysearch

13 years ago

02/12/2009, 12:18 PM
Great atmosphere, food, & service! – I live just a few blocks away from Fatty's and have been there several times--it's always a treat. The wait staff is always friendly, and the food is always great. They have a great brunch on the weekends and fantastic dinner fare every night. The owner is Dominican The drinks are also outstanding. My only complaint is that space is very tight there, and because of its popularity it can get crowded. I noticed that in a few older reviews, people mentioned that they don't take credit cards--they do take them now.
Cotman review for Fatty's Cafe
Cotman on Citysearch

14 years ago

11/10/2008, 11:16 AM
Food ok but obnoxious owner – Ive been here a few times and first let me say that the bartenders are very nice and they make an awesome mojito. the food isnt bad either, though i would go there for drinks first before food. The place is very small and theres not much room between the bar and the tables so if you are looking for a quite romantic meal, forget it. If you like drunk bar patrons practically sitting in your lap while youre eating then this is the place is for you! This place has to decide if it is a bar or a restaurant because its just too small to be both. My friend arrived for a visit from out of town and arrived on a saturday night, and we wanted to grab a quick bite and fattys was within walking distance, so we went there. It was about 9.30, the music was blaring, the bar was packed and it was way too crowded to enjoy a meal (as mentioned above). the owner approached us and asked us if we wanted a table, he was very nice until i pleasently replied that it was 'a little too busy for what we wanted tonight'. Well!!!! - he changed his tune very quickly, and said 'OK WHATEVER!' and stomped away like a child!! My husband and i had a similar experience with him a few months ago (should've know better then to go back, but i just figured everyone was entitled to a bad day). Its a shame because its a nice little bar to have a few cocktails but i would never go back there as i absolutely refuse to give this horrible man another single dime! He has a reputation in the neighborhood to be full of himself and obnoxious. And the previous reviewer who said he was a great guy? - he must have wrote that himself!!
carlhungus review for Fatty's Cafe
carlhungus on Citysearch

14 years ago

09/28/2008, 09:39 AM
Decent burgers and beer selection; bad service – By the look of the reviews on this site it looks like the owner has been consistently giving it a good rating. I can`t see giving this place five stars. The burgers are pretty good, although last time I went it came with the bun on the bottom and without the requested cheese or fries. First time I went the service was great, but the rushed and rude service a second time will probably keep me away.
goaskalex99 review for Fatty's Cafe
goaskalex99 on Citysearch

14 years ago

04/19/2008, 05:31 AM
Amazing brunch, cool outdoor seating space, affordable, consistently quality eats on Ditmars – I am so happy that I live basically around the corner from Fatty's. The owner is a great guy who goes out of his way to make the patrons feel right at home. I am an especially big fan of the weekend brunches - particularly their take on mofongo - but I also highly recommend the polenta cakes. Fantastic bloody mary's too! The menu selections have a health conscious edge and they do up a terrific burger and great Cuban sandwiches. I love it when the outdoor space is open during the summer time. It makes for the best vacation you can take here in New York!
Footer Banner 2021
Get more reviews. Get more customers.

Get more reviews from your customers with Birdeye. Dominate search results. Beat local competitors. Grow your business. Easy, done.